Mod Edit
Warning issued.
I'm no nipper so no point reading the rest of that drivel based off that assumption.
I just think it is a nice record to have, I suppose. Shame if it went.
I think you are right about Mayo they have not have had the same bite since Tyrone knocked the stuffing out of them in that AI Final. That one hurt them because it was not Dublin/Kerry. And they would have fancied themselves. As usual with Mayo most of their issues are psychological. They are sort of in that zone where Dublin were in the 00's. Decent to a certain level but crumble when a bit of pressure is applied.
I would be more afraid of playing Galway/Derry/Donegal in a crunch match.
We already established that when you did not recall Joe Sheridan scoring his "try" in the 2010 Leinster Final. The mask slipped then. You are only a nipper. Which goes some way to explain the repetitiveness of your posts/childish obession being "anti Dub" and lack of cogent argument with it.
You are a broken record at this stage. I have already told you that the farce is not Dublin, but Kildare and Meath. But it seems the penny has not dropped for you yet. You tried the line that ALL Leinster is sh!te. But what have Kildare and Meath done outside of Leinster?
Then you were stumped when I pointed out how well Louth set up tactically against Dublin, and managed to make a show of Meath afterwards. That is what a team that is well drilled and managed properly looks like. They can punch above their weight. Meath and Kildare do the exact opposite.
Are you going to say it is a farce that Kerry are still competing in Munster? I doubt it. Because you are so blinkered, so narrowminded, and so bitter. When you wake up first thing you think "I hate DUBLIN", when you fall asleep at night you think "I hate DUBLIN".
But on the other hand you are trying to convince people that football is dead, no one cares! I would say you must be some craic when you have a few pints on ya. You make very little sense. Here you are again hoovering on the Dublin thread, looking to whine bitch and moan. Nothing good to say about anything. Except that you don't go to games anymore etc etc.
Is there there anything that makes you happier than being miserable? Is it trying to make other people miserable too?
You're correct in what you've said, Dublin have not lost a game when they've gone on to win the AI. I just don't overly see how relevant it is.
Beating Mayo means we can't get Kerry until the final but we can pretty much get any of the other contenders if we win the group. Avoiding Kerry would be great and of course you want to keep momentum going. However, if Dublin lose next week, I wouldn't be concerned. Hence, I don't see it as a big game.
I expect us to win, of course. I don't think Mayo are up to much.
There are a lot of Leinster GAA fans who are too young to remember the last time another county won the Leinster championship. Absolute farce Dublin are still "competing" in it.
Fair point on Leinster. But unless I am mistaken Dublin never lost a "Super 8" group game or whatever you want to call it after Leinster when they won any Sam. The draw v the Rossies last year was the closet thing to a "Championship loss".
I saw Ger Brennan by chance when I was out and about. I couldn't resist asking him if he was going for the Dublin job next. He started breaking his sides laughing and said "I don't know about that".
Impression I got he never even thought of that, until a random eejit like me suggested it.
Plus it is not lost on me that Dublin have always won Sam with no loss along the way
Thats more a reflection of how weak Leinster is as opposed to how good Dublin are. We didn't win an AI from 2001-2010 when the backdoor was introduced and have won every Leinster since.
I dont think Mayo is a big game. If we win, we're in the QF. If we lose, we go into the play offs.
McStay and Mayo looking for O Connor Park, Tullamore. That would be a decent venue. Longford or Portlaoise other options. Too much firepower for them wherever it's played.
Well if they objected to playing us in Croker which I don't have a problem with it only leaves the likes of Thurles if a big crowd is expected . I had thought somewhere like Longford might have been a runner but not sure what the capacity is there .The GAA tend to go for a bigger venue than is actually required for a lot of these games .A 25k capacity ground would he packed and create a real championship atmosphere. Some would miss out but unfortunately that happens .
any thoughts on where the Mayo game will be played, Croker?
Well done lads. Jesus yous gave us a hammering today. Could have easily scored another 4 goals. Although it was a tough watch for us Cavanman it was A joy to see the likes of Fenton, Cluxton grace Brefini in championship mode among the best players to ever take to Brefini. Good craic as ever from the travelling fans.
You don't want to be giving them encouragement. Plus it is not lost on me that Dublin have always won Sam with no loss along the way. I can't think of another top side that can claim that, no backdoor required.
i do and maybe the players do.
Get a week off and play a team that will be on there 3rd game in 14/15 days in the 1/4’s is a massive advantage
A loss will do us, we’re through. Who cares?
Big game v Mayo. Draw will do us.
Dublin seemed sloppy at the start, a better side would have caused some damage. But hopefully all that will be ironed out when championship proper starts.
Big score for Dublin, nice to see a few goals scored. Nice to do it outside Croke Park too..
I am watching the soccer on the RTE plus one, have the Cavan game on the GAAGO. That traffic /past journey's to Cavan also put me off going.
All the chat not giving Cavan a hope. plus they are missing their best player Lynch.
I won't be anyway. Absolutely impossible to get to all the games these days at this time of year.
They've absolutely fucked the calendar.
Hopefully the new president sorts it out.
---
That said, I have 2 tickets available tonight for anyone who wants them.
I wonder how many will make the journey later. I’m not expecting many as with the weather, bank holiday weekend and some soccer on that will take some numbers away. Safe travels for anyone travelling later. Might even bring a ball to let the kids out for a kick about at half time like last year for Sligo game
Galway are my 2nd team as both parents are from Galway. Great memories watching with the aul fella in the late 80’s and 90’s. Cracking team back then. Not enough all Ireland medals to show. But Kilkenny n Tipp were unbelievable back then too. They’ve been a great addition to the Leinster Championship.
Well done to the Hurlers today. jez a few posters here will go into meltdown if both Dublin teams make an All-Ireland. 😂
just watched the game back in full , strange game , the sending off looked like a red in real time but wasn't on a replay ,tough call , however dublin have improved ten fold from the all ireland 1/4 final in limerick , the two burkes are excellent ,as is brian hayes , there is also the likes of brendan kenny and o daulaig to come through , throw in the two curries and ye are strong for a few years to come
Fair play lad. Unfortunately for Dublin we don't have a good record against Kilkenny. I wouldn't say the lads will fear them, though and after getting so close in Parnell Park they will want another crack at them. Kilkenny going for there own 5 in a row in Leinster while Dublin going for first in 11 years and only second Leinster in over 60 years. Kilkenny win Leinsters for fun while it would be a big deal for Dublin. Kilkenny will be favourites and rightly so.
well done today lads from a Galway man . Ye have nothing to fear with kK. Should have beaten them last week . Hopefully cian o Sullivan be back . We will be shouting for ye down here anyway !
Have a chance of a first Leinster double since 2013 when we beat Galway in the hurling and Meath in the football.
And back then only for a very harsh red card for Ryan O Dwyer in All Ireland semi final i think we would have beaten Cork and been one game against Clare away from winning the All Ireland double.
Bigger crowd in two weeks than yesterday I'd say….
Hopefully Dublin keep the momentum going and have fur flying.
Away for the Final of course. FFS.
Very proud of this team. The comeback again Wexford. Carlow played very well against us and overcame them in a tight game. Hammered Antrim and could have and probably should have beat Kilkenny. we will have another crack at them in 2 weeks. Say Kilkenny are delighted its us and not Galway. But i think we can do it.