Castlebar in two weeks. Mayo will be sore after today.
Yes and for some inexplicable reason, the county board decided to make club players have a match on a long weekend, then give them a free weekend and then stick fixtures on a weekend they knew Cavan would be playing in Galway or Mayo. Would it not have made sense to have the free League weekend this weekend or when Cavan are due to play away?
It was tongue in cheek. You were claiming Lynch got injured on the Monday, which would have been the day after they played Tyrone.
Cavan trained that Wednesday and he trained again the following night with Crosserlough. I heard from plenty he trained both days but you can dismiss it as hearsay if you want
What are we thinking for the neutral venue against Roscommon?
I think Dublin Vs Mayo is a neutral venue too that weekend. If Mayo agree could be looking a double header on HQ
I think after being in pearse park longford recently it's the best spot... Could be a cauldron with a good cavan crowd pitch is perfect
I didn’t say he got injured on the Monday. I said “I heard” he got injured on the Monday which I was using to reference that there was a lot of hearsay going about re the injury and when it happened. I’m not disputing when he trained either but there was a bit of BS put up about a club team manager putting pressure on him to train etc.
He was asked to train that Thursday. Maybe it wasn't pressure, but either way he's out for the year.
mayo in castlebar! What’s the thoughts lads?
I’d be aiming for the Roscommon game. Had it confirmed - Cavan played Cork in Stradbally at the weekend.
WAC said Matthew Smith is on the panel but he played with Ramor Saturday so not sure what the craic is there.
how did the game against cork go and any word of team that played?
Just heard game was on and that Conor Madden has joined the panel.
that’s great to see him back.
Well the other lads have had enough chances now and none have made an impact near good enough.
well I thought cormac has made on impact the last two games and I think Oisin is getting back to himself .
You would wonder what the rush was in doing the draw last week when they haven't even confirmed the dates yet.
It's mad. I'm waiting on it as I've something else to organise that weekend and need to know when to book stuff in. Surely they could be released this morning at a minimum
Mayo v Cavan, Saturday 18th May at 5pm
Decent time for it.
That's interesting. Does that mean he was dropped off the panel and was brought back in or that he had opted out himself and had a change of heart. Conor Smith is another one that maybe should be looked at?
Be interesting to know. I know he was injured for a lot of last year so he only came on the odd time last year anyways.
Great option to have coming off the bench if fit.
I believe Madden was busy with work and felt he wasn’t getting the playing time that justified the commitment. Perhaps Ray has given him a call and advised that a chance is there - that could be complete and utter BS of course.
Smith I think still has injury issues and manages his playing time. It’s a pity but as WAC stated recently, I don’t think he’s ever managed two games in quick succession for Cavan.
Smith seems fit right now. He was very unlucky with certain injuries. I'd have him back in a heartbeat
Me too but he seems to have problems dealing with the heavier intercounty workload
jack McKenna back in according to wac.
Would love to see him getting a proper run at it
Was chatting to lad in town at lunchtime and he reckons Geroid is back training with the panel. Surely he has got his wires crossed, also he had the Lynch was forced to train or lose his place with the club.
Time for the county board to ban outside managers if this is the case.
Met him at lunchtime, he said "Lynch was forced to train or lose his place with the club.".
Was he on the sauce since early morning by any chance?
Any chance they’d get Larry back in too now that he’s done with the U20’s?
Yes, Crosserlough we’re going to drop the best forward in the county. And how exactly could the county board “ban outside managers”?
I was just passing on what was heard.
In my opinion it's something that should be done. You think a lad from Tyrone has the best interests of Cavan football at heart or is he just there for the paycheck?