Thought it might be nice to have an off topic chat thread.
How is everyone? Hope ye enjoy the forum.
Is there an issue with the Russia thread? The last post showing for me is #110221 from 08.05.2024.
How come charities are begging for pennies and promises from ministers for this ??? Wildlife seems to be a dirty word in Ireland. This is our real Greenway and Wild Atlantic Way and not the Failte Ireland marketing. Why is this "regional news" according to RTE ? Why is one charity in a landlocked county Kildare having to deal with seabirds ??? In Ireland, we are surrounded by sea .… Mad
oh I think they’ll be fined £1000’s too . Unlike here .
Supermacs McDonagh 😁 I guess by the name we know who
Despite jail they should also be made pay
I see a family named McDonagh have been arrested in England for a string of goin to restaurants , ordering huge meals and top notch wine and clearing off . Face 2 years in jail , unlike here .
idk if y'all are aware of the solar storm but most of the northern global latitudes can see the aurora extending much farther south this weekend than normal
This pic reportedly from Gloucestershire UK:
Ontario Canada:
Avon Park, Florida:
Source: https://www.facebook.com/groups/3227683947257367?multi_permalinks=26265744066358029&hoisted_section_header_type=recently_seen
Women’s only clubs are good but men only clubs are bad:
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/garrick-club-private-member-clubs-women-b2541714.html
I think it is fixed now, well I can see some large threads page 1 that I couldn't before especially in this busy forum
Ty.
Don't know what the issue with, but every time they do an upgrade it seems to mess about with some functions/formats
You should be able to see the Ops by logging out (although I understand that is a pain to have to do, particularly when we ask posters to read the warnings in the OP)
As a mod I can still see the OP via our edit function which we can access on any page
With the long weekend it may be the case that Mike in the office has not had chance to look at this, but these things typically need him to put in a specific request with Vanilla
Anyone know what the story is with the 1st page of long threads not showing?
Love the way the HSE is trying to reassure people that no records were left there when also saying that the highest level of security was in place-considering 2 lads had the run of the place, none of their assurances around patient records are erm, that reassuring are they?🤪
I had reason to go to Ardmore police station yesterday , on my own accord I might add , and was shocked to hear from the officer on the gate that theres no police there at all , closed down . I thought the health and garda services in the South were bad , the North is absolutely fucked . Skeleton services and huge Union and staff issues in both pay and availability .
the training duration is roughly 2 years from what I recall.
So a significant amount of money, and time spent, over 6 figures, on a man or woman that will just be and can just be around for 8 years… ok the retirement age is rising to 62 but I can’t imagine many 60 + year olds out on the beat…. It’s pretty rare to even see 50+ year olds out and about.
lads weren’t just doing urban exploration, they were committing a crime(s), trespassing / breaking and entering.
You could break into my place tonight while I’m out but I’d doubt ‘ suburban exploration ‘ would hold much sway with a judge… or shouldn’t hold sway..
Yes the records should have been removed and secured or destroyed but you won’t see anyone responsible for that oversight swinging in the wind…it’s Ireland after all….” Lookit Michael, bit of a shiîtstorm over all them what ye call it, yeah medical records ye left hanging about will ye be more careful now if yer doing that again now de ye hear we’ll be knee deep in da shîte now, good man, now….. how the wife ? “
So who's in trouble here? A couple of lads doing some urban exploration, or whoever has the job of ensuring all records were removed before the building was shut down?
https://www.rte.ie/news/leinster/2024/0421/1444794-kildare-robbery/
Woman was robbed…
Yet, no description of the attacker, nothing…yet, appealing for help from the public… what help can the public give if no description of the attacker is given….? Example….
Man approximately early 30’s…
Approximately 6’2” in height…
Brown short hair
ethnicity believed to be…… Irish / Asian / African / European / South American…
Assailant wore dark jeans, blue hoody white trainers…
It’s quite probable in the shock of the incident, the victim won’t recall 100% of everything but there must be some info… are they possibly afraid if the assailant was non Irish or part of a certain domestic ethnic say group of people it maybe viewed as racist ? Don’t get it.
How can you appeal for help and not give any information, weird.
I didn't know about that wider piece - as I’ve no real interest in GAA it’s still just mildly amusing to me 😀- great that their problems are so small
There’s context to that one lads that I feel like you’re missing:
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/business-of-sport/arid-41343626.html
Their April Fool’s “joke”?
it will just prompt loads of memes mis using the GAA “brand” - they asked for that
The GAA's decision to report Supermac's to Meta and have their accounts suspended might not have been their wisest move. How many GAA clubs does Supermac's sponsor. If they react it could be to pull sponsorship. Hopefully not, but I suspect the GAA didn't think it through before kicking up a fuss.
Look if Supermacs want to even joke about it they have to pay like all the rest. The GAA is not afraid to assert itself.
while it wasn’t a particularly funny April fools joke, I think we’ve lost our ability to laugh here in Ireland without either someone being either offended or feeling that their rights have been violated
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/supermacs-facebook-and-instagram-accounts-suspended-over-croke-park-april-fools-gag/a1653191732.html
Farmers have all the best anti-fash tech
https://www.reddit.com/r/PublicFreakout/comments/1bof87c/belgian_police_water_cannon_vs_belgian_farmer/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x&context=3
Anyone see John Boucher on the news. His report when and if it is made public is going to make some news I think from his interview
While it sounds promising, I reckon Billy Connolly fans will still be left disappointed and indeed, refused entry
"Hi, I's like to apply to be a Guard?"
"Do you have any criminal convictions for violence?"
"No."
"Oh well, thank you for your interest anyway...."
I can't be the only one who spots a potential problem with this surely. 🤔
What happened Martin Nolan thread @Beasty @Sephiroth_dude @Ten of Swords I got a notification but comment and thread gone it seems from CA
Last active four days ago according to his profile.