🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣It's not April fools day yet,
A DEM election, it certainly is a possibility. She'd know she has a sizeable group of people with similar interests as herself but who wouldn't vote for her if she was the last person standing so having a party behind you could make a huge difference to her chances.
zero chance,Moran,ODonnell should battle it out and Moran is the value bet as many feel he will be proactive whereas Helen will not want to rock any boats and some believe if she wanted the gig she should not have tried to be too clever by running as an indo when everyone knows she is really an FG in a mild disguise also some do not like the JP support when it seemed she needed a boost.Moran is seen as someone will be "his own man" 4/1 was much too big yesterday and his price at 15/8 is still generous.
Is this the same Moran who hasn't lived in Limerick for 40 years! Now retired on a mega pension from the civil service to put the snout in the trough for more! As for O' Donnell! Jesus wept, I thought this mayor's job was for a young energetic can do person and not avery well paid retirement home for ex politicians or their spouses!
Doesn't Moran live on Perry Square? He was fairly vocal about refurbishing it a few years back.
He refurbished one of the Georgian buildings on the Crescent, O'Connell Street.
I don't know if he lives there or not but you would see him around the city quite often.
He's around for the last few months alright. For the previous 40 years he's lived in Dublin.
His own blurb says he lived abroad for years and returned to Ireland in 2010. And that he returned to Limerick after he left the DoF. That was in 2014.
I've no idea where you got the idea that he lived in Dublin for 40 years from, especially when the actual truth is so easy to find.
And before I get accused of anything, he's not getting my No. 1 tomorrow.
That building was converted into really nice apartments (1 per floor I think) but I don't think he ever lived there. JM himself is/was renovating another building for himself on Perry Sq which might be finished by now. A beautiful building and he's doing/done an amazing job on it so fair play to him. Unless you have strong socialist leanings, I don't know where the hate for him is coming from. He won't be my no. 1 but I'd have him well near the top when you look at what else is there.
Wasn't paying any attention to local results in the county so only seeing now that a particular independent candidate didn't get elected in Kilmallock. Normally I'd say fare play to anyone putting themselves forward and I wouldn't celebrate someone not getting elected but can't say I'm not happy to see this candidate fail. I'm sure @Cookiemunster can guess who I'm talking about and probably feels the same and probably about the only thing we'd ever agree on.
Great Post. I don't have a vote in this election but personally hope that either Moran or O'Donnell wins for the sake of the city's development prospects.
It is not otherwise he would have retired at 12 years of age,i was just giving punters a sure thing,its not about what you thought the mayors job was,the voters decide who is mayor and i was happy to put up a sure thing for punters.
Ah yes, a particularly satisfying outcome to see that candidate soundly rejected. There would've been chaos at every LEA and full Council meeting had that individual been elected.
Could you imagine the constant interjections/objections? Drive everyone insane. In the past this person may have had some valid concerns around certain planning issues but it seemed to be more of a 'look how smart I am' rather than a genuine concern for the environment that drove her.
I've been told that she caused chaos on committees she served on in the past. Even threatening legal action against another member(s).
She'd have questioned every single contribution from Council staff in particular and probably a lot of the Councillors also. I'd have no doubt that legal letters would have been dropping like confetti!
The judicial reviews taken against student housing in particular were infuriating. Her latest "environmental" crusade is against badly needed housing on St Patrick's Road. I've lost count of how many objections/JRs against housing she's initiated at this stage.
Oh right. But of course he is, as I said, the same guy who on last count is on 4 well padded pensions and now about to draw down another 140k + expenses. I don't have any problem with his ability to do the job but it's this sort of stuff that drives some voters into the arms of the intolerant right wing racist nutjob parties.
Well, good luck to him. He certainly wasn't born with a silver spoon in his mouth. What he has achieved is the result of innate ability and hard work. He could be enjoying a comfortable early retirement but has this seemingly genuine desire to implement his five year plan for the betterment of Limerick and it's citizens and now has been mandated to do so. I think his vision is unlikely to ever be realised, however.
There's an idea, hold back the whopping salary until " his vision is realised" !
What do you think would be an appropriate salary for the role?
I think the salary is equivalent to what the previous city manager was paid.
Correct. It's the same salary as every LA Chief Executive in the country.
This chat reminds me of years ago when we were trying to get basic civil rights in the south like divorce,contraception and abortion on the statute books,we had bishops trying to be politicians and politicians talking like bishops,I am from and on the left and I voted left in the Mayoral election but that did not prevent me from landing my biggest win in a few years by recognising early on that Moran was going to win the election and posting my strongly held view on here in the hope that others might take advantage,whether Moran would be good or bad for Limerick was not my concern on this thread.