Ah here
Edit: thread is back
Jaysus
Bump
Feck sake
Mp
Bu
Was always going to end up this way. I suspect there will now be a new name for the next 3/6 months after the transition. A bedding in period maybe.
The neck on this Foley lad. 10s of millions in unclaimed deposits in Re-Turn coffers and hes telling us when we should try to get our own money back. Not a word about bulk return centres or anything else sensible that might help.
Is this just a one big social control experiment?
Next we will be assigned a number with a designated time and date to return items!
Not fit for purpose when needs to get 90 percent rate. Here is another obstacle to meeting that. A scheme for vested interests and a useless Minister just interested in box ticking virtue signalling.
This scheme (scam) should be scraped. If there so concerned about this there should be a separate household bin for this. Waste of fuel and time as well.
Considering waste collection went up anyways. Not paying some shady private company to oversee it.
Here is your warning.
You have now been told to do your returns midweek. Don't be complaining if you find a full machine at the weekend when you normally shop. It's on you now people.
Passive aggressive much?
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/warning-of-weekend-queues-as-ban-on-selling-non-deposit-return-scheme-bottles-and-cans-begins/a2018055960.html
A real green idea. Let's put another lorry on the road to collect cans along with the ReTurn lorries and our regular waste collection companies.
What will the charity do with all the cans when they can't find a working machine either?
That's what I noticed in takeaways.
If Ireland wants to go the full monty why not make all drinks with the Return label on them in the Irish language?
Oh hang on!
I see a lot of Polish Coca Cola knocking about now.
Cue scammers
I already see local groups leaving letter box type bins beside machine asking for dockets for good causes.
A positive idea that would help good causes and increase recycling.
It's actually being piloted at Bloom 2024.
Bins are being provided and all items collected will be credited to charity.
https://www.bordbiabloom.com/sustainability-at-bloom/
With everybody complaining about this service and just wanting to dump containers into green bin.
Would you consider giving them to a charity like Tiglin or supporting The homeless ?
Would there be volunteers be available to collect them ?
Would you support that idea or Charity bins at locations. Only putting out an idea.
Can't argue with that, the customer pays everyone's bills.
However with DRS you have a chance of getting your money back with MUP you kiss it goodbye forever.
I saw a bargain bin in Dunnes the other day.
They were selling off a variety of soft drinks at half price.
Probably a bit of leeway for the first week or so.
Machines not working is a nuisance for sure but I hold onto the cans for the next time.
I know that might not suit everyone.
Because I would be going to the civic amenity site anyway to recycle glass.
Also I knew that putting the cans in the container at the bottle bank was a better way to ensure they would be recycled.
Bank holiday weekend coming. I hope I'm wrong but based on past experience I expect all my local machines will be full by tomorrow and will stay that way until Tuesday. Unless they're broken.
Level Up achieved 🎮.