A familiar name or two here. They lost their appeal (also a familiar refrain)
https://courts.ie/viewer/pdf/2249a5cb-3e31-4a4e-b49c-37112694d53a/2024_IECA_73.pdf/pdf#view=fitH
Can't be much use as a town agent if you're missing filing dates in your own case. As ever, it appears to be one of those cases where it's the husband on a solo run, even making quite serious allegations against himself. In the High Court judgment, it was stated that "..the first named defendant also alleges in this correspondence that his estranged wife […] was subject to undue influence by him to sign for the mortgage. This is not an allegation that has ever been made by the second named defendant, however."
I also see in The Phoenix this week that Morrigan Private Trust Settlement Operations directors Ben Gilroy and Charlie McGuinness are now resident in the Algarve according to recent CRO filings. The company is apparently sitting on an accumulated surplus of €176,000.
This the same Ben who launched a new political party in time for after the elections, thus saving them their deposit money?
I've lost track, what's the craic with a new political party?
Direct Democracy Ireland has been renamed to Liberty Republic. Ben Gilroy (who left DDI a few years ago) has returned and straightaway is leader (I'm sure it was an above board process). I don't know whether it's officially registered as a party yet or what their plans are for local elections in June. Ben has suggested a run at everything whilst green-screening in front of the Aras.
On the face of it their initial policies are somewhat softer than the pro-Church anti-everything else stance of previous incarnations, and almost centre-ist when compared to some of the more extreme new parties.
Feel free to sit through Ben OTF Gilroy's launch speech (you know you want to)
https://libertyrepublic.ie/
They've failed to have any Euro candidates anyway
As ever with these lads, they don't appear to fond of filling out the forms.
DDI are still registered with the Electoral Commission with Pat Green / Joseph Cunningham as their authorised officers.
any relation to this guy?
Some "wonderful" stuff in what is basically just a list of alt right tinderbox policies.
Whilst he didn't seek election last week, Ben Gilroy kept himself busy by issuing High Court proceedings against the Minister for Justice, the Courts Service, the Prison Service and the Garda Commissioner.
No idea what this one's about.
Is the reading of the Constitution in the Phoenix Park today a form of freeman ism?
Some of the people going are anti refuge and IPAS as far as I know. I don't understand exactly their aim. Do they claim refugee IPAS are against the Constitution
It’s not a protest they say just a reading of the Constitution
A group of freeman types in the UK attempt to kidnap a coroner
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c6p2rk69zw2o
A new level of bonkers which seems to have backfired when reality hit.
not a million miles away from the dotty lecturer who was trying to set up her own courts in ireland over covid .. don't like the law just set up your own version and ensure you have paying disciples to follow you around
Not a million miles away from the Burkes' harassment of coroners here, either.
And the hits just keep on coming!
In summary they tried to get a judges ruling thrown out because the judge was once a partner in Goodbodys and Goodbodys had once represented the plaintiffs in a separate matter. needless to say their appeal was completely rejected.
It mentions someone called Paul Scannell who acted as an "intermediary" for the defendents. Not a name I am familiar with.
The Scannells would have spent a lot of time in the orbit of The Hub etc back a few years ago, then fell out with them and I'd imagine sided with Armstrong/McThréanlámh as they're all involved in the 1916 Societies.
Lord Byron and the Hub seem to have faded away over the last few years. Presume they’ve been sidelined by the new generation of grifter/patriot types.
The Jenkins' are still at it, would you believe, over 15 years after they first defaulted on their mortgage.
They launched new proceedings against Pepper and more than a dozen other parties this year and are professionally represented. Plenary Summons issued in February 2024 and nothing happening since.
This guy has the bang of a freeman/sovcit about him
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/cork/news/courts/man-posing-as-diplomat-from-fake-country-sentenced-for-motoring-offences-in-cork/a1309403595.html
I remember him from last year.
There Is an article from the examiner 6 months ago and the video from a year ago.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3SNsTZ2YVk
Don't see too many Freeman types running in the General Election but see that Ben Gilroy is running in both Meath West and Fingal East.
Fingal West as well, going for the hattrick.
Full list of Ben approved candidates here.
https://www.fair-immigration-ireland.com/copy-of-irish-ge-2024?fbclid=IwY2xjawGqsvVleHRuA2FlbQIxMAABHXCr3ESbllU50QaMfdVWQvBcVeJq5BVM87mhs5aYzt7K-JfHMJBY97d90w_aem_eVRCzzLGsKothkb6_V_Opw
How many rejections can one man have
What would actually happen if an individual got elected in two constituencies at the same election?
Pick one, by-election in the other.
Articile 14 says "No person may be at the same time a member of both Houses of the Oireachtas", but I cannot see anything about holding two seats in the same house.
Would have no need to be in the constitution.
Electoral Act 1992 S35
If you don't opt for one within 30 days; you are booted out of the one(s) in which you had lower first preferences.