Well in fairness the fr bulls weren't going great there either, musn't be shipping and shure the angus and hereford, unless you had a good strong one they were a disaster as well.
What will happen to those calves now? Will there be a glut of 150kg runners in Sept/Oct?
Sure if lads have no feed what's the point in keeping them
Capacity won't be an issue for shipping calves from next week on. Wasn't helping things all along
I was assuming people were bringing them home again if they were only getting a fiver for them. But you might well be right and they're selling them for that rather than bringing them home and keeping them.
I have something like that in my f b d farm policy I capped at 800 euros but i think I better up it hopefully never need to use it
And in castleisland on Monday bbx & aax 6-7weeks old make from 325 to 480
It really is the pits of a year.you can hardly sell your cows now even if you got sick of this sh#te
they’d
they’d want to have been neglected to be at those weights. Keeping a mix of 70 AAX and CHX here for the summer. Be hoping they’ll be well near 250 kgs again October comes
Ah yeah, any calf that's well looked after should be hitting that kinda weight.
But what are the chances a €5 calf will be well looked after? They're more likely to be 150kg than 250kg.
nitrates 🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔thought you were under pressure to keep within 220….if keeping them till September you may not reap much financial benefit you may have to keep them over till next spring ….good weaklings we’re a savage trade all spring
wouldn’t be keeping them if I didn’t have the room MJ
While we re in the mood for showing off new toys.big shout to Joe nolan in Wexford for you massey digger/loader spares.soundest man you could meet.
I keep a few Feb fresian bull calves with my heifer calves. The best are around 190kg near late Sept. When I weigh for the dairy beef. You must be going to shove on the nuts
To bring them home, they'd need to make €40 the following week and €65 the week after that. Leave them off at the fiver...only need to take the loss once.
but what was the reg on mammy, Jex or Frx that’s the change this year all around the marts, the buyers don’t want them if reg plate is the ones they got stung with last year,
Them calves can do a great thrive from September to housing in December if you have grass for them and a kg of ration and minerals.
I've sold plenty good calves for 5 euro
You have a fine shed in the background. Its hard to beat the height for air. I couldn't have it that open here though or the whole thing would blow away.
Did you sell your weanlings you held onto after
I think it's more a question of if heifer calves are a tenner this year what price bulling heifers next year.you are likely to lose more money then
if you’ve Ai bred heifers with records and scope to milk both litres and kgms you’ll do very well out of them going forward provided you can keep them to point of calving or calved …..nitrates /banding/dero is hammering lads atm as to what they’d usually do and animals they’d keep longer
Ya. I forget the prices now but the cheque is on the way. 560 for Angus heifers, 700 for Angus bull, about 540 for fr bulls, not sure. I think it's about 4k for the seven of them anyway. It's very welcome. I'm happiest with the fr bulls considering that I would only have got a fiver 12 months previously. Sold 18 fr bulls for feck all this year and kept 5. Considering keeping all fr bulls calves next year myself.
I m hearing nice tasty Hereford bull yearlings are regularly touching 3 euros a kilo in the marts.
sold 20 Hereford weanlings here two weeks ago 284kgs averaged 840 in the mart
What weights were the angus had they jex or frx dams? Have a good few angus calves here this year which we usually wouldn’t and not totally sold on them even though there much of a muchness with the herefords at the moment anyway
I think the heifers were 255kg but they were small. Weighed well for their size. Think the angus bull was about 280. He was cheap at 700 I thought.
Remember these were my small angus calves last year that I wouldn't have got 30 euro for at 3 or 4 weeks. 2 of them were twin heifers. They were nice pets for the children and their cheque will go to a family holiday now.
Gotcha...had the bull in my head when answering..
Just after buying 40 bales at 40 euro as I'll be out of silage the weekend. Forecast looks awful for the the the next 10 days.there won't be a good cheque until June if we're lucky .local knackery was collecting dead cow here yesterday said he shot 25 one day last week a record.hopefully it picks up soon.
does nenagh mart do live streaming, ive a soft spot for hereford bulls. I cant seem to find it