Good clothes being robbed off the washing line!
Brings me back. And not in a good way.
I remember back in the 80s I was hours waiting for a taxi and got home at about 4 in the morning. Realised I’d forgotten my keys. No answer to the doorbell. Figured I’d have to phone home to generate a response.
Went to the nearest public phone 10 mins away and of course it didn’t work. Next nearest phone was about 2km away. It allowed me dial and my mother answered but the 10 pence wouldn’t drop and so she couldn’t hear me.
I had to sprint the 2km home before she fell back to sleep.
Great night out!!
Cars with different colour doors or wing panels (not by design)
The car lock that went under the pedals and hooked the steering wheel. Then the chains that went around the steering wheel.
The removal of the car "stereo" everytime you left the car.
somethings yes… other things I’d love 5 minutes to experience it again.
cleaning the heads on a vcr… literally everytime you did it was please work… please. video van in the estate. All the oul lads looking for scooby do’s
A family bus ticket - you scratched it like a lottery card. Worked on all transport modes, well bus and dart.
I remember using a metal clothes hanger for the aerial on a tv 😂... I can't remember how it worked..sometimes you could only get a crap signal after spending ages trying to prop it up...if you were able to prop it up in that position and then it would fall down lol
I'd forgotten about a clothes hanger ariel on a car. I also remember my Old Lad winning a car radio in a prize (cars were not usually fitted with radios in '70's. He stuck it in the glove compartment (I think) and wired it up. Wouldn't work as his car was so old it had a Positive Earth, radio was Negative Earth. Probably an Austin Cambridge from the mid 60's.
My neighbour’s Austin Allegro with a clothes hanger wrapped in tinfoil as a makeshift radio receiver. The the sheer amount of smoking everywhere, no wonder I used to suffer terribly with travel sickness when I was a kid. Oh, the white dogsh!t was mainly because of the amount of bonemeal that was used in cheap dog food back then.
remember how much better nostalgia was in the past?
yeah the driving part isnt true, the rest is to be honest but very few will actually drive while under influence
Death by Pothole.
The brothers in the CBS had a thick leather strap in the shape of a penis. Very painful on the hands. Sick fcukers always preyed on the weak and vulnerable the most - the ones who's parents wouldn't dare complain for fear of the church.
I remember the public bins would be stuffed with cans of soft drinks in summer which made them a haven for sugar crazed wasps. There would be about 10 wasps in each can of coke, fresca, tab, fanta and lilt (totally tropical taste) which meant the whole bin was a death trap. Danger here….if you distubed the bin, a swarm of angry wasps would attack you.
Telephone coinboxes out of order …coins stuck in slot … gobbling up your money and button B not working.
So much of this thread just reaffirms how little there was to be nostalgic about.
Banging the side of the TV to make the picture better
sticking a match in the TV button to hold it in
calling to your friends house not knowing if they are there or not
Ah here, we could at this all year!
VHS blue movie rentals
No children being canned, slippered, beaten and assaulted by evil perverted teachers!
I guess some disciplinarian types will be along shortly to justify child abuse saying it did them no harm back in the day.
or forgetting to break the tabs once you recorded something from the radio and then inadvertently taping over it yourself
100% - jayzuz when you look back now - it was just one step away from sticking your nose into the exhaust pipe
Needing a passport, travel documents at airport security, getting on a flight, at immigration, customs. Etc. Don't need these any more. They are like car parking ticket stubs. 🤣🤣🤣
Some arsehole putting tape over the tab on your new cassette album so they could tape over it.
The other thing was each button had to be manually turned to tune in each station to begin with, and if you didn't have enough buttons you'd have to tune one station out and the one you wanted to watch in.
Then when you eventually got a VCR to watch a video you'd have to tune that in aswell, which could be anywhere on the frequency.
This!!!
Made worse by hanging around in the freezing cold outside the Spar in Baggot Street for half an hour at closing time watching arrogant bastards chugging coffee and pulling their Ross 'n Rachel "WE ARE ON A BREAK!!" BS.
Court Summons for speeding offences. None of your "Feck it, I'll take the penalty points. Now leave me alone!" emails back then.
Angel Delight lives!!
And ROCKS!!!!!
https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/313177801
Smoke and burning fumes coming up through the back seats in Dublin bus. Total health hazard but we'd just sit there, though sometimes the seats got a little too hot!
Tapping the public phone
Well, there is that 😁
Mullets are back.
Ian Paisley SNR.
No shinnerbot I took great delight when I saw tv coverage of his trashed apartment complete with smashed television on BBC newsline