The playlist has become too repetitive. I am sick of hearing Sweet Disposition, The Great Defector, In My Place, The Scientist, Maybe Tomorrow, Handbags and Gladrags. Surely the beauty of not being constrained by the current charts, is that you have decades of back catalogues to keep the music more varied.
Also, I get that they have to keep a reasonably wide appeal for financial reasons, but would it kill to play some Placebo or Smashing Pumpkins?
*Brew
She is apparently from Stillorgan, I would describe her accent as quite neutral.
the morning presenter earlier with a strong Dublin accent was called Vicky Martin from what I could make out. She has been on the last couple weekends.
Think I heard ya one Emily Bru on Sunday breakfast today, could of sworn she called herself by a different (her real?) name once?
Then she pops up in the afternoon, wonder if breakfast was voice tracked.
Ya man Gerry Healy is pretty good, dunno where he's gone.
My band on tonight after 11 , we're a grand bunch of lads
yeah but most people wouldn't be able to name one of is songs
What is the obsession with The Great Defector? It's not even Bell X1's best song, yet it's played every day and number 18 on that list! I don't get it!
"Follow Me", "Daughter of the Everglades", "Calling Card", "Bad Penny", "Philby", "Tattooed Lady" - and that's just off the top of my head.
very true. Rory didn't really release singles, though since he passed away everyone is a fan !!
Rory Gallagher is great but he's never going to feature highly in any poll of the general public, most people would struggle to name one song.
Only very late at night for some reason! I even requested a song of his to one of their prime time shows but the DJ said they hadn't given him any that day.
course not, when was the last time you heard rory gallagher being played on nova?
No Rory Gallagher...
Radio Nova ran The Top 50 Greatest Irish Songs Ever yesterday, as voted by its listeners. I heard some of it.
I would say that there were not really any big surprises given what is played on Nova and what people are likely to listen to. The only surprises possibly was the placings of some songs. For example, U2's One has often featured high in countdowns, including sometimes being at Number 1. This time it was at Number 12, with Where the Streets Have No Name at Number 2. Thin Lizzy's The Boys are Back in Town were at Number 49 and you might have expected that well known song to have featured much higher. The deaths last year of Sinead O'Connor and Christy Dignam (of Aslan) may have pushed their songs up a bit as well. Finally, it is no big surprise now to have The Cranberries' Zombie to top this countdown, given the amount of times it has been heard since the Rugby World Cup and more recently at the Six Nations. Before that, I would suspect that it might not even have been guaranteed a place in the Top 50.
Here is the list:
https://www.nova.ie/the-cranberries-hit-zombie-greatest-irish-song-ever-245098/
I'd echo the obsession question, what is there obsession with Bob Marley songs.
What is their obsession with "You're in Love with a Psycho"? It's not even Kasabian's best song, or one of their best-known ones.
They've much better and more famous songs - "LSF", "Fire", "Empire", "Club Foot"...
Not a big fan of Nickelback myself.
It's rare I'd listen to radio at this hour, but after suffering through Anne Marie followed by Blu Cantrell, I thought jaysus, this is a joke! Surely now during this "commercial free" slot is when they could risk a few edgier tracks rather than going pure pop! Then I noticed the red tuning light was off, and was relieved to find Today FM had somehow cut in. Phew.
Nickelback and The Coronas, however, didn't offer much comfort when I fixed it. Not much difference to Today FM really!
Sound like an old man saying this, I found their playlist a little harsh when PJ & Jim moved across but shortly after that started listenimg to Nova pretty much all the time (was Classic Hits before).
Yeah heard him this evening too. Find myself listening to Nova a lot more these days. The music is so much better than any other station.
Queue references to the "Mad Cow Roundabout" , "coalition of the unwilling", etc.
Pat Nav is back and running! He was on-air yesterday
He seems to be no longer suspended ?
Well his Twitter account said he was suspended....
Why is he suspended... is it because of his fake accent?
I do think the playlist has been a little softened, not a wholesale change.
Anyone know why they would still be advertising Pay Courtney on drive while he is supposedly suspended and hasn't been on air since before Christmas?
Again, the 'softening' accusations have been going around for as long as this thread is open (now seven and a half years) and probably longer. Reading this thread, you'd swear they were playing Leo Sayer and the Lighthouse Family.
In reality, it's a safe AOR playlist that aligns with its licence, pretty much always has been, and the recent ratings gains are probably down to more mundane things like better shows. Replacing Lucy and Colm with PJ and Jim was a great start anyway.
For a station doing so well in the ratings has it ever turned a profit in its 13 years on air?
Listening to Kieran McGuinness at the moment. Therapy? Screamager, more of that mid week please.
If it did it would be only 4 cities like classic hits