Clare GAA Discussion part 2
Lads ....Cleary is an average full back who spends his time pulling and dragging out of the opposing full forward. Fact is he hasn't much hurling but I do admire the fact he tends to get away with it.
OK buddy.. Point out what wise cracks I posted. You've taken awful offense to somebody not liking Cleary.
I merely commented on someone's elses comment about Cleary stated how I didn't like him and face reasons why.
All you had to do was say no, I disagree with you, I think Cleary is good at... A, b or c. Which is the way a mature adult would go about it. That's actually how life works…
But no, you decide to bring up where I'm from, what I do in my spare time, what other sports I watch and even weirder the inner workings of my toilet. Also calling me a retard and an idiot.
That's fine you think the other two are a liability, that's your opinion and I entitled to that. I'm not gonna attack you personally or insult you for having that opinion.
You obviously operate differently.
If you ask for trouble you will get it , thats how life works buddy, you came on here with all the initial wise cracks
I actually did , I pointed out that we struggled badly in the Munster final last year without him and nothing has been done since to replace him
Also what has been pointed out here last week and again this week the two lads beside him are more of a liability at the moment and not a word about it
Basically the options are to move one of the corner backs (Hayes, Flanagan or Hogan) there, but they'd struggle with a big full forward.
The other option being moving David McInerney back there. But you're robbing Peter to pay Paul a bit there.
Out of interest who do you think are the options to replace him, even if its mid game to change things up. I like Cleary but the refs are all him now and seems a marked man
Ya Baby stuff alright
I'll leave you at it, there's only one fella talking shite around here. When you've to resort to insulting lads like you're in the schoolyard there's no point in talking to you.
In all that you still can't put together a reasonable argument as to why Cleary is good enough. But I'll live in hope you can string a sentence together one day and explain the higher knowledge you seem to think you have. 👌
I agree with you about our full backline but we do leave them very exposed. I was surprised Cork didn't target Cleary in the 2nd half and run at him but the game seemed to bypass him a bit. He's a warrior though and still the best option at fullback.
Mod Edit
Warning issued.
It was poor to turn off for the Horgan free, similar to the Diarmuid Byrnes free last weekend. That was the poorest I can remember seeing this back line unit play. To concede 3-24 while your keeper makes some great saves….not ideal.
Our half backs are great under high ball but struggle when ran at, need more support from midfield.
The full back line was poor. Cleary and Hogan do tend to revert to fouling a lot, and their luck might run out. Often getting yellow cards in the first half.
Maybe we can change it up v Waterford, potentially give Conor Leen a 1st championship start.
Need to consider how the midfield and Conlon work together, Jamie Barron is an extremely dangerous player for Waterford. We need legs to track him. Barrett from Cork caused a lot of problems for us yesterday.
Personally thought all the full back line very shaky today, especially towards the end of the first half and start of second half but settled into the game after that.
As regards Hayes man in Horgan scoring two goals the first one Hogan was at fault for, poor control from him and the second half the whole team seemed to fall asleep from Horgan’s free.
So slightly harsh singling him out for them moments. But to be honest but for Cork’s poor finishing we would have been in bother at half time.
Cleary has improved a lot and has grown into the full back position. Does a lot of holding/wrestling with his man. To me he does too much of it and is lucky at times with how much he does.
So explain it to me then.
😂😂
Your the one who said its above my head, oh learned one. But yet you still can't explain what he does that makes him good enough.
Again this week?? This is the first time I've posted on here in ages. Maybe make a better attempt at perving at my profile Sherlock.
Didn't realise people were only allowed like one sport..... Or not have mates..... Or go to the pub.....
Play the ball not the man.... Unlike Cleary 😂😂😂
Touched a nerve criticising, so if your not willing to come back with an articulate response then I'll leave you to be president of his fanclub.
i picked two players that off days last week and again this week you are picking on a player that has yet to have a bad day and is captain of the team , **** back to the pub with your mates and leave the form to us ,
i am sure there will be a soccer match on soon to keep ye occupied
its beyond the pale putting up with idiots like this at this stage
hes from east clare he knows more about hurling then we ever will apparently !!
I just don't think you get it.
No I didn't say he was an accident waiting to happen, I said he's a weak link. I was simply replying to another poster that mentioned Cleary.
You'll pick up on the 2 other players that had off day's today, but have played brilliantly other days. But you've no problem with your boy constantly fouling his man and giving away needless frees, in every game.
