Dragged kicking and screaming from her car by Garda in shankill this morning, I hope that she is getting a cavity search right now
I don't. Good knows what they'll find.
about time if it’s true.
According to reports, they’ve lifted her this morning & she’s due in the High Court this morning.
Yes but its not that easy to get into a skull. Might have to bring her down to the Mater for that.
Pandora's Box that I'd say …!!!
Any hand that goes into that abyss will pop out of Simon Harris mouth with a speech about how lovely Leo was and we are now within a chance of fixing the country.
The Circle of Shite
I just want to point out to all the "There's no free speech in Ireland!" types before they get in here claiming she's being silenced or some crap.
Read the article for why she's up in court.
Gemma has consistently been promoting Neo-Nazi ideas, Holocaust denial and other extreme views on any platform that would have it and not once was she lifted for any of this.
……
Huh
but are any of those ideas of hers illegal? i don't support her or her views, just interested to understand what laws shes alleged to have broken. And no, haven't read the article as its behind a paywall.
She's failed to appear in court repeatedly, a bench warrant was issued a few weeks back,
O’Doherty is alleged to have used the image and details of a young man called Diego Gilsenan, who died by suicide, in articles in her publications that incorrectly linked his death to Covid 19 vaccination.
Gilsenan's mother, Edel Campbell, secured a High Court order compelling O’Doherty to cease to use his image, along with orders not to harass or intimidate her, or disclose any confidential information about Ms Campbell and her family.
It is alleged that O’Doherty has not complied with that order, and has refused to come before the Hight Court to face charges of being in contempt of court.
Her arrest today was the latest (and only successful) attempt to bring her before the High Court - the Gardaí claiming that numerous previous attempts were not successful.
I can't believe she's 55 she looks 70. I suppose being a poison witch ages ya.
Aw jasas OP thanks very much , you've just made my day a bit better !!!
With any luck she'll be remanded and sent for psychiatric evaluation.
Great to see
Throw her in the same hole as Enoch!
best bit of news ive heard in a while! horrible,horrible person
Whereas you seem like a nice level-headed poster…
Any idea what she was being called to court for? Not a fan of hers, just trying to get a wider picture
Failed to appear on a contempt charge.
Explained upthread by Gregor
I'll order some popcorn for Friday, I don't see her turning up to begin with
Wow…
ahhh did I upset a gem gem fan?
Arrested because she didn't show up to court. Judge now releases her and trusts that she will show up to court on Friday… Something inside the system is broken
I have no idea who she is, but when I typed her name into searchbar 1st hit says multi award winning journalist. I'm just going by your language.
Gemma O’Doherty denies harassing woman after being arrested and brought before High Court.
There's an interesting legal situation in the background of this case. O’Doherty claims that Campbell has been illegally raising money from 3rd parties to fund her legal actions against O’Doherty - and indeed there is a GoFundMe campaign in place: https://www.gofundme.com/f/landmark-legal-case-against-gemma-odoherty
O’Doherty claims that the she has reported this to the Gardaí, and they have opened an investigation. But Campbell's lawyers said today that they weren't aware of any such investigation.
The legislation that O’Doherty is basing her claim on is the Maintenance and Embracery Act 1540, which is an English law that was incorporated into Irish law via the Maintenance and Embracery Act, 1634 (https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1634/act/15/enacted/en/html). Despite being almost 500 years old, the law was deemed to be valid in a 2016 High Court ruling that prevented a company called Persona from bringing action against Esat Digifone regarding their being awarded telecoms contracts (one of the subjects of the Moriarty Tribunal) - on the grounds that the legal action was to be funded by a UK company called Harbour Litigation Funding in return for part of any damages awarded.
The act of funding someone else's litigation in return for a share of the damages of that litigation is called "champerty", and is prohibited by the 1540 and 1634 acts.
However, there's no indication that the people donating to Campbell's fundraising (which was not actually managed by Campbell herself) will receive any portion of any damages - so it's not clear that "champerty" is in fact occurring.
But it's interesting that a "patriot" like O’Doherty is using a 500 year old English law to try to stop a grieving mother from having her son's name used in conspiracy nonsense.
It should be noted that the 1540 act was repealed in England and Wales in 1967 - so it's not even law in the country it was intended for any more.
If you truly have never heard of her I envy you.
Shes wealthy, and can pursue any cause she chooses... Lives in France most of the time. I think her father owned a few pharmacies.