Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I listened back there - I think you're referring to Mandy Johnston (former Govt press sec) She'd be well clued in and with great sources

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22381739/

Yep, imo what needs to happen is - FG, GP, SocDems and Labour need to be obliterated in the locals. It should be complete and utter carnage, basically telling them to shove their woke lib policies,…sideways! - That might light a little fire under their collective hoops. This would result in them finally getting their finger out, albeit too late

No FG, GP, or SocDem should get to be a MEP on €107k pa + massive expenses (much of which is unvouched)

Irish MEPs each claimed €600,000 in expenses during their terms in Brussels.

The top claimant over the past five years has been Fine Gael MEP and European Parliament vice-president, Mairead McGuinness, who received €709,625 in allowances and reimbursements.

jazz club2.jpg

May 2019 report and I'd have a guess that the current crew have done quite nicely too including the winner of a lovely bottom competition and if FG get their way again, they'll be sending a retired jockey - who better to represent us in Europe eh?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/arid-30925114.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,992 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Wow, that is obsene money for expenses. Madness. No wonder they love being MEPs.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Many end up having a second home over there . Staff for their homes and offices at home and abroad .Its hard going for them really .

Remember Padraig Flynn explaining it all on the LLS ?

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2018/1219/1018097-front-running-politician-pee-flynn/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,766 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Remember tonight on VMTV 1 at 9pm to 10pm a show called "is Ireland full?".

After the Paul Connolly phone thing I wouldn't believe a word they report. He might even be evolved in the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

i suppose the lose of a hotel is a big turning point though, they bring in tourists who bring in extra revenue for the other shops and small businesses around the centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

But I don't understand why you're pretending to be bemused by what point I was making when your very response here spells out my point in literal terms. The interest is piqued by asylum seekers on a forum where, as you say, people are posting out of an interest in (I would possibly say, sometimes, a preoccupation with) asylum seekers.

My point is that people on this forum tend to elevate or push forward asylum seekers as the cause of problems when in reality the things they are blamed for often have more principal and longstanding causes that dwarf any causal link between asylum seekers.

So, the decline of Drogheda — despite the many longstanding issues of that town (not least the fact it was once a major stopover on the road to Dublin and now its just somewhere you zoom past on the M1) — people only become interested in it when they start finding some form of link (however watery that link is) between said decline and migrants/asylum seekers/refugees.

Take a problem, any problem, add asylum seekers to the frame in any shape or form — and suddenly a new group of people become interested in that problem because there's an angle for blaming the impact of asylum seekers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

https://www.thejournal.ie/man-from-eritrea-landed-dublin-airport-no-passport-jailed-6349719-Apr2024/?utm_source=twitter_short

This makes no sense. What is the cost of keeping a man in jail here? Just send him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What happens after?

Does he get an opportunity to request asylum or get some sent back to Eritrea ?

"gardaí learned he had also applied for asylum in Finland" This just makes my blood boil, we're such as soft touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

There is more chance of me walking the runway with Victoria's Secret than this chancer NOT having citizenship before the 2020s are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭rgossip30

So should we take in more because it has been said we only take in a tiny number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 McDougal2

All credit to Gay Byrne that night. He boated that bass like the professional he was. Ol' Flynn that night thought he was bragging with his mates down in the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Well, no, the priority as regards asylum seeking should be that it is a process reserved for people fleeing genuine circumstances of violence or persecution etc. It should not be a back door or fast track for regular economic migration, which is what a lot of applicants are using it for. That said however, the overwhelming majority of foreign nationals residing in Ireland do not come in via the asylum route, with the exception of Ukrainians where there was a clear and unprecedented event that unfolded that led to a massive surge on that end. With that in mind, considering the Ukraine crisis only started 2 years ago, it seems pretty opportunistic to start heaping the blame for the decline of certain towns / areas on the presence of asylum seekers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'm hearing anecdotally that we are being used as a stepping stone by refugees looking to get into the UK, hence the new laws that are being brought in… Anybody know if there's any truth to this?

I thought it was the other way round - they're getting into the UK as we have far more generous of a welfare system, and the UK are cottoning on to their nonsense and sending them to Rwanda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,894 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

We pay more in welfare in terms of net amount cash but the UK will pay the rent, bills, NHS, etc etc also many of them have family across the pond

That Rwanda deal is being stalled by the courts isn't it? For the last number of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Virgin media or RTE are not fair and balanced media outlets, they peddle whatever agenda they are instructed to peddle by their superiors. No different than CNN or Fox News. I won't be watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

For goodness sake, prison should be for actual criminals not chancers like this eejit. Send him back on the plane he arrived on, let the airline deal with the headache instead of our taxpayers. What happens after two months he's free to walk the streets here and claim asylum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,980 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I remember the EU being described in that classic UK political/satirical sitcom "The New Statesman" (starring the late Rik Mayall) as a "Gravy Boat" - Like a gravy train, only bigger and slower, and you can help yourself as often as you like!

Comedy/Art imitating life clearly and this was back in the early 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Exactly, don't send them to jail, straight from the Court to the Airport and off back to where they come from and then blacklisted from entering the country for a number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Kllarney looks to be full anyway ,what ever way you look at it Rodi .1 GP for 7500

Here we go “fleeing war, torture and persecution” and “one of the richest countries” in one sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

160,000 empty state building, sorry but I'm not buying that.

This is more of a hatchet job than I thought.

“Sam” is very very well briefed isn’t he ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,766 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Tbh this program on VMTV 1 call "is Ireland full" is showing more of the real story than I have seen on any Irish media which basically means RTE or VMTV.

Yer man from the Refugee Council is talking utter poo there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dublingreen

Program has been balanced, delusional leftists will be uncomfortable with a lot of the arguments made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Agreed, lots of points discussed calmly and covering things like GP access etc.

I do still think they let a lot of emotional nonsense from the Irish Refugee Council and that blonde who reckoned there was 160,000 empty properties!!) and “Sam” is very very questionable if you Google him …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

It was a decent programme in fairness - Many politicians squirming their brains out tonight

Henderson is one bullsh!tter - I don't think he said anything that was actually true

Makes RTE's shows on this look absolutely pathetic (which we all new anyway)