Feels like the right time to start a new thread for next year's gigs.
John Mayer playing the 3Arena on 29 March 2024.
The two tracks I know are very good. Live in the Róísín last month they were full of intensity and the place was hopping. An acquired taste but a lot of fun, mixture of Fat White Family, Underworld and Madness (mainly the saxophone sounds). About to be huge. They’ll be nailing it at festivals all Summer long and by November this will be a tiny gig for them. Nice lads too, very friendly and had a couple of beers with them on the Róísín rooftop. They’d been on the lash all day and were in fine form.
Nice, good to hear. Good summary, I was thinking Pendulum mixed with someone but I wasn't sure who 😋
I grew up in South London so I'm naturally biased towards them anyway, my mum used to teach at the school by the Windmill where they honed their craft. Maybe I'll just grab a ticket now to be safe
Singular Artists too, so no TM fees, always an added incentive
Yeah they were great as part of SFASH. Wasn't expecting them back so soon but know they've a new album due out.
looking at their tour date schedule, last gig currently, is November 24th in Vicar Street, they could easily play at Other Voices Dingle this year, and some other stop offs around the country in late November, and maybe even a pop up gig in “Levis” in Ballydehob, where they recorded some of that new album
Yep, I’d go. This may get upgraded to a bigger venue. Even if not your thing (wasn’t quite mine) you won’t be bored.
Lisa Hannigan, Talos, Gemma Doherty, O Deer, Roisin El Cherif etc playing Connollys of Leap on Sunday 19th May for a Palestine fundraiser. Should be a could gig for anyone in West Cork.
Bit of advance notice for Ska fans!
Bad Manners have pencilled in an Irish tour from 21st to 24th November. Dates and venues will be confirmed in July.
Didn’t Bad Manners play the Stardust club a couple of weeks before the Valentines Night massacre?
The Specials and The Beat did. Lots of fights. Blood all over the walls according to the 2 Tone book released last year.
Here's a piece about it: https://www.totallydublin.ie/more/brand-new-retro-the-specials-the-beat-stardust-ballroom-artane-jan-1981/
That’s an insane sounding gig, and a brilliant report. Of all bands why would knuckleheads ever go to see The Specials?
Health, Opium, Friday 18th October: https://mcd.ie/artists/health
Los Bitchos, Button Factory, Sunday 20th October: https://singularartists.ie/show/los-bitchos-2024/
Funnily enough I was watching a documentary* last night "Before We Was We: Madness by Madness" and they touched on it during the 1979 Two Tone Tour (Specials, Selector, Madness). There was a crackdown in the UK on football violence and the knucklehead element drifted over to the Ska scene. Nazi salutes and National Front jumping around to Jamaican Ska and fighting each other - how stupid can you get.
*It will be on YouTube from May 1st - was decent
Shameless Plug - mate of mine is playing with these guys
Veteran Dublin metalers CELTIC LEGACY will hit the Sound House with their first full show in their home town since 2008. The band promise to play classics from their back catalogue with perhaps a new song or two thrown in for good measure. This is no-frills raw metal at its best. Support on the night comes from the excellent Belfast symphonic metal band, RAVENLIGHT.
I knew Madness got the knuckleheads, the band were all white and initially less political. But the Specials????? A particular kind of stupid not to get that.
Is Vampire Weekend in Nov sold out? No tickets showing on Ticketmaster
Just went and had a look, plenty there
Sorry, yeah, weird. Was searching on a desktop and nothing, but just tried on phone and loads.
Ezra Collective, Olympia, Monday 11th November: https://mcd.ie/artists/ezra-collective
Tickets starting from a very reasonable €24.50 before fees.
This could be a little special...
Class! Know Bonnie Prince Billy is playing NCH and Whelans too in August. Wonder will more artists play big and smaller venues
Having Fontaines DC top of my Spotify playlist for the last couple of years has paid off with an invitation to their presale. Couple of standing tickets in the bag. 👍
Still available on all the different presales by the looks of it. Second nights added in the UK....imagine another dublin date to be added. Shouldn't be an issue for tickets closer to it. Fair play to the promoters on keeping the price reasonable as well.
€46.50 plus fees for Iron and Wine. Feels a little spicy for Whelan's, but I guess it's fair enough
was David gray closer to €60?
May well have been
And I appreciate I'm completely illogical about it. Iron and Wine is probably that much for Vicar St, and I wasn't going to go. But being in Whelan's tempts me much more, that feels special. So it's more appealing to me, yet I expect it to be cheaper, I know I'm being stupid 😋
Think it's good value to see an artist who doesn't usually play in such smaller venues. Vicar St when packed isn't always the best to get a good view of the stage
3 arena closing in 2025 for a few months for repairs, bunch of planned shows have been cancelled as a result. Hence why some arena tours will be skipping ireland next year.
do you know approx what period, it is closing for ?
Q1 2025. Kid cudi who was announced for mid March has cancelled already but not due to this.
I know there's been plenty of us wondering how bands can be making anything from small gigs.