There's a barcode checker on the Re-turn website where you can check if the can is part of the scheme.
ust back from SuperValu, thought I would have a look. One machine working, the other is full.
Missing a point here, the person who discarded the cans clearly hadn't any interest in recycling them for the deposit back.
The general public aren't bothered picking them up to claim the deposit back.
So what is the point of the deposit here?
2 More trips to the RVM. 10 of 12 accepted on one go. 9 of 12 accepted on second go. Area clean, no bin provided for those not accepted. Went to the other RVM in town, person with trolley with 3 large bin bags recycling with another trolley person with the same amount=out of curiosity timed the first person-6 minutes 27 seconds to completion. Just fecked off then.
So now 3.50 out of pocket- since this madness started. Not much some would say-it is to me.
Had a look at a Lidl one a couple of days ago. Won't be using that. Went to Tesco again today. Got the refund of 50 cent for two bottles. Tried a rogue bottle, but unlike some people here I got nothing. But Tesco have provided a bin which I put the bottle into. So far as a newbie I have got refunds of €1.75 spread over three occasions 100% success. Zero delay getting or spending vouchers.
Possibly you are not seeing the bigger picture.
You are extrapolating a scenario where you walked past 4 cans which you didn't want to pick up and suggesting it's somehow important.
It's not about you.
If not, then who?
What is the bigger picture? I recycle every plastic bottle, tin can and piece of cardboard in my house, into a green bin that I pay a monthly fee for.
This new system wants me to ignore that behaviour and go out of my way to retrieve a few cent, if the machines are actually switched on or aren't broken, or aren't full, where I can redeem my few cent but only in the form of a voucher to spend in a particular retailer.
The people who have no interest in recycling, continue to not recycle, and those cans I walked by earlier will never make it into a reverse vending machine to be recycled.
So the bigger picture results in people who were actively recycling being punished financially, and likely no greater amount of cans or bottles being recycled than already were.
That's a fantastic big picture.
One big trip to Newry/Derry/Enniskillen. Buy in bulk and then ignore this shite show.
continue to use the recycling bin at home as normal.
Three failed attempts to leave 15 or so items back last night. All machines full/broken. 3o mins and 12kms of driving. Screw that, into the recycling bin from now on.
Someone posted earlier, re where sugar tax, plastic bag tax and this tax goes.....nobody knows and most likely never will
Someone who wants to or someone who is paid to will eventually pick up the 4 cans.
Nobody will be forced to do so.
Good news on that front. Delayed until 2027.
https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2024/apr/25/huge-disappointment-as-uk-delays-bottle-deposit-plan-and-excludes-glass
Was in Derry on Sunday last. Its nearly half price in a lot of cases when deposit is added. As Ive already posted there are also more containers appearing in NI with the Re-Turn logo.
Good that you are presenting your recyclables.
The system isn't asking you to ignore that behaviour just to present two types of material in a different way.
When you do so the voucher can be cashed or redeemed against purchases.
Your point about machines not working properly is valid and the current problems need to be sorted asap.
To get back to your 4 cans, very likely they wouldn't be recycled prior to DRS anyway.
In any event they are not your responsibility.
Not one of your points above suggests this scheme is fit for purpose.
Not following at all. The "theory" is that we all engage and use the system.
If poster quoted does not pick it up, nor the litterer's. What is the big picture that they and I are missing?
DRS in UK delayed to August 2028 due to lack of infrastructure
Article I posted in The Guardian says 2027. Where you seeing 2028?
Yes. Stock up on bottled water, coke,beer, wine etc. When your at it, ONeils have a good retail outlet in Newry for GAA gear.
Won't be long until the retailers say bugger this nonsense. Vote with your cash
I’ve been to loads of machines, and had very few problems. Odd one that doesn’t scan, but I’ve found a work around for that. Rarely have I had both machines out of service any time I’ve gone. Went to SuperValu last week, and there were four cans and bottles sitting at the top of the rejects bin, lashed them in and they worked for me. Went to Lidl today, and wasn’t bothered queuing up to exchange my voucher for money, so just put it in the car for next time I’m shopping there.
They can study the Irish rollout for a guide on how to completely make a balls of it and alienate the consumer.
Big Home Bargains store in Derry and Newry. Amazing value.
It's not my job to big up DRS and Re-turn.
Yes Re-turn want us all to engage and use the system.
But it's not compulsory.
And you definitely don't have to clean up other people's mess.
And then we come full circle ......does re-turn really want us to engage? If we don't their profits soar. Could not make this up.
I'm done with this thread. Same recycling posting going on. (Elperello, do not mean specifically you)
Shite system, fixing a problem that most people who recycled didn't need and those do , still chuck the cans out the window of the car.
What if we had litter wardens, or more Garda or more enforcement of existing laws. Nope, more tax, that will fix it.
It's a long running thread and you have a point, we do end up repeating ourselves.
Just on the profits, there is no mechanism to pay dividends from a not for profit.
The ultimate success or failure will be measured by the percentage of sold items returned.
First off the reliability of the machines must be addressed.
"No-one is forcing you to pick up the cans". Dude, you are the king of the straw man argument.
Not at all.
It's simple, if you don't want to pick up discarded cans don't.
Your call.
What if I recycle my bottles at home but don't want to pay a 15 cent deposit?
While I wholly agree with you saying dividends cannot be distributed from a not for profit, I can see other ways gains could be shared, with similar cash value as dividend payments.
Consider a scenario where re-turn end the year with €40m surplus funds (more likely 2-3 times that). It could, for example, decide that as a result producer fees in future do not need to be as they were in 2024, i.e. they could reduce producer fees by say 1c per item and with 2bn items in scope p.a , this takes care of the €40m 'problem' over 2 years.
Should they do that (presume it requires minister approval), it would be an equivalent cash difference / money transfer as if they shared €40m in dividends to producers based on proportion of items sold.
Maybe it won't happen that way, but one thing we all want to keep an eye on is how the re-turn surplus is dealt with.
Go North young man.
You won't be alone.
I agree we should keep an eye on how this "embarrassment of riches" plays out.