yeah i found it last night. I think you need to click scheme expressions of interest. Was a dose to find
cheers for that
unfortunately you can’t take them in until u have your herd number.
just wondering how much do mobile dippers charge to dip around 60 sheep in carlow area
Think it's about 150 minimum charge
OH was at a meeting of 11 sheep farmers tonight, among the group there was six rams lost with texel throat since the 1st january.
That's the sort of texel breeders we have now, how do you hope to win.
Lamb group has supplied 40% less lambs in 2023 than 2020.
40% is a far bit .. whats the reason for such a high figure ??
https://www.donedeal.ie/sheep-for-sale/the-sheep-shower/9672389
Rough guide price but this is for a shower
A lot of farms gone dairying,or leased to dairy farms.
Then natural wastage as in there's advancing age with no successor, Sheep is a young mans game.
Very difficult to get lorries too as we don't always have full loads
Even our group organiser has reduced from 600 to 160 as his son would rather tillage,
Did anyone manage to sign up to new Sheep Welfare scheme?
I keep getting this error when I hit Submit
Out of interest have you as a group ever discussed what they plan to do at retirement?. Not sure if theres any scope for share farming in sheep farming as margins are tight but its something id have an interest in exploring with someone local to me if the opportunity ever arose.
I just did mine now Dinzee after seeing your post and it submitted fine.
mine submitted ok yesterday . Is it showing a number against your 2023 census figure.
Thanks lads - I tried there again, and it worked fine. Not sure what the issue earlier was about.
As a matter of interest - what options did ye pick?
I went with Body condition & clostridial vaccine. Could have gone for shearing, but not sure if receipts would be an issue (I threw the last few years wool onto the dung heap there end of last year)
HaHappened to Me yesterday tried today and worked fine
No, retirement was never discussed,
I reckon sheep as an enterprise is no longer viable. At a net margin of €40/ewe You'd need 1000 ewes to get a mediocre income and you'd have very little to invest in infrastructure. At 1000 ewes it is not a one man flock and you'd be going in ever decreasing circles to employ a second so it's just not viable for partnerships.
I see what what you're referring to as I look around my own place with perfect facilities for 400 ewes that won't be used if the farmer that's using them at the moment doesn't want them
We signed up today anyway, no problem
went with shearing and clostridial. However on reviewing it I should have just went with body condition as I’m sure the shearer will be giving out about having to give a receipt. Was usually a cash job. wonder could u say u sheared them yourself
Went with shearing and clostridial. Shear them myself so it's a handy few pound. I'll get a receipt for comb and cutter sharpening and wool receipt and that should do them.
With, all the talk about sheep scab surprising that dipping wasn't made compulsory . The fact that it has to be completed by mid October is a major disadvantage for hill sheep farmers.Sheep are normally brought off the hills, to wean, the lambs in mid September which is very early to dip as scab is mainly a winter problem, which is why winter dip is used.Next time they are gathered mid November for breeding. Hill sheep were always dipped at this time
Can give a copy of your wool check paperwork
aye that should work
Has clostridial to be done by October? We never do ours until December and don't do the lambs.
Same here went with Shearing and Clostridial but the body condition scoring would probably have been handier than getting shearing receipts.
Don't think we can change it now though.
I went with Clostridial Vaccination and Shearing. Like others, in hindsight I should probably have picked Body condition scoring instead of shearing.
If you shear yourself and use the wool on farm. As manure, bedding, weed cover etc.. Would a picture/video of the Sheep shorn be evidence enough
Scheme started on Jan 1st so if you say that you did them after jan 1st it should cover you,
went to sign up today and went to expression of interest and showed up nothing about sheep scheme will try tomorrow
just applied for scheme was under a different heading
still no sign of booklet to fill out actions