TBF it’s not a reduction of the judgement just of the bond he’s to put up. Haven’t seen the readout of the reasoning behind their decision here but I assume it has a lot to do with pity on him, lol.
Golfer of the year...
One view is that the court seems to have been incredibly obliging towards the Orange Fraudster:
Yeah love him or hate you have to admit that he is an absolutely amazing sportsperson/ athlete
Should be very manageable for a alleged billionaire.
It would rather hilarious if even with the bond reduced that much, he still couldn't stump up the cash.
That was my thought, can he still actually get that much?
What a load. No reasons given other than 'it was hard to get bonds for that amount.'
One law for ye, another for thee.
It's crazy that there has been many documented cases of people losing their homes to fund appeals, to be found innocent but this chancer geta away with it.
I just can't wait for the appeal to fail, which it obviously will.
In the other case, (Stormy Daniels criminal trial) the judge has said it starts on April 15th, which Trump came out and appealed straightaway.
Because innocent people always try and push back court dates to prove their innocence....
🙄
It is quite incredible, but unsurprising, that Trump has been given such leeway. The man who rails against the elites is given such special treatment.
So we have been told that to make an appeal one needs to post the full bond. But now Trump is allowed appeal which less than 40%. And yet more time.
There will never be any situation where Trump is actually fully held to account for what he's done. That much is clear. The courts are bending over backwards to accommodate his lies, and it's quite sickening to see.
Could this now set a precedent that others now only need a bond of approx. one third of any judgement against them to appeal the judgement?
If I were in that scenario I'd certainly be getting my lawyers to ask that very question.
Other than "it's a lot of money" what other legal justification was provided?
The definition of a "lot of money" is entirely subjective relative to a persons net worth so if it being a large sum was the reason , it's hard to see how they could ever enforce a 100% bond in future for others.
I mean , they will but it won't be fair.
Pathetic decision writeup by the appeals court. Just says, "We're doing this." No reasons given. Time to dig up who is on that appeals bench.
Barely a 2 page decision.
The reasoning is nonsense, so what if a bond for such an amount isn't available? Hey maybe if you don't want to have to find such a large bond don't commit such a large fraud?
Exactly - It's got nothing to do with the size of the bond , it's the size of his bank balance that's the problem.
Jeff Bezos et al wouldn't have the slightest difficult in getting a $500M bond.
How many regular people have lost everything because they couldn't afford to pay for bail/bond etc. ??
Well Jeff Bezos is the second richest man in the world, worth 200 billion dollars.
500m to him is chump change.
500m for a billionaire is half their worth and most Billionaires dont have alot of liquid assets to put up as bond.
Trump says he will put up 175m in cash which is a heck of a lot of money.
Well, if Trump said it then I for one am completely convinced.
A billionaire that couldn't raise a bond for 500m? It is a massive embarrassment to Trump. The supposed best businessman in the world, remember he said Mar a Lago is worth close to 1.5bn and its own, couldn't remortgage?
He said during his POTUS term that he makes 400m a year, so <500m really shouldn't be that much of an issue to him.
But it is.
Bezos wouldn't have 500 million lying around in cash in a bank account either and would likely need a bond company to cover it, but they wouldn't have a problem doing so as he's not been charged with lying about the value of his assets.
Indeed a securities company would absolutely create the product for TFG if he wasnt so well known for not paying his debts, over leveraged to fvck on the properties he does technically own and literally being prosecuted for lying about his wealth to obtain better deals on loans.
He also said he had the $500m.
So.. does he have it, or does he not?
Will he ever get the feckin caps lock FIXED
That's exactly my point though.
The difficulty in getting the bond was because he simply couldn't afford it not because it was some huge unheard of figure that the bond companies wouldn't handle.
Why does he get a reduction simply because he can't afford it, when if it was anyone else the bailiffs would already be on their way to take their stuff???
Looking at photo and news clips of him today he is getting shook looking as the saying goes. The pressure is defiantly getting to him
If Trump has assets worth billions he would have no difficulty raising half a bill.
None.
At all.
So why can't he? The only explanation is that he doesn't *have* the assets to cover 500 million. Or his assets are mortgaged to the hilt and there is not enough residual value to cover it.
<Mod snip>
To that point...
It is incredible amount of stress to handle even for a man half his age…. Maybe if your a sociopath it doesn’t affect you as much or maybe if your a narcissist it affects you even more….
Can anyone explain to me what yer man has to do to get a $175M bond? Does he need to produce that amount? Or give, say, $30M to a bond provider who trust him enough to pay the rest when the appeal fails? Why would any organisation trust him? Could this further his embarrassment for lack of any real money?
He'll still have to pony up the $460M+ in the end though to pay off the fraud, right?
Drugs are also not a bad thing to have in your arsenal to keep you standing.
If he becomes Prez he ain’t paying Sh(1)t