Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
What exact absurd tinfoil hat accusation are you making now?
Back up that I'd be surprised if no politician was making money off the health crisis? Not how it works Amigo.
You said it was tin foil hat stuff to say politicians made money from the housing crisis, which sounds like a joke.
A post ago you seemed to think you found this link, now you are running away from that post.
Not really working out is it?
This is the second time you made a fool of yourself claiming I 'ran away' from a discussion, while we were having the discussion.
You asked my to back up up that I'd be surprised if no politician was making money off the health crisis. I'm not sure why you are like a dog with a bone. Bored now.
Yes I'm making a fool of myself 😂
Another FG not returning
The government have known for a long time that their targets are way way undercooked but as per usual, have refused to alter them.
For example, Aug 2023
EU says Irish Government’s housing target too low | Irish Independent
EU says Irish Government’s housing target too low.
A European Commission report has said Ireland’s housing targets likely need to be “substantially” revised upwards, even though the government is struggling to hit its existing targets.
The report does not give a new target figure, but says the rising population here means the current bar is already too low.
The Taoiseach himself, Leo Varadkar, said in June that Ireland’s housing completions targets are “totally inadequate” given the housing crisis.
---------------------------
In 2005 and 2006, we were building well over 80,000 houses.
Interesting how the government and HSE tried to alter the criteria to make their numbers look better. No honour.
Almost 8,900 children waiting for HSE needs assessment (rte.ie)
New figures show that almost 8,900 children were classified as overdue for assessment of need, under the Disability Act, by the end of last year.
Nearly 7,000 children had been waiting for more than three months.
The figures were provided by the HSE to the Sinn Féin's health spokesperson David Cullinane.
An assessment of need identifies whether a person has a disability, any health and education needs arising from that disability, as well as what services are required to meet those needs.
Progress was being made in reducing the waiting list from 6,058 in the third quarter of 2020, down to 1,718 in the first quarter of 2022.
However in March 2022, the High Court found that the HSE's preliminary assessment approach did not meet the requirements of the Disability Act.
This judgement, according to the HSE, resulted in a growth in overdue assessments of need which now stand at a record 8,893 - with 6,963 children waiting for more than three months.
Leo gone as of today and not running for re-election. That makes him number 11 of FG's sitting 33 TDs to announce they're not running for re-election so far, and presumably there'll be a few more to come before the election.
The FG internal polling is very, very bad apparently. Closing in on half of a sitting government party not running for re-election would/will be unprecedented. Even in 2011, when FF were very obviously facing total electoral wipeout, only 23/71 of their TDs retired pre-election.
I love how FF TDs will be asked to vote for a 2nd Fine Gael Taoiseach.
Fine Gael TD Josepha Madigan has announced her resignation as Minister for Special Education and Inclusion and said she will not be running in the next general election
I wonder if any of them will miss the train that day and not manage to attend for the vote?
New Poll
First replay from Irelands Votes.
"Important:
The fieldwork for this poll was taken AFTER the 39th and 40th Constitutional Amendment Referendums but BEFORE the resignation of Leo Varadkar as Fine Gael leader."
SF keep on sliding.
The indies should really be graphed, especially considering they are now joint 2nd largest vote share.
I don't believe it but there is a second poll out
update
The amount of pointless polls these days is amazing
For companies that say it is hard to pul them together it is funny how quickly they can provide oen when they want to
I know of kids that have not been seen since they were 3 years of age that are now 8. Passed from the non existent early prevention team to the non existent school aged team. As for CAHMS another joke. It is an absolute disgrace what parents and kids with special needs are facing every day.
Another FF Gone
Many FF councillors are still livid that Martin brought them into a coalition with FG. The confidence and supply agreement was bad enough. It ruined the identity of both parties and the perception now is that they are two sides of the same coin.
Simon Coveney going
Harris will have to recruit new blood and hope they can win seats first time around
Very much as you were in the latest Sunday Independent/Ireland Thinks opinion poll, no new leader bounce for SH
Inds/Others up 3 the only vaguely significant move…
The Margin of Error was 2.7% and that makes the Independents gain statistically significant (barely). The one to watch for any Harris new leader bounce will be the RedC poll towards the end of the month. The thing that FFG should be worried about is a drop due to the failure of Harris to remove McEntee from Justice after the big speech about Law and Order at the FG Ard Fheis. The Independents are out-polling FF in Ireland Thinks now. A rise in support for Independents used to be considered an indication of discontent with the government but this is something else. There are proto-parties already forming among the Independents.
