So thought I’d throw this up, in a similar style to the electricity and gas switching deals available
one big switch have a deal for eir Broadband €35 a month and €100 credit added to your account for new residential account holders, if you’ve had eir before use spouses name which I’ve done in the past
Vodafone deals at the minute:
worked thanks
I forgot to add in my original post,
Use code flash100 to get the €100 One4All card with the 500mb virgin media bb.
No it is NOT
Use code sale100 in the basket for a €100 One4All Gift Card. Applies to new 1Gb and 2Gb broadband and bundle customers.
Quick question - after a lot of problems with broadband i went with King communications to sign a new contract with Vodafone - how long can it take to accept it and send new modem - had one email after leaving King - EECC compliance documents.
They did the same to me, it's a wonder they didn't accuse you of breaking the contract and charge you €110. Great service but they're money hungry.
virgin media 500mb is currently €35/month for 12 months. €30 activation free and 100 one4one4all gift e-card. (Use code flash100)
Basically €29/month
I switched from Digiweb this week and have received a bill to the middle of June for a service they will not be providing me. This practice of billing out of contract customers who switch for an additional 30 days should be stopped.
there must be a consumer thread or tech thread where this topic would be better discussed and the appropriate help provided
Back with more ranting.🙄 Logged a complaint directly with the ESB both over phone and then via email. Email did get back in touch and to be fair were in frequent contact. Finally got this email with an update on my situation and it made me laugh at how ridiculous the whole thing is.
2 weeks plus of a wait for access to a hoist? That's actually an insult to think I'd even believe that they couldn't have access to a hoist in 5 minutes if it was actually prioritised! I've to ring Pure later again and see can anything be done. I've holes drilled in my house now so can't really backtrack. They have me caught! The engineers were up and down on ladders to the mentioned pole last week so why is a hoist now needed? It's crazy a contractor can drag their feet so much over a simple job and even more so after a botched job. Have I any rights here or am I just a moany fecker? 😅
Yes outside but inside it's just one box that combines the work of your 2. The original Siro had 2 boxes.
Does seem strange that two devices are required. I haven't seen a siro installation up close, do they have the grey box outside similar to the VM ftth setup?
You wouldn't go picking a service on something superficial but it's disappointing that eir haven't copied the neater Siro ont
Siro not available to me so that's a non runner, I'm very happy with my setup.
I'm looking at the openeir install using the 2 boxes compared to siro with the one integrated box, siro is much neater on the wall.
thanks, i will wait and see, if he says he cant replicate my current setup, then i will cancel installation and stick to virgin.
Probably the best deal out there at the moment.
one big switch have eir @ €35 pm with €100 credit - deleted the email so don't have links or more info
this thread is going from bargains to tech chat, must be no bargains around
Sorry I misread your post completely 🤔. Without seeing your layout it's hard to know. Do you know where the twisted pair phone line entered the house originally? I think I read in the T&C's that they won't go into the attic. They will use the old phone line as the point of entry. With some of my neighbours they couldn't find the phone line inside the house so they found it outside and drilled a new entry point, maybe the installer might run the fibre up the wall for you, as others have already said it really depends on who you get on the day.
sorry i dont have VF. its just virgin coax.
the previous coax was sent up during construction criss crossing between the timbers over 2 floors. i cant run it the same way now. only way is to run from outside and drill a hole in the attic room. unless there is some technology to convert coaxial to fibre and use existing wiring (which i doubt)
No point unless you see them digging up the duct for somebody else, that's the major drawback to underground systems unfortunately.
Had to cancel my Pure contract this morning, the underground duct has collapsed some where down the road apparently and they cannot say how long to fix it, I had a 12 month half price offer from Virgin Media on the back burner which I took before it ran out.
Try again next year hopefully :)
Is the VF you have now using the VM coax? Can you run a cable down from the attic to connect to the newly installed Eir modem that will be on the wall and put the Eir router in the attic on the other end? I have the router under the stairs with a good quality cable between it and the open Eir modem. (The powered box on the wall I'm calling the modem)
I would say it is very much dependent on who you get as an engineer. You might get lucky and the engineer will do it.
need suggestion from everyone who got EIr Fibre.
i had a lad at the door selling Eir Fibre 45 euros for 2 years for 1gb with off peak calls.
i currently have virgin 1gb at 50 euros expiring in july.
i was only interested in eir fibre because the guy said eir will install all the wiring etc and it will be forever and i can switch with other providers.
now my problem is - current virgin coaxial goes from outside box to my attic where my virgin router is placed. from there all my home cat6 runs. this was done during house construction
i dont think the eir engineer can run fibre to attic from outside. would you agree from experience?
i cant keep the eir modem in the ground floor as it will mess up all my current setup. just seeking suggestion from experience. i have booked the installation for now in 2 weeks time. will discuss with engineer but i guess its not possible.
Next door neighbour has vowed never ever to have VF anywhere near his house because of exactly that carry on. He's with VM now.
Most providers have similar prices and all is grand until they feck up something.
Im with Vodafone,have fibre 500MB 30/6+40/6 and my internet suddenly stopped on friday out of nowhere in co.Galway 😂
Only way to contact them was on Twitter and tech support doesnt work weekends 🫣
Well, in fairness to Pure what's after happening to you is really out of their hands, there'd have been an all out strike in the ESB had those lads touched the cable, such a pity as they sounded like decent lads who just wanted to get you connected.
Great to hear. Lovely to hear a positive outcome. I really feel in some instances that the delays involved with a fibre install often depend on the individual you get. My engineers were nice but not willing to go near the work the ESB had completed (badly). They called their manager to ask could they continue on with the install as the actual damaged cable was working but he told them to stop the work as the service could not be guaranteed. Every situation/engineer/manager is different I suppose.