God today's politics one was one of the worst. I usually like them. 5min chat about the shape of trump and if he is on diet meds. Jasus
Also can't stand that amount of vocal fry
also the Villa penalty shoot out was worth covering. They could easily done a quick 15 minutes on it, just record from home.
or they could have spent time with family and loved ones or relaxing or learning new hobbies instead of working. The lads don’t work too hard, never have, we don’t pay much to listen to them. That’s the informal deal.
I tapped out after 10 minutes of their discussion
Of course the accurate feedback was met with smart Alec responses from Murph and particularly Ken.
Those lads need to rein in the egos in my opinion.
Patreons can go just as quickly as they arrived.
well the phone it in Fridays have been going on for a couple of years so I don’t know about Patreons leaving in their droves unless it’s a massive delayed reaction
They do produce two on Mondays...
And, usually, on bank holidays.
I think a half hour on Friday covering the previous nights drama would leave plenty of time for family etc. This is the business end of the season, the sporting narratives are reaching a crescendo, they should be covered. That being said I thoroughly enjoyed today’s podcast.
would leave you running late if you’re heading to Galway
I think if you insist on a Friday podcast that’s done that day every week they’ll be putting the prices up.
I remember on Newstalk, the Friday show was the newsround followed by 20 minutes talking about hurling/premier league/whatever big sports stories there were and the next two hours were repeats of that weeks output, they've always taken it handy on a Friday, I'd do the same if it was up to me.
I think a quick zoom call would hardly destroy travel plans, it’s a podcast not the late late show
ok, you’re not going to get a better service for the same money
Way, way back they had US Murph & Parker & Lovejoy previewing the weekend's football on Fridays. I used to love the Friday show.
Then there was that weird phase when it was called Off The Ball Extra and was hosted by Oisin Langan.
Don't care about them pre-recording the Friday pods really, but would prefer if they were a bit more craic. Have little desire to listen to a politics pod on a Friday
yeah i agree it’s great value for the price
"Without a doubt the worst pod you've ever done. And I include all the rugby ones in that." the other day made me laugh a lot.
It’s gratifying to me that Ken is the same type of weirdo who listens to the likes of Chapo Trap House and True Anon.
My playlist is Second Captains followed by Chapo 90% of the time, as God intended. And to the guy who thinks a podcast about politics with Brace and Liz is going to be dry, well you couldn’t be farther from the truth.
Up until 2008 they had a normal show on a Friday, I think they had a quiz with a caller taking on Murph in the last few months of it.
I really don't mind the Friday pods being mostly phoned in. They're a small team and there's only so much opinions, takes, banter and comments that one person should really have in life. Turning out two full shows and 30 minute intros for up to two other shows is an insane amount of content created and presented for one man. Ken is wonderful but quantity does not equal quality. Football can sit for a few days.
You have to count up their working week rather than their output. Watching games and digging around is their job. They have to balance family etc around these things that generally happen during social hours. They have articles to write and some other work. Not working Friday because there's generally no football on is grand with me.
Yeah, still thought it was funny when they read the "phone it in Friday" email out though
I have to say that this week's politics pod was the first in a while that I actually enjoyed.
Still wish they'd do a proper Irish politics/current affairs pod from time to time, but can't see that happening...
they did an interview with the author who wrote a book about the inner workings of SF. That’s actual field journalism.
the politics pod yesterday was a load of surface bollocks with little depth.
I enjoyed it
They should put them in touch with Jamie Wall for elocution lessons.
TrueAnon makes more money than Second Captains do, I think they’ll be fine without vocal education from Boards.ie
That’s fine.
The guy said Joe Biden calls Joe Scarborough on a daily basis according to an “article”. I’d like to know where that article appeared as it’s not there on google. There are articles that Biden has an obsession with the show Scarborough is on and they speak occasionally but I can’t see anything about daily calls.
The lady said the arms issue in Ukraine could show American how to treat Israel because it would strike Israel hard on the battle field. There is nothing to be taken about the arms situation in ukraine and to be applied to the war in Israel. They are very very very different wars. One is a recently waged war of attrition between two evenly matched sides. One is a war that ended as a contest in the 1970s but they continue because defeat is too unpalatable as an option so it’s just a joke war now, a target practice war flirting with extermination.
I just said I enjoyed it.
If yesterday's pod triggered you maybe you should lay off the SC politics podcasts. There was very little in it.
Nope, you aren't allowed enjoy it! Take it back. Ha.
I thought it was grand. Didn’t make me want to listen to the other podcast though - the guests’ contributions seemed to be fairly banal commentary with added snark
I liked your man getting thick with Ken for talking about their ages and then mentioning Michael D, before being told he has no power.