There is a possible shift from the Big Three parties model to a Large Four party model underway. It seems to be a race between the SocDems and a potential new centre Right party emerging from the Independents to become the smallest of the Large Four parties. At the moment the SocDems seem to be solid across the polls using online polling (Ireland Thinks and RedC) but they struggle in the polls using face to face polling (Ipsos/Irish Times). The SocDems need to get into the 8% to 11% range to become the smallest party in the Large Four parties model. With the Big Three model, no two of the Big Three parties had enough seats to form a government. The Large Four model might require agreement between three of the parties to form the next government due to the fragmentation of the vote. Without a pollster using face to face polling on a regular basis as B&A used to do before it was taken over, it is difficult to be certain about FF support. These polls are skewed in favour of younger demographics and consistently underestimate FF support.
The limitation for these polls is that they are First Preference Vote polls and do not account for transfers. Transfers are important and get many TDs elected. The worst case scenario for FG is that while it appears to be polling stronger than FF, it may not get transfers in sufficient numbers and could be facing a Labour 2016 situation on a smaller scale (21 to 27 seats at a guess). Its poll toppers may have enough momentum to get elected and may even get transfers but some of the TDs who only won on later counts in 2020 may not get elected. There's also the issue of approximately a third of FG TDs not running in the next GE. From Ireland Thinks and RedC, the view might be that it is FF that is heading for a demolition at the next GE. That is not so certain and it could be FG that will have problems. Over the last few GEs, the transfer %s have increased between FF and FG and the electorate is increasingly considering them to be the same party. FF transfers will get FG TDs elected and vice versa.
Regards…jmcc
More apartment blocked in the middle of a housing crisis, blocked by someone living in Foxrock?? The Supreme Court on Thursday upheld the High Court’s decision to strike down the approval, granted under a now-extinct fast-track process, in a challenge brought by Fionnuala Sherwin, a resident of Knocksinna Grove, Foxrock, south Co Dublin, who describes herself as a practising Catholic.
Supported of course by Sinn Fein
Disgraceful
https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/developer-loses-appeal-to-save-planning-permission-for-1593-dublin-rental-apartments-1612221.html
https://www.independent.ie/news/mary-lou-mcdonald-among-objectors-to-1600-apartment-build-to-rent-development-in-her-dublin-constituency/40802647.html
Nepotism
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/kate-oconnells-fine-gael-return-continues-with-sister-appointed-to-cabinet-adviser-job/a53473114.html
That's a nice welcome back for the O'Connells alright. Very cosy. We can't have enough advisers in government either, money no object I say.
The article also mentions Eoghan Murphy our previous housing minister. Now working for the OSCE monitoring elections. Nice role.
https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/0330/1440838-road-safety/
https://www.rte.ie/news/2023/1030/1413746-gardai-roads/
According to the figures, the number of gardaí specifically working in roads policing has fallen by 37% compared to 2009.
…..
All of this happened on FG's watch and the last 2 Justice Ministers were McEntee and Harris.
FG took office in 2011, not 2009.
She is on record stating that building these 1,600 apartments will make the housing situation 'worse'.
Yeap, that is correct!
Good point.
https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2024/0411/1443091-rsa-reform-recommendations-due-over-coming-months-says-minister/
The number of garda members assigned to Roads Policing Units is down 100 over the last two years.
https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/0412/1443165-roads-policing/
"Back in 2014, there was 1,046 gardaí on this particular duty, now there is about 640 and that has led to a change in behaviour.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/number-of-gardai-involved-in-traffic-policing-declines-while-road-deaths-soar/a242809102.html
Figures obtained as part of a Dáil query by Social Democrats TD Catherine Murphy revealed that in 2021 Ireland had 736 gardaí assigned to roads policing. By April this year, that total had declined to 678.
You seeing a trend?
In an area that Doctors/nurses/trainee nurse/students/residents etc are all desperate for accomodation
I wonder will she read out the famous Dear Deirdre letter from a student nurse in the location that cant get accommodation because Mary Lou has rejected it?
Who applied for the position? did they hire the best person for the job? etc etc
Are you qualified for the position? did you apply?
It like in my office, a guy got a job and one person complaining about it. It was the manager favourites etc etc, when asked did they apply the answer was no. So what you crying about then?
Would you prefer nobody goes for a job or anyone with the qualification and ability to the job shouldn't apply or it handed to an inferior candidate just in case someone thinks it "nepotism"? So maybe you can back up the nepotism claim?