Following on from here
New Munster chat thread folks. warning deserved there. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=109477571#post109477571
Do we know if there's any chance Kleyn will feature again this season?
Yes coombes is significantly better than penny or deegan. Hes been a europan player of the year nominee and theyve barely played european games. Their dirt trackers as they would say on lions tours
He was fsr from the only one who failed in that game but seems to be the only one its brought up for
You can drop the hyperbole with the hammered and vitriol stuff iv not said that so dont put words in my mouth
The cohesion arguments perfectly valid
This is not the first mistake farrell has made hes human it happens
I didnt mention vendetta against anyone i said mistakes where made
Lads like frawley and joe mccarthy also had nightmares in that game
I'll be honest I normally don't engage with you as I don't think you argue in good faith on here and are a major reason why the site is gone to pot debate-wise… but I'll bite here - Lowe was dropped after a string of poor performances as opposed to not showing up in one match. Bit of a difference in ruthlessness you'll find.
I'd have thought Coombes has done enough to warrant another look but we haven't exactly had a lot of injuries in the backrow and I've said already that maybe they think he just doesn't fit the style of play. I disagree, but c'est la vie.
Coombes is a cracking player, Ireland coaches prefer baird, doris and pom at 6, doris and conan at 8 and vdf and Doris at 7.
Doesn't take anything from Coombes , he's top end.
What are you talking about? Lowe was dropped for Ireland due to his early performances.
This is the norm so not surprised - everything that challenges the narrative of grievance and victimhood is completely ignored.
As I've posted here on here before, Coombes was out before the start of the season and only came back something like a month before that game. I'm not going looking up the dates again as Ive posted it several times.
Yeah he didn't play well but it was very much the exception and not the rule to his performances generally.
For whatever reason he hasn't gotten a look-in since but if I cast my mind back to James Lowe and his shocking defensive performances and reads in his early caps... he kept getting picked. Maybe he just had more credit in the bank and Coombes didn't take his chance.
There's not much more he can do really, he's been arguably one of the top performers in the URC over a few seasons now. He must just not suit the Ireland game plan in the coaches eyes.
The officials for Saturday
At this stage of the discussion in the thread I couldn't care less
It's the same debate over & over again he said you said but but...
I'll leave ye to it
Looking forward to good game sat
but the example isnt a great one. by your metric shane daly should be in the irish squad seeing as he was one of the (if not, the) only ones to show some attacking ability in that game. it was a one-off performance
"Coombes has been taken into plenty of squad, when he got a chance v NZ A he failed" - i would imagine most people's problem is that he has been given very little chance in terms of actual gametime - he played pretty well in july 2021 and was one of the best players against the maori in 2022. again, if we are going on 'failing' as you put it, against the NZ XV then Ireland will be fairly short of players to pick to be honest seeing as almost all of them 'failed'
i also dont necessarily think its some sort of leinster conspiracy btw, i just think your argument isnt great thats all
Based on u20s performances tho, he hasn't done alot this season along with injury as well.
I would say for the next 2-4 years there are others we'll ahead of him re international selection.
Huge ceiling tho ( Jesus I hate that phrase😁)
Frisch and Coombes have better players in front of them
Shock horror but that is what I would suggest is the reason
I don't think he will put Doris on the bench, I think you will find a backrow with both of them in it. Doris has shown so far he is versatile enough to play 6,7,8
If anything they seem to be priming Doris as Leinster/Ireland captain material
I expect Gleeson to be an international in a couple of years. He may put Doris on the bench.
Expecting much change for the Connacht game?
i hope the break hasn't stalled the great momentum of SA tour
If the coach thinks you are good enough you are in
Coombes & frisch were both looked at & for whatever reason Farrell has decided not to go with them so far.
Maybe they don't have the right attitude, who the fcuk knows.
Can we move on from RWC winner,Healy to Scotland & the above 2, its been done to death
As I am sure you are aware it was just an example of him getting game time. He has since been called into multiple squads but hasn't progressed
Coombes is just the latest in a long line of players that Munster fans massively rate and when they are not picked for Ireland it's claimed bias etc etc as a reason not to pick the player.
