Was thinking the same - very politically correct!
If they were different races/breeds as well, RTE would want them as a couple on their next Room to Improve.
Good heavy dew here this morning so if you're getting something similar, I'm assuming you'd be grand. Rain also forecast for Tues/Wed depending on what part of the country you're in.
Had a couple of very heavy showers here yesterday evening. Did a grass walk this morning, have plenty of paddocks to bale. Not sure whether to mow them now or wait till next week and put it all in the pit ?
Is that ecosyl stuff worth it? 175 euro for a bag which treats 100 tons. Would it be about 10 ton to the acre?
we use agriking silo king powder and find it very good. Applied on the sward before pick up.
Does the contractor need to have one of these applicators: https://agriking.com/applicators/
Or is it something you can apply yourself?
yes. the rep here has one you put on the back of tractor worked off the battery and we use that. we find that bales of silage last longer when opened as. opened a bale for the calves a week ago and there is very little heating or mildew.
They were flogging that stuff gung ho 30 years ago, every rep had the best powder, suddenly silage couldn't be made without it. Gas to see it coming around again like the mullets.
Plenty good silage made in the meantime and it won't do much to save bad stuff.
it will make good quality silage better tho ….
A lot more wilting and tedding done now, That's the reason silage is good without additive. we used a double chop years ago and if you didn't use an additive in poor weather, silage would be poorly preserved
It was a disaster between lads getting burns and harvesters been rusted out of it, years ago it took a few days to do de silage that's why It was wet!
Do any of you ever take any notice of the step counters on your iPhones? Basically it just does what it says on the tin, counts how many steps a person does in a day. It is fairly interesting as a dairy farmer to see how many miles you may walk a day during spring in particular
Some of them not very accurate. I get about 18000 steps a day. More if tractor driving
I said 30 years ago not 50!, 25 might be more accurate for the powder craze.
Simply avoiding overdosing with fert and harvesting dry will almost guarantee well preserved silage, no real need for tedding and excessive wilting.
I remember the acid 30 yrs ago, I remember the smell of it even.
wilting definitely a requirement for bales. Not as much for pit.
Thankfully I never handled it, it was well out of vogue round here by then, and silage was taking hours rather than days. Molasses was popular for a bit after and then I think most people copped on.
Aye, but not excessively so.
any tips or tricks to get passed the cervix when ai maiden heifers ??
Leave out a drop of semen to open it up.
Easiest thing I find is go in a bit earlier than usual obviously doesn't suit with sexed but it never caused issues with ordinary straws
How is supply looking lads with ye all. I was back 13% annually until mid April, but am up 9% on May last Yr so am now only 4.5% behind last years supply to date. Coops may recover as the year moves on.
Mine aren't rising, down on last year between numbers and yield
Cut the straw a bit shorter so that the green button in the sheath is sitting right on the end of the gun.
I find the special heifer gun and sheaths a gift for tricky cases, and you can re use the special sheaths if you don't ram the straw in to the last. If I'd a few id load up a regular sheath and a heifer one and start with the regular one.
Spring 29.2 3.99fat 3.40 pr
Autumn 22.1 4.54fat 3.47pr 193 DIM
Usual struggle with grass quality. Was down 3% supply for the year up to April. Didn't look after that.
Anyone leaving hay out to milkers? Have no straw
mixing oat hulls here trough some baled silage, and 2kgs of nuts in a tmr, bf is hovering around 4% so seems to be working/dungs are good too
Do you get the oat hulls for free?
90 a ton delivered
Feck!
Big money for something destined for the dung heap.
It is but its a really useful product, cows love it too, versus trying to get straw into them and the messing with sorting in the tmr
any of ye ever hear anything about these before? Would be a handy machine around a dairy farm! Price looks too good to be true. A 8.8 tonne machine
https://www.donedeal.ie/view/35604274