New thread for a new year!
Big year coming up, hopefully we may even see an Irish athlete on an Olympic podium.
Yep, I'm the same. That guff in the studio wrecks my head, really dont like that with RTE. Which was why the Worlds on Virgin last year were great with the world TV feed and then that lad trackside interviewing the Irish athletes and the occasional world star that got lost! Ingebritsen did an interview with him after losing a race for some reason, was odd.
I set up the RTE player going on my laptop and leave it, then turn on vpn and in a separate window switch BBC iPlayer with the Euro feed and keep an eye on both, usually the BBC feed though.
Doom! 😱
Alexander Doom wins the 400m men's final.
RTE must be setting a record for the number of breaks it’s taken in these championships
Barr did well to stay with him in the relay
That extra gear bit strength with the Pole
You could see Natalia Kaczmarek had that in the bag, though there wasn't much in it. The commentator talking just before the race started that anything less than gold would be a disappointment for Rashidat. 🙄 There's nothing wrong with a silver medal.
PB and a silver medal for Adeleke. Sub 49 for Kaczmarek to take the gold, not much more Adeleke could've done.
PB?
Don't think it was PB
Disappointed for Mawdesley, she's better than she ran in that final
Derval says fastest she’s ever run
Don’t necessarily agree with Sonia. Kinda suggested that Adeleke didn’t see it through when she got ahead. She ran so hard the last 75
Its a testament to Adeleke's standard that Silver feels a little disappointing, but we have to slap ourselves awake and remind ourselves that its her first senior pro season at 21 years old.
She'll learn more from that tonight that a year of work in NCAA
2 Golds and a Silver in the bag for a Europeans....unreal.
PB graphic didn't appear after her time, but pretty sure it was 49.20 before this race? Maybe I'm wrong.
49:07 I think is her new PB now
Definitely. People keep talking about Rashidat, but Sharlene ran faster than Rashidat in the 400m mixed relay final. She said she gave up in the last 50m, she was saying there was a lot going on around her. You could see there was a big gap between the inner runners and the outside 4. I don't know did they get their pacing wrong.
Fantastic running and sets her up for a right go at the Olympics. Roll on 4x400 womans
well the commentator was probably right no? She was pissed off with the silver.
Looked to me like she wasn't running freely in the last 100 m. Possibly a slight injury, or just fatigue from a busy few days
Again, no coverage of the steeplechase.
Useless shower of ******ers
yeah he was, she was disappointed.
Well done Rhasidat, brilliant run and it had to take the fastest time this year to beat her, super proud of a Tallaght AC athlete and she's only 21.👏👏👏
yeah defo! Great run though, mightn’t be too disappointed with a PB on reflection.
She is a national treasure. Something special.
Can't believe it. People aren't just tuning in to watch Adeleke 🙄
https://worldathletics.org/records/all-time-toplists/sprints/400-metres/all/women/senior
Great race! Am I correct in saying she matched the 16th fastest 400m of all time according to the list above? Well done Rhasidat! First place belongs to an East German. No suspicion there 😂
EDIT: she’s just been added to the list-17th fastest 400m of all time!
No. It's not the commentator that's running, it's presumptuous on his part. She was disappointed a bit initially, but she's happy enough with the silver medal, of course she wanted the gold, every athlete would. She shouldn't be disappointed though, she ran a PB and was beaten by the better athlete.
he presumed correct though. She was disappointed, very obviously. Often times 2nd place runners react with joy.
It was a Freudian slip from Greg Allen, he corrected himself straight after to say a medal not gold.
https://olympics.com/en/olympic-games/tokyo-2020/results/athletics/women-s-400m
how many of these go again in Paris and are still hot ****? Coz kaczmarek was down the order in Tokyo