Following on from main thread in Current Affairs about Tubs in general (now closed and mod suggestion that Entertainment category is more suitable).
Indeed, entertainment in certain respects is what Tubs has provided, albeit perhaps in a way not intended. And still awaiting 150k payback to the licence fee holder.
And of course, his new career in Virgin Radio which is imminent.
copying some frequent posters from original thread.
@Brendan Bendar
@Gen.Zhukov
@tom23
@thesandeman
@chrisd2019
@Ash.J.Williams
@RoTelly
@hawley
@Loafing Oaf
@Beechwoodspark
@NIMAN
@odyssey06
@fritzelly
@sxt
@jippo nolan
@supereurope
@Tow
@alzer100
@tobefrank321
@jmcc
@Hyperbollix
Cat-Mod: See post here regarding off-topic segues.
I'd say though if he went into a club like that, he'd need to be able to talk a good game, and as we've all known for quite some time, and others are discovering in teh more recent past, taking any sort of a game is not Tubridy's forte
I suppose, and then write off the cost as a corporate expense through his company.
I think it's clear that his heart just wasn't in it towards the end, and like he said himself, it wouldn't have been fair to himself, RTE or the viewers to continue. He handed over to new blood, and it's got a boost from a fresh face and fresh format. There's a dignity and honour in having the requisite self-awareness to know when to call it a day, and to know that your life-work is bigger than you personally - like Leo Varadkar or The Beatles in 1970.
"His heart wasn't in it at the end"
...but his talent was never up to it from the beginning
£200k+
thats probably the funniest post in this entire thread....
not a chance. not a fcuking chance
Now I know you're a troll, if it wasn't 100% obvious by now
😁
Congratulations. you've been playing a blinder!
Mod note: warning added.
I think radio is is passion. TV was always a sideline.
But I'm sure he feels like a proud father today, watching his offspring, so to speak, make it's own way in the world.
I don't personally insult you or anyone else, and I'd appreciate if you'd afford me the same courtesy. There's nothing I say that isn't backed up by facts.
Tubridy has spoken at length about his struggles towards the end of the LLS, and his brave decision to bow out at the top:
Watching Leo checking out of the Hotel Dáilifornia, it reminded me of my own decision to leave The Late Late Show.
There was a moment in August 2023 when, like an epiphany, I felt it was time, and after talking it through with family and a few friends (who were all surprised until I explained myself), I felt so liberated.
I was so tired and out of juice post-pandemic, and things were simply not sitting right for me.
If I stayed on, I'd let my team down, myself down and my audience down. Nobody would win.
Making the announcement was liberating and the run from March to May was tremendous fun. I was a new man, ready for new adventures, and then well, that's for another day too, but sometimes the reason to get out at the top is easily explained.
https://evoke.ie/2024/03/24/entertainment/ryan-tubridy-diary-late-late
but if radio is his passion, how come he's still shlt at it 20+ years later?
Be serious.
Nobody can write:
"There's a dignity and honour in having the requisite self-awareness to know when to call it a day, and to know that your life-work is bigger than you personally - like Leo Varadkar or The Beatles in 1970."
and expect to be taken seriously
Guess it goes to show that money can't buy you a moral compass.
"The new director general said that the prospect to Tubridy’s return had caused a divide in opinion amongst RTE staff, something he believes the presenter was not aware of.
“I don’t think he also was aware that there was significant resistance in parts of the organisation to him coming back.”
I think most would agree that his "flagship show on Radio 1, presented the LL" was down to RTE inc and will not be repeated elsewhere as has been shown by the broad lack of interest in him from commercial broadcasters.
"doing the morning slot on a nationwide commercial station, syndicated here at the weekend" is what I'd think is a fall from grace, not an achievement.
As for his newspaper "column"...
He's living in my head a bit, I'd admit. But I wouldn't say rent free. He's paying a little rent to all of us by virtue of the general impact of the negativity on public opinion, and his future prospects, hopefully.
His payments for MC gigs that he didnt do, and said he would pay back, but chose not to.... The pay cut he took in solidarity with other RTE colleagues but worked behind the scenes to offset.
He has lots.
Look, there's been a lot of online chatter across the internet comparing his exit from the LLS to Varadkar stepping down, and Tubridy himself addressed the comparison in his national Sunday newspaper column.
You can decide yourself what you want to take seriously and if you want to dismiss facts and established discourse - that's entirely your prerogative - but I'm not editing myself to placate anonymous "hurlers on the ditch" who object to a window being flung open in the echo-chamber.
The interesting thing about the next few years will be too see to what extent his success was down to natural abilites as a broadcaster. Or whether he personally benefitted to a ridiculous degree from a culture at RTE that was more interested in paying and overpaying their own "stars" without evaluating whether they were any good or not.
Or without making any reference to what they would make in an open market. Perhaps the plan at RTE was to vastly overinflate talent salaries to pressure the wage bills of other media who exist without taxpayers money.
Anyway, let's see if it was a reflection of Ryan's actual abilities or not.
And yet there's people here claiming that he can't afford the fees for a Private Club in London.
Less than 3 grand for membership to all of Soho House's houses. A pittance to a man of Tubridy's means.
https://www.sohohouse.com/en-us/pricing
I'm sure. How many years membership can you get for 150K?
Maybe NKM will arrange for RTE to pick up the bill, invoiced from a separate account, of course.
Would it not be fair to say that it was Tubridy himself who made the comparison in his newspaper column, and that it was this that gave rise to the online chatter?
It is my personal opinion, but it seems to be a very shared opinion.
And let's call a spade a spade, he didn't get any of his jobs in RTÉ on the back of his exceptional talent, so his entire career there has to have a big asterix over it.
His first foray into the world outside of the cocoon of RTÉ, and he ends up on a radio station with 3% market share, playing Backstreet Boys and Ed Sheeran.... not exactly the R2 book review show he was no doubt hoping for...
The 150k he earned for the Renault contract was in Euro, so converting that to Sterling at today's rate, you get £128,615.58
Divide that by £2,950, I get 43.6 years.
Of course, Soho House's fees may go up over that time, but Tubridy's investments should be beating inflation.
So yeah, it certainly looks like he's be set up for life membership. And that's not even taking into account the benefits of writing it off as a business expense against Tuttle Productions.
Certainly beats paying it back to the taxpayer.
Pure gym at £30 a month maybe?
No.
Here's just one example of a comment from last week (March 20th) on the "Leo Varadkar resigns as Taoiseach" thread. Ignore the conspiracy theories:
Tubridy's column was published on Sunday the 24th.
Commentators had been drawing parallels long before Tubridy addressed them.
Soho house is pretty crap now. Have you read the reviews? Service is awful
It's actually mad, B, at how short sighted some people are.
A single hot desk in a WeWork co-working facility in London will set you back about £200 a month. A dedicated desk about £285 a month. That's a single desk for one person.
RTE spent €4,200 on a year's membership for Soho House in lieu of an office. That's £3600 a year, or £300 a month - for multiple people to use the business and leisure facilities for meetings, contacts, corporate entertainment, etc.
It was a smart business move, and a bargain to boot.
Yet the usual hurlers on the ditch couldn't wrap their head around it.
If by commentators you mean "anonymous hurlers on the ditch" (your description), a category into which we both fit, then I have to concede your point.
That's a totally different comparison to the one you are trying to draw e.g.
Is there a scandal coming down the line I wonder just like Tubridy ?
Nice Freudian slip here, what type of appearance is that?? No better man than Tubs for one of these I'd say.
Well spotted. I made a balls of that!