I thought he would get some jail time especially since he ran from the cops and pleaded not guilty.
He's very lucky, but not a great role model for young gaa fans.
Posters may have made mistakes and we all have but nothing as bad as beating the crap out of a defenceless man on the ground. That's a new low. I love how alot of the Limerick lads are defending his actions as if what he did was nothing. It's absolutely astonishing.
Kicking a man when he’s down. Ya gotta be taking the piss hahah
So are you saying what he did was ok?
He is a pure scum. Somebody who breaks another persons eye socket tends to be. Ironically with the suspended sentence , us keyboard warriors could actually say it to his face no bother LOL.
He has had 5 years to go over the case, spoke to solicitors, family and team management.
Yet he still pleaded not guilty and showed no remorse at all after kicking the head off a lad and running from the Gardai.
If that's not the behavior of a scumbag what is?
Warning issued
Technically he didn't attack a defenceless man. Can't be punished by the judge when the jury said innocent.
How da fook that made that call in a neutral and unbiased fashion considering the evidence, is on them.
Was that deliberate? "kicking a man when he's down"?
He's being judged by Irish people, as an Irish person. Simple as
He’s a grand lad. GAA stalwart!! Nothing to see here
There isn't. There isn't "literally" gardai watching violent assaults in progress. You can make a point without lies
Absolutely fcuked
As a few posters have said, moving on!!!
What an absolute abomination of a comment this is.
Like its hard to comprehend how you thought this was fine to post?
And here is exactly why we have scumbag behaviour being excused/tolerated. Well done, billy
It's kinda hard to draw that conclusion from what I said but you go for it 🙉
So you said that talk is cheap. Do you believe Hayes is not a scxmbag for assaulting that man in the manner he did and deny it after Gardai saw what he did?
Are you happy with the way the court dealt with it and the way he walks away scot free where another man that wouldn't be as of a high profile gaa player gets done for alot less? He got away because there was corruption involved simple as. The ordinary man in society would never get away with that simple as and rightly so.
Yes the law is very fair.
His choice of flag for his avatar tells you alot.
can you elaborate/clarify how race comes into this……or are you being ultra sarcastic…?
What a twisted view
Shure, it's all part of the game Marty.
Not!
To send a strong message that behaviour off the pitch is important, LimericK GAA or Indeed Croke Park itself, should immediately ban him from competition for the duration of his suspended criminal sentence
The GAA has a real problem with aggression and violence and they need to step up now and say they expect more on and off the field.
Exactly you can be good at sports and still be a crap person and Kyle Hayes is exactly that imo. I would have some respect for him if he showed some remorse for his actions or pleaded guilty. He did neither of these things though. None of us are perfect but i've never hit a person and ran away like a coward either.
Said the same on another thread. If a player did that under Cody they'd never see the inside of a dressing room with him again. Indeed players were dropped for considerably less in his time. For him you were representing the county at all times and that meant something to him. Kiely showed his priorities here. Character means nothing on that squad, only results.
Which is a pretty poor outlook to have for an amateur sport. I think they’ve both done themselves irrevocable damage.
Not sure if this is a good comparison but I’m throwing it out there in any case. Didn’t a former tipp player get in serious bother with the law back in 90’s and continued to be selected and play inter county……there was also a former waterford player involved in something very unsavoury also yet continued to play. What Hayes did is inexcusable but is he being judged too harshly here….?
One is 30 years ago , not sure about the other. But both shouldn’t have been allowed to play tbh. It’s a privilege playing for your county. having a suspended sentence for battering someone should make you ineligible in my opinion. At least for the duration of the punishment.
Are you suggesting banned from playing club or county for life if given a suspended sentence/actual jail time…?
banned from county for duration of punishment. Hardly that radical, actually something the GAA could look to get out in front of . There might be worse combos of Hayes and Kiely to come.
I'm digressing a bit here, but 30 years ago GAA was played much more as a hobby and training/preparation was less all-encompassing. Lads turned up and the manager and selectors basically just picked the team. Maybe everyone goes for a few pints after. Sport is a release from any personal issues you might be having.
Now it's more like a cult almost, with group "buy-in", "values", "marginal gains" and such phrases. Stats teams. Visualization exercises. They even have psychologists talking to them about what it means to represent their county/club, to their family, their community and so on.
Your whole life is put on-hold for a few years, but you're not in it alone and "the group" shares your values and goals, and becomes almost like your family. You probably see them more than your own family.
Which might explain why Cody or modern managers would not accept such disruption and noise around the group, and breach of values. You might lose a good player or two, but you retain the integrity of the group. Jim McGuinness also comes to mind.
You'd wonder about the legality of any violent acts on the hurling pitch, for somebody serving a suspended sentence for violent disorder.
As an example he struck a Galway player across the head with his hurley in last year's league. You'd be looking at this stuff in a different light.