It's as believable as some of the other stuff they've come out with: no cutting turf but importing timber from Brazil, feeding your family with lettuce from your balcony's window box, shared rural cars, interventionist organic policy, "green" data centres, forestry for none, etc.
And rightly so it's 250 and having a very high proportion of farmers in derogation.just proves it doesn't.
You are forgetting about the scale of this farm. 8.5k cows even milking at 15L/ day is 130kL of milk/ day the bones of 5 tanker loads,@8L/ day its over two tankers
Doubt if much ration is used but if it is drawn in bulk from a port similar to a mill in Donegal getting it from Foynes.
Issue's like that are never a problem when dealing in scale, finance, cashflow, labour etc are usually the issues
the water quality results are not in our/your favor….retaining dero is unlikely considering its only a small % of overall farmers are involved, the majority are actually not in dero and were being made jump through hoops to keep dero, dero will be lost and well be stuck with this low protein feeds/stocking limits/low emission spreading
how do ye manage to spread the 250kg, im on marginal land and not in dero as i cant get out to grass until paddys day? if the land was able to take the 250n surely the water tests would be in your favor, i can understand lads with the best land in country at 250n as there ground can take it as they will be out to grass in January but not on marginal land
All very good points. It seems to be a company of some sort that owns it. I wonder how much money they’d be looking for it, don’t think there would be many people in the market for what’s basically a small chunk of a country!
Will the low protein feeds stipulations be gone if derogation goes though? If the banding was scrapped and reverted to the old rate of 85kgN/ha, a max stocking rate of 2 cows to the ha on overall land farmed could be just as profitable for farmers in a no dero/banding scenario if you had cows in the current band 3 and the upper limit of band 2.
Banding and all the other crap that was brought in is here to stay regardless of the derogation. They are extra knobs they can turn to screw the farmer more with
Ironically it was the European commissioner himself that said that said the areas in white were fine and that there was no need to interfere with them.that idea didn't come from any irish lobbying .maybe somebody should show the commissioner pictures of raw sewage floating down the river Lee last week then we might finally get some improvement in water qaulity
Chinese man bought it, years ago, has ran the place into the ground/serious welfare issues and that resulted in fonterra suspending collection so hes no option but to sell it
Ya the Chinese were buying up substantial farms and landbanks in NZ and Australia until there was an embargo put on them by the government's of both countries.
IIt Will take a commercial entity to take that over and a serious cash injection if that is the case
No nitrates over there buy it and push onto 12000 cows :-D!
Its a class country to farm in bar weather extremes, theirs no blue cards/dafm/bord bia to be worrying about it, no cheque in the post like the sfp either but its a fair trade off
yeah it’s far better then oz or nz
Huge mass exodus from dairy going on at the minute in nz and they are only facing the issues on water quality that we had enforced 20 years ago here
Tasmania’s west coast (that farm is on the west coast) is arguably the best place in the world for dairy farming. No winter there but the summers aren’t crazy hot either as far as I know and they get as much rain as some parts of this country if not more! If 8 biggish dairy farmers here in Ireland sold up shop they’d probably be able to buy the 23,475 acres and divide up the 8 rotary parlours and all between them
Is your brother still in nz?
Teagasc's top man told me that the whole country is going to 220 next year. They should never have complicated it he said but they couldn't justify cutting back some places without justification. So I guess they are going to find some "justification" in the meantime. I'm at 236 or something myself due to the outside block being 220.
I don't know a bit about the place
https://www.australia.com/en/facts-and-planning/weather-in-australia/hobart-weather.html#:~:text=Winter%20(June%20%E2%80%93%20August),C%20(37.4%C2%B0F).
has sold everything moving to oz- not farming related
Last few weeks dairy farming ahead - young lad isn’t impressed
Everything goes with the deal machinery cows etc etc
that place is on the eastern half of the island, there’s mountains in between which act as a barrier to any rain, their weather comes from the west
Plenty of good valued dairy farms in australia, is he leaving the industry altogether
Would that place be even worth 20 million now?
Best of luck to them
as a dairy operation i doubt it, but alot of land in new zealand/australia is been snapped up by corporations and planted for carbon credits will probably be what happens to this land block too i reckon, land values have eased over their lately by a nice % having said that
I suppose you’d think it has to be worth $20 AUD, that’d be about €12,250,000. Even if half of the land is wastage ie bushland that would still only make it around €1,000/acre. Would it be much good for growing tillage I wonder? If it is a run down dairy farm it’d cost a kings ransom to build it back up and put it right
He paid 280 million dollars in 2016 for the entire portfolio, a 700 hectacre farm that was part of it was sold recently
https://www.abc.net.au/news/rural/2024-03-26/chinese-owned-tasmanian-dairy-farm-returns-to-australian-hands/103553226
yeah cashing in as futures looking very poor in nz - massive investment needed to meet regulations just to maintain current output- reality is the grass based system can’t survive future investment needs
I’ve been trying to get Irish media to cover the situation in oz. And nz but they don’t want to cover reality- they only want to publish there side of the system which is far from reality
Well they are still sending over the ag science students as cheap labour and to be brainwashed
Similar emerging issues over water quality, calf welfare etc. are coming to public attention there too
https://www.abc.net.au/listen/programs/tas-country-hour/van-dairy/13300834
By all accounts what that lad was up to was a glorified concentration camp for cows/calves, unless you’ve been out their you couldn’t fathom what they’ve been getting away with regulation wise until recently, and Australia dairy farmers still have it good enough with local governments not really meddling like the kiwis have after a decade of labour in power