Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
There is a big difference between the high court and supreme court. If you don't think facts don't matter then ignore me.
Amazing you pulled me up on my post and not the poster I replied to in order to correct them.
Methinks you didn't know the high court said it either 😉
Yeah ok I got the court wrong.
Are ya happy now.
Would you like a gold star?
Methinks the high court is not the supreme court. Did the supreme court make a judgment or has it even being referred?
Quick to jump on my post but not so much on incorrect information posted.
When you're explaining etc. You missed your chance on the 1st reply
No thanks. Enjoy your night and maybe refrain from replying to me like a school child in the future that would be an added bonus.
Strange you didn’t pull up the poster who made the incorrect information but go after the person who was right
It seems to me, it doesn’t matter if the information is right or wrong once it’s negative towards the government….
I'll reply whatever way I want to.
Ill be honest reading your posts if the current government decided to post a gold bar to every citizen on a daily basis you would complain if it didn't arrive before 10am.
You neglicated the falsehoods in the post I initially replied to and went straight my post. Why was that?
Because I saw your 'tell'. 😉
Gold bars are bad for your health.
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2024/03/22/britain-not-safe-migrants-threat-rwanda-irish-high-court/
Britain is not safe for migrants because of the risk of deportation to Rwanda, the Irish High Court has ruled……………….
The Tonight Show is covering the Justice minister's statistics. I imagine Leaders questions tomorrow will be interesting. Harris was Justice Minister for 6 months very recently so he should know what's going on.
Was Helen McEntee spreading misinformation?
The scenes on Mount Street are a national disgrace.
you made the mistake of not been negative towards the government so it doesn’t matter if you are right or wrong to some posters
They are desperate for an echo chamber
There is also a big difference between "Our Supreme Court made a ruling that the UK wasn't a safe country" and what actually happened. The High Court didn't rule anything of the sort. The ruling was that we botched the process of designating the UK a safe country, not that it isn't a safe country.
Another stellar job well done by the Minister.
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2024/03/22/irelands-declaration-of-uk-as-safe-third-country-unlawful-rules-high-court/
Ireland’s designation of the UK as a “safe third country” to which asylum seekers can be returned for processing is unlawful as a matter of EU law, the High Court has ruled.
In a significant decision on Friday, Ms Justice Siobhán Phelan held that Minister for Justice Helen McEntee exceeded her powers by designating the UK a safe third country in December 2020, in response to the UK’s exit from the EU.
Will try once more.
The poster claimed:
"Our Supreme Court made a ruling that the UK wasn't a safe country"
This is false. Why attack my post?
Why not address the original poster and question them?
How have i attacked your post? Some sensitive souls on here. I actually thanked your first post. I thought my post was supporting yours but jaysus. I won't bother next time.
The Tories will want images of migrants crossing the border hitting British screens before Thursday.
Simon have a ice cream and go play on Tik Tok 😉
The way they have hyped this story up, anything short of this at the Belleek crossing will be a letdown for them
Well done
The mullarkey on Kildare St is an even bigger one.
honestly, how the **** does Helen McEntee still have a job? There is a record number of restaurant, shop and home break ins every week in Dublin City centre for the last 2 years. Several business owners I know are struggling to deal with constant break ins and security threats everyday. Think there were 3 restaurants just this week threatened with knives and had their cash registers emptied. There’s a serious amount of scumbags just roaming around the city centre everyday. I feel like this city will slowly turn into another version of San Francisco if FG remain in power. Need to be pushing for more powerful police state laws, police should be allowed to whack these knackers unprompted.
If nothing is done pretty soon business owners are going to take it into their own hands and solve the problem themselves if the state refuses to step in. We’ll end up like South Africa-privatised mercenary groups, security guards, multiple layers of fencing, bolted doors etc.
Ha Ha, Fine Gael have sent Alan Farrell to Drivetime to defend the immigration process. Wowser, they have really reached the bottom of the barrel now!
And he seems to know nothing! Priceless.
"The Convention was designed to protect individuals and groups fleeing persecution, not masses of population fleeing warzones."
The UN's own official website, which I linked to and quoted, says the convention was designed in direct response to the masses of people fleeing war zones post WW2.
Perhaps you should consider writing to the UN to correct them on the error of their ways if you know better?
The UN is a busted flush and has been for quite a while now.
Most people can see that, but the deluded, the NGO classes and some politicos still cling to the institution and it's often dodgy offspring.
Old conventions are no longer fit for purpose in a modern globalised world where you can cross the world in a matter of hours and where Western countries ruling governments, their political classes, media and NGO classes are so willing to accept effectively an invasion.
If the madness continues and as some of our more environmentally and more open borders feelings dominated classes have their way we are expected to invite half of Africa and the Middle East in the coming years, it will result in dictatorships the likes we haven't seen since the 1940s.
The solution to Africas and Middle Easts problems is not to move people en masse to Europe.
Some of us have copped on to that, but some are just very slow on the uptake or are making a lot of money out of the racket.
You have noticed the word "post" in that right? There were no war zones in Europe post WW2.
What there was was various degrees of ethnic cleansing and displacement of certain protected groups and nationalities. The UN describe precisely what I quoted from the Convention articles themselves. It is for people who must flee their own country "owing to well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion, ". I don't know how much clearer this can be made that this is not for people fleeing a war zone.
"Initially, the 1951 Convention was more or less limited to protecting European refugees in the aftermath of World War II"
https://www.unhcr.org/sites/default/files/legacy-pdf/4ec262df9.pdf
It was literally created as a response to World War 2 refugees, to cater for them, in the UN's own words. You should really actually read up on the convention before talking about it with such misplaced authority.