If he was a proper defender he might try defend instead of dragging out of lads. For a lad his size you rarely see him winning ball in the air....
When his player wins the ball you can be fairly sure it'll be a foul given against him or a score.
You still haven't told me what he does that makes him good enough, and not a weak link.
And I've no idea what's meant by your last line. Are you trying to say having a player in Cleary style is better than having talented hurlers?!
Fair enough if he's outstanding at club level in those positions, still doesn't make him good enough to be an intercounty full back with a team hoping to win an all Ireland.
And maybe having a full back who's purpose is containment is a problem for us?
Hue lawlor or Dan Morrissey don't play that way.
dont take any notice of them idiots , its all selective bullshit , if they were really angry with our defending today hogan and hayes wouldn't be speared
lads that were taught how to play tippy tappy hurling at underage and dont want their neighbours from east clare disgraced at the same time
jack brown cleary and malone are the scapegoats , all west claremen , imagine one of them found themselves 40 yards away from there man with 5 minutes to go , god help us all 🙈 shower of idiots full stop
Outstanding at club level last year at mid-field and wing forward. Has more hurling that Malone or others. He's playing the containment roles with Conlon in front sweeping. It's called being a team player.
no what you did say was cleary was an accident waiting to happen , i provided you with two readymade accidents today in rory hayes and adam hogan ,how well you missed both ,
cleary did nothing wrong today while the other two were skinned , aaron connelly could have two goals got in the first half but for quilligan and the crossbar and roary hayes's man got two goals , one while his back was turned to the play
but thats fine because they are great hurlers , perfect !!!
Did I say Cian Nolan was the answer? But 1 player didn't work out so we give up looking?!
And modern day intercounty hurling is more technical and skillful than it used to be 20 years ago, in the era where Cleary might fit in. Your obviously a fan of his, genuinely can you enlighten me on what he does that makes him good enough.
yes lets praise adam hogan for not getting sent off today when on another day he could have picked up 3 or 4 yellow cards , not to talk about roary hayes and the disaster of a second half he had ,what he done for the horgan free is worse then anything that cleary ever done , duplicated posts i take it
you wont win many friends with that isreal flag around here , it may as well be a union jack , and you know what we think about them 😤
and what happened when we replaced him with a proper defender in cian nolan , , modern day intercounty hurling is gone miles over your heads
Cleary drives me mad. He might be the nicest and most honest lad in the world but he's a massive weak link for us. He has no hurling in him, he's just big and awkward and just wrestles with lads. I have no confidence in him as our fullback. Any of the other big teams have fullbacks that can actually defend and hurl. Likewise, I think we'll always struggle the win a munster or all Ireland with him there. But I'd love to be proven wrong. I feel better getting that off my chest. 😂
And as you've said the keeper behind him doesn't instill much confidence either.
daragh lohan is a huge loss , he was massive last week his workrate is up there with malones but he has great movement and adds to the attack , he is also as chippy as **** and has an arrogance about him that fears nobody
paddy was probably a 6th sub option for work rate , in fairness lohan goes for workrate first flair second
being honnest we were bare in midfield today , the really loss of kelly and ryan taylor showed for about 50 odd minutes , the cork changes helped as well , colman offered nothing and dalton was a huge loss for them going off ,
your bang on re adam hogan , we got more then the rub of the green today , roary hayes should be shot for the horgan goal ,
i know you love cleary but just wont admit it 😂
reality is we are in a transition mode while still being competitive , lohan deserves some amount of credit for it , the team we beat today has won 3 out of the last 4 all ireland under 20s and the manager is afraid to bring in too many new lads
I suppose picking Morey would have been the easier decision, so fair play to them giving young Galvin a chance.
Paddy Donnellan seems to have dropped down the pecking order, I saw he was listed among the subs.
Felt sorry for him, not a midfielder really and you could see he was a bit lost. Big ask for him but I suppose options in midfield are somewhat limited.
Yeah, I thought we struggled at midfield. Cian Galvin had a difficult day, the Morey switch was inevitable.
We do miss Ryan Taylor. And Darragh Lohan too, in fairness.
That last line is patently wrong. They play differently with Kelly and have to play differently without. Kelly scored 5 -33 last year (or something close) and wasn't of the frees. We are much much weaker without a fully fit Kelly.