I know the first proposal of this type of thread was shut down due to the OP tone.
I honestly think it time to start this discussion.
No further info.
I see Ind Ireland are running a candidate in Galway East, I like this new party and what they stand for.
What do they stand for? Seem like the Irish version of Farage's UKIP to me.
No they aren't.
That's that explained. You've got my vote!!!
What do they stand for? I've not heard of them at all.
Considering in Galway they're made up of former FF/FG cllrs and Noel Larkin it's hard to say they represent anything new or exciting
I'm not asking for your vote.
Did the Soc Dems represent anything new and exciting back in 2015?
Didn't a lot of them previously belong to established parties?
Interesting to see how Noel Thomas does as an Independent.
SDs are the exception for small parties not the norm, small parties usually disappear after a cycle or two. Hell even PBP looks like they'll be nearly wiped out in June. Guess we'll see how long Ind Ireland lasts.
Outgoing Galway Chamber CEO Kenny Deery running as an independent in Galway west.
https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2024/04/03/mayo-native-declares-as-independent-candidate-for-galway-city-council/
Not that it's a requirement, but does Kenny Deery live in Galway?
Says in the article Despite living in Galway for the last 10 years
I'm looking forward to asking Noel why as a person living in Moycullen he was so passionate that developers should be allowed build houses on a flood plain in Barna, he hardly represents the ordinary people as he claims himself.
This article would suggest otherwise ! He seems to be involved in a lot of organisations in achill, but not many in Galway City West.
https://www.mayonews.ie/news/local-news/1129822/a-day-in-the-life-kenneth-deery.html
Terry O'Flaherty, Cllr since 1999, running again in City East
Top of her work plan for the coming 5 year term would be repairs and resurfacing to roads and footpaths, grass cutting, road sweeping, litter collection, gully cleaning, pothole repairs, public lighting, and bio diversity initiatives
Kenny Deery is probably the first and last interesting thing about an otherwise very boring election. A bunch of candidates expected to retire didn't, no party is running enough candidates to "win" come June, and otherwise it's been pretty dull so far.
2 months out (danger) I'd expect the results to be 3 Fianna Fáil, 3 Fine Gael, 3 Sinn Féin, 3 Labour/SDs (split either way depending), 6 Independents/Ind Ireland.
Given SF is running two former councillors I'd only expect two or three brand new cllrs at the end of it all.
Where was that? Flooding from a river or the sea or both?
Kenny Deery is pretty much the only new candidate that sparks any bit of interest. Not in my side of the city so I can't vote for him but definitely a very intelligent guy who sees a bigger picture.
Most of the other new candidates are the same old trope, "fresh new voice", pointing at footpaths that need to be repaired and the like.
Few on city council I am surprised to see aren't retiring, at least two candidates who are running again are pushing 80.
From the sea, council wanted no houses built 30 metres from the shore, but Noel wanted houses built within 15 metres of the sea
I think some of these Councillors should have retired and make room for some new blood and fair play to anyone who will put their hand up to run for it. It is a thankless job.
Hardly a fair comment, I don't think age should be a factor, also Niall Murphy and Alan Curran are pretty good candidates with strong community links going before the electorate for the first time.
Didn't some green councillor suggest that Barna village should be relocated 1k away from the current location to escape rising sea levels?
Those oldies will hand seat to the next generation I reckon in 2025 after doing about 6 months.
No idea why Kenny Derry running WEST Ward, very crowded space, hes going to eat into FF & FG vote
Because he lives there? Same reason most candidates run in any given constituency.
Does he not live in Achill?
From Achill. Pretty sure he's living full time in Galway
I'm leaning towards Eibhlin Seoighte for the Soc Dems. She canvassed my door and was realistic in what she said she'd try and get done. Some of these lads will promise things they'd have no control over if elected.
That is true - was more a comment though on why try and run in this Ward. Could have also picked the Central Ward as Galway Chamber CEO most of the businesses in the Chamber are located there. For me though it will be the hardest Ward for any newcomers to get elected. It's even got a current East Ward Cllr running for a seat there.
If he does get elected - would FG or FF ask him to go under there umbrella? He strikes me as been a typical FG Cllr.
Sharon Nolan just missed a seat for SD in 2019. Certain there is one there this time
Central definitely feels the most open as a lot of the incumbents have very clustered but average support, leaves it open to a newcomer. Especially if Greens get wiped.