In reality as I pointed out before the main person Coombes will be dealing with is Paulie, so claiming Leinster bias doesn't really wash. Maybe Ireland has better players in that position?
In terms of the list of players, not really a who-who of stars for Ireland since, big Joe is only real would you can claim has kicked on.
It's just noise from disgruntled fans that their pet favourite isn't getting selected. Hansen and Crowley etc all blow the so called easy route for Leinster players to pieces. But Im sure you will come up with another nonsense reason why it doesn't.
Even to get into the leinster team with the squad they have is a huge challenge let alone saying the players have an easy path into the Ireland squad. If Penny/Deegan etc was in Munster the same posts would be about them. Is Coombes better than either of them?
Penny? is he better than him?
Gleeson I expect to jump Coombes etc and push into the Ireland team in the next 12 months.
is it possible to acknowledge Leinster players may have an easier path to the Ireland squad because of cohesion / familiarity with others etc without it being Leinster bias / a vendetta?
This question keeps coming up but its impossible to prove a negative. The onus is on those proposing a theory that it has validity, not on those claiming 'there's no evidence for that' to prove there's no evidence. It might not be a Leinster bias but without any evidence its a bias against the coaches, and its basically a conspiracy theory unless you can point to a player or ex player or coach who says, I was told I didn't get a place on the Ireland team because a lesser player plays in Leinster and that's was what the coaches felt was more important. This is a faith based feeling some posters have, that's all. Playing the victim because people are calling out a conspiracy theory...
I thought you were leaving it there.
But ok.
One is my personal opinion of the player. I think he’s a very good player who’s unlucky to be in a very competitive position.
The other is an observation of what is actually happening in real life. He isn’t being picked for Ireland squads. This isn’t metaphysics like, we don’t need to rupture the space time continuum for opinion and fact to coexist. Coombes went from getting caps to being a training squad regular to being outside the squad completely. I cannot understand why it’s controversial to suggest that whatever he’s doing isn’t what the Ireland coaches want from him. It very clearly isn’t and he had lots of opportunities to show them he could do it, but to no avail. Those are the facts.
But - going back to my own personal opinion - he’s good enough that he’ll get another chance soon enough. Maybe the tour to SA, very likely the Autumn, and then who knows?
Back to about 40 posts ago (Squad Update)
Liam Coombes back training, probably too late in the season for him now but I'd love to see him getting a run of games.
Gleeson back too, again probably too late in the east for him but great to see him back.
Yeah. Fair point. I was thinking the same thing actually before I saw your reply.
So he is good enough to make the 33-man RWC squad, but isn't good enough to do what Farrell asks of him? Make that make sense.
i thought he was fine tbh, but even taking him off the list i think the point still stands
and I think you deliberately and relentlessly misrepresent me to make it look that way. so I did a search of my own
Funny you didn’t quote the post where I said (in direct reply to you the last time we did this dance)
I think Coombes is good enough to make the 33-man RWC squad. If you can point me to where I've said otherwise, please do.
I think Frawley needs a bit of luck or some really strong performances in training to make the 33-man RWC squad.
So, maybe if you’d bookmarked that one, in which I express my own opinion that was complimentary of the Munster guy rather than the post (correctly, btw) observing what Farrell would do but framing it as Munster bashing, the conversation would be different - but you didn't, did you? So maybe my tenor isn’t the issue.
But yeah, let’s leave it there.
I remember at the time the consensus was that JGP moving to Leinster and being replaced by Jamie booth was totally a win in the favour of the hurricanes.
Jamie booth...... 😁😁
So the IRFU employ NIQ 140 players to play for the provinces but can't field a team in the 6n?
Like any business, you employ people qualified to do the job that you need them for, so for the IRFU they need to employ the majority of pro players who are eligible for the national team.
Yeah some form of arthritis i think. Which is one of the reasons he moved. Didn't know how long he had left in the game so took the big pay day. Fair play to him.
I thought Osborne was one of the better Irish players that day.