In a similar vein, there's a Dutchman renovating an Italian mountain farm that's the most amazing slow TV viewing.
5.4 million views and counting.
Daniel aka Mossy Bottom was doing fantastic restoration work on a cottage in Sligo but he’s since moved to Finland. He’s doing another project house there too.
I watched a few episodes now. Fair play to them and not afraid of a bit of hard graft. There is a lot of work to be done though but they seem keen and up for the challenge.
I've a strange thing about buying an old School/Garda Station and doing it up. Not the most interesting one I've seen.
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-kilmurray-national-school-lissalway-castleplunkett-castlerea-co-roscommon/5643212?fbclid=IwAR23zmXxRq_du_d3m4wi1Sey7S8cRaaLOvC3eekQvc82WIqhx74v0dROHAo
I'd find it difficult to work up any enthusiasm for that, there are more interesting and appealing examples around.
Totally agree. I don't see many of them tough. I prefer the more old school house type building.
Admittedly not to everyone's taste, but a Arts and Crafts style period house that is certainly pretty unique these days.
https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/30-zion-road-rathgar-dublin-6/4784254
Tells me that link is unsafe for what ever reason…
edit: I got brave and decided to click it and link doesn't work.
It's a nice size house not sure I'd pay 1.6m for it.
Every room needs updating especially the kitchen, so you probably won't see much change out of 2m .
Definitely wouldn't be first choice.
I love the downstairs apart from the kitchen and hideous conservatory, upstairs needs serious updating.
I'm getting Masonic Lodge vibes off it.
I always wonder how the new build two doors up from this house happened? Was it a demolition job on an old house? It looks so out of place on the street.
The kitchen is dreadful. Tiny hob squashed in one corner and then a range squashed into another makes no sense. Electrical wiring running over the ceiling.
The kitchen doesn't even have a window that opens to the outside - the windows open into the conservatory.
For €1.6 mil, I'd expect a stunning kitchen.
A house like this would be wasted on me, all those "original feature" ceilings are horrible, and the exposed plumbing everywhere would do my head in.
The nicest thing about the property is the garden, which is beautiful.
That house is so well preserved. I love the very unusual Art Deco knewel posts, the brass plates on the doors, the panelling in the sitting room, the AGA (which looks to be original to the house, certainly 30s or 40s vintage). So much history in the house and some intriguing clues: the Deo Regi Vicino carving over the fireplace (For God, for King, for Neighbour) in picture 9, the steamer trunk in picture 24, the long case clock in picture 10 and opposite it what looks like an unusual writing bureau with display case over, and most intriguing, the map of Kenya in picture 23.
I love the garden, and the 1980s conservatory, while crude to modern tastes, would be very functional. The kitchen looks as though it last received a makeover in the early 80s and so is well due another hopefully sensitive one.
Of course some features are very much of their time, like the sinks in all the bedrooms. Interestingly no fireplaces visible in the bedrooms though suggesting that the central heating system was there from the outset.
All in all I like it and would love the project. Far preferable to the tasteless monstrosity with it's plastic grass second next door.
I live not a million miles away from that and there’s loads of old school houses for sale round here. Most would need massive amounts of work done to make them habitable. While that one's a bit boring, it at least seems to be weather-tight. There’s one near Strokestown that was derelict and has been refurbished and now they rent it out as a holiday home. Seems quite popular, there’s often cars parked outside.
Have seen every episode of Martijn Doolaard's renovation in the Italian Alps since he started the project three years ago. It's more like meditation than the hectic world of Grand Designs, The Great House Revival etc. The pace at which he progresses would drive most house renovators nuts. I'll never forget sitting through about 5 episodes where he made a wooden chute for one side of the first cabin. I still find him fascinating and wouldn't miss an episode on any account. Also really enjoyed his bicycle journey from Vancouver to Patagonia.
I think it has a lot to offer with some imagination. Looks like it's 1960s vintage and so it doesn't have the charm of the older cut-stone buildings, but the long windows and the high rooms are wonderful. Demolish the entire flat roof section to the rear, use the main building as the kitchen and living area with two bedrooms and construct a new rear section with modern facilities and whatever else is required and it could be pretty amazing. Just unfortunate that it's in Roscommon.
Drove past this the other day and thought it looks interesting. It would take an absolute fortune to get it to a liveable standard, but it has the potential to be gorgeous.
That's a nice house apart from the two modern sheds that you do not own that are so close to your property if you bought it.
Totally put me off if I bought it.
That is actually really lovely, I love those big wooden double doors
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-chesnut-lodge-garristown-co-dublin/5646589
Good bonus feature:
”There was no mention on the website of the escape chute from the house to the shed where a motorbike had been parked.”
Bad bonus feature would probably be some lads calling at some point to dig something that they buried on the property somewhere.
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/inside-kinahan-cartel-man-ross-brownings-country-pile-put-up-for-sale-by-cab/a273100021.html
My sister in law purchased a very similar house with the same sorts of sheds, etc about 5-6 years ago for €450k.It ended up costing so much as she ended up in a bidding war. She spent close to €500k doing a full very high spec renovation. There's no end to the amount of money you can spend on a project like this, although there's a small income associated with the rental of the associated land.
Christ if you got that for €550,000 it would be some deal!
https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/quay-cottage-polrevagh-doonloughan-ballyconneely-clifden-co-galway/4784428?
Amazing location, average house but outrageous price imo
Agreed. Fab location. Mad money. Would be bleak in winter.
"Commercial warehouse"! 😂
the sheds and rear house don’t look to have planning as far as I can see.
I would love to be in that Clifton house on a hot summers day and swim in the water but not sure I'd like to live there throughout the year. And then the mad price. I feel it is well overpriced and even if I was a millionaire I wouldn't pay that for it.
That's beautiful. I would love it
Well not if they paid me!