Mayo v Cavan, Saturday 18th May at 5pm
It's mad. I'm waiting on it as I've something else to organise that weekend and need to know when to book stuff in. Surely they could be released this morning at a minimum
You would wonder what the rush was in doing the draw last week when they haven't even confirmed the dates yet.
well I thought cormac has made on impact the last two games and I think Oisin is getting back to himself .
Well the other lads have had enough chances now and none have made an impact near good enough.
that’s great to see him back.
Just heard game was on and that Conor Madden has joined the panel.
how did the game against cork go and any word of team that played?
I’d be aiming for the Roscommon game. Had it confirmed - Cavan played Cork in Stradbally at the weekend.
WAC said Matthew Smith is on the panel but he played with Ramor Saturday so not sure what the craic is there.
mayo in castlebar! What’s the thoughts lads?
He was asked to train that Thursday. Maybe it wasn't pressure, but either way he's out for the year.
I didn’t say he got injured on the Monday. I said “I heard” he got injured on the Monday which I was using to reference that there was a lot of hearsay going about re the injury and when it happened. I’m not disputing when he trained either but there was a bit of BS put up about a club team manager putting pressure on him to train etc.
I think after being in pearse park longford recently it's the best spot... Could be a cauldron with a good cavan crowd pitch is perfect
What are we thinking for the neutral venue against Roscommon?
I think Dublin Vs Mayo is a neutral venue too that weekend. If Mayo agree could be looking a double header on HQ
It was tongue in cheek. You were claiming Lynch got injured on the Monday, which would have been the day after they played Tyrone.
Cavan trained that Wednesday and he trained again the following night with Crosserlough. I heard from plenty he trained both days but you can dismiss it as hearsay if you want
Yes and for some inexplicable reason, the county board decided to make club players have a match on a long weekend, then give them a free weekend and then stick fixtures on a weekend they knew Cavan would be playing in Galway or Mayo. Would it not have made sense to have the free League weekend this weekend or when Cavan are due to play away?
Castlebar in two weeks. Mayo will be sore after today.
Incorrect. County players didn’t play with their clubs so how is it “all hearsay”?
I'd say Clare had bigger business this weekend than a challenge with Cavan.
All hearsay
County players weren’t allowed play with clubs this weekend. My understanding is they had a challenge game, was told the team but can’t recall if it was Clare or Cork.
i heard on the we are Cavan podcast that Darragh Lovett and Matthew smith and Evan Crowe are brought in to the senior panel.
This is the youth development process in connacht I was explaining a few weeks back...
https://www.gaa.ie/article/cdo-initiative-working-well-in-connacht?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2ipoHH6qquISDxige7urz_BF3AzdEaXfGSSXPa29GNCQlE-36EP0hTQOg_aem_AWpYP9ssJoHtY89REiZrCuLBPkD9MaHcRlPx9rPyUtnTK2ZUrEKvu_OC2P8lmxR7HzmgadVPneNfGpeLiPFJM3UA
I hear you that there is apprehension that the Dubs can and do give many teams a trimming in Sam and what value that has for any team.
I'm thinking back to the Ulster final in 2019. Donegal gave us a trimming. Okay, we got late scores that put a gloss on it but the game was over by half time. It wasn't a contest. But it was an occasion (okay, it was an Ulster final).
An occasion for me isn't just getting a result. It should be a big crowd, colour and sense of a buzz of something different. We've not had that in a while.
It was reported in the Celt he did it on Thursday, and results Friday. If he had done it Monday, he wouldn't have been able for further training in the week.
I believe it was a tactical session, nothing heavy. Innocuous but very unfortunate.
And I heard he actually did it on the Monday in training. All hearsay.
He should be escorted back to Tyrone.
Ah I dunno, I'm looking forward to it already. You are right, they are levels above, but sure no harm in going at them. They usually don't get it all their own way when they have to go away so you'd hope we can stay with them for a time as they are out of Croker
I heard Paddy Lynch trained with Cavan last Wednesday and trained again the following night with Crosserlough. The Crosserlough manager a Tyrone man ,put the pressure to train with the Club