Good clothes being robbed off the washing line!
Didnt the UK power grid ramp up supply for the tea break in coronation street back in the 80s?
A big one for me: Having to be extremely careful that you don't go overboard with your mobile data, especially back in Germany. I still remember how paranoid I was to not go above the 300MB limit, because I'd end up paying and arm and a leg, as well as an assortment of firstborns, for the privilege.
Having to be quick at the ad break of your favourite tv programme to make the tea or go to the toilet or run up to get your pyjamas on - if you missed it coming back then you missed it forever, that's it.
I remember finding a porn mag in a hedge around age 11. I can still remember the excitement. There was a half pack of Major with it aswell. Me and the boys smoked the Major, we reckoned we were then smokers so asked the local pork butcher for some wrap paper and instead rolled that into the shape of the Major and smoking that instead.
As recently as the naughties, you couldn't use a landline and the Internet at the same time!
Polio kids with mangled legs
I was indeed there, they happened, regularly but they don’t happen hardly anymore….. :) things that don’t happen now !
Using modems before broadband the internet was mainly blogs gifs news even downloading mp3s took a long time using Napster a pc cost 1000 pounds .you used maybe a large 15 ,inch crt monitor before flat screen tv existed .
Taping films or music videos off MTV or top of the pops on big VHS tapes A bloke would go around the estate with a van renting illegal films on VHS
A local video library might have only a 100 videos to rent before extravision was invented
Extravision would rent out console games cartridges for a few pounds
Most tv had maybe 30 channels which had to be tuned in
People would put large aerials on the roof in order to pick up the UHF signal to watch BBC it free .
Before the internet you could go to certain video shops and rent xxx porn films on VHS there would be a book with a list of porn movies to rent
You could not even buy playboy magazine in the shops
I knew a friend he fixed old crt type televisions for cash in his flat
If a tv breaks down now people would bring it back to the shop or else just buy a new TV .
Loading games off audio tapes it was a tedious process
There was a wide range of magazines in the shops about films music computer games eg Xbox or PC gamer
If you wanted to listen to pop music the choice was BBC radio or Luxembourg on medium wave or local pirate radio stations before 2fm q102 etc were setup
Pirate radio stations were very popular but they would be raided and the transmitter would be taken away in a van by the dept of post telegraphs
If you put up a satellite dish you could watch 100 s of tv channels free or get a sky dish and pay the subscription fee
German army parka jackets when I was,in secondary school, hundreds had them
Your parents reading the small ads in the paper, to book some accommodation for the summer holiday in the West, using the pay phone in the filling station.
1980's Buildings covered with exhaust fumes Skinheads Solvent abuse Violence Rampant joyriding Itchy jumpers and hand me down multiple times clothes The smog Watch towers on the border with NI (and young soldiers with rifles trained on the family car at checkpoints) Runners that cut your feet - and applying a whitener to cover the cracks Accident Black Spots - the roads were treacherous in places The whole Yellow Pack concept Parts of inner city Dublin looking like they had been flattened by aerial bombardment Ambitions of many in school - "Go on the dole" or "Get out of this shíthole"
The 1990's were pure bliss in comparison
If you lived in a small regional town that was on the main Dublin road you had terrible traffic especially on Friday evenings. Now our major cities are all connected by motorways.
Shopping is another one. Lots of small towns had local shops and maybe an independent style supermarket. You might occasional travel to Dunnes/etc. Now most of these towns have Lidl/Aldi and a Dunnes/Tesco or both or even more.
Queing up the night before in the pissing rain for a big gig at HMV. Never did it myself but know a few that did.
I bet the hanger lasted longer than the allegro 🤪
Having to get up off yer arse and change over the record to side 2
Oh wait records are back again 🤪
Giving a blank VHS to the neighbours to record Wrestlemania
having a stash of recordable vhs ready to go to stick into the vhs to record. Then who recorded over this or watching over a recording and someone would change the channel
abc's on your legs from standing in front of the fire after having a bath.
Nearly sure we had one for the ariel on the car!
🤣🤣🤣
You wanted Terminator 2 and got Uncle Buck instead.
back then Blue Ray was the lad down the road renting them out.
go carts a thing of the past. A plank of wood wheels of an old pram, lots of nails and hammerings… **** me kids get nowadays get a berg. worked in super quinn as a kid and one my jobs was to retrieve trollies from estates / rivers etc
My hole there's not! This is my car after driving on the M6 on Saturday. Windscreen looked like an insect horror movie. Had to get special stuff in the autofactors to get it off.
First video player we had was rented from RTV Rentals in Mary Street. The remote control was a bit of a misnomer. It had a lead which ran from the recorder to the armchair but at least you didn’t have to get off your ass
I remember how difficult it was to rent a new release. They were either already rented or the person who had the previous night hadn’t returned it yet. You’d end up renting some complete crap as an alternative. And it would cost you a fiver! About half the price of a month’s subscription to Netflix.
Discarded Quinnsworth and Crazy Prices shopping trolleys in my estate. We used to make go carts out of them. The older lads would ram them into the lamp posts to knock the lights out.
I remember food being really expensive, peppered steak was just bad meat disguised.
We used to regularly have offal, a cooked chicken was a treat.
My grandmother used to kill and pluck it herself if she wanted chicken.
I bought a second hand telly when I started work (1990), which had a remote and Teletext. The funny thing was it had a mechanical on / off button which you had to turn on at the telly but you could power off with the remote, however been second hand it was lose and used to fire the switch cover across the room. Caused no end of amusement.
VCRs a fiddly pain alright but think of the alternative... you miss a TV episode and need to find someone who saw it to bring you up to speed!
One reason TV shows with continuing plots had detailed recaps at start of episode.
The guy I remember driving his car around Bundoran in the late 70s with a Guinness label as a tax disc, I don't think he was ever pulled by the Guards.