whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
I like horses but I can't see the fascination with horse racing. Gambling addicts aside, is the attraction just social climbing aspirations towards the willy waving "kings"?
The gambling is 90% of it. Then there's the breeding, the selling of a foal, yearling, two, three year old. The buying of same. The selling again of same. The hunt scene and the point to points. The hunt balls. The race days and then the gambling again. It all makes no sense. But there's huge money made by the gambling industry and the various one's involved that are guarrenteed money in the industry. Those that don't, aspire to become rich.
The best part of Cheltenham is when its over.
Am I on my own to appreciate & admire the skill & bravery of what jockeys can achieve sitting on the guts of 500kg goin over fences at 30mph.
Love goin to race meetings, great social day out
Guess it's the competitive streak in them, fair play it's some record.
I watch Horse Racing if it's on TV. Passing interest in it, like most sports. Was looking forward to seeing Hewick in the Gold Cup tomorrow, but Shark pulled him as ground too soft.
It's a pity after the win at Bempton at xmas, it'd be some story if he had landed a gold cup
I'm not sure if it's all down to gambling either, I'm not one for backing horses.
There's something about a horse running at full speed that stirs the blood, the power and spirit, all that horse wants to do is win and beat the other horses, it's a sight to behold. Magnificent animals, it's a pity we humans treat them so poorly
No interest in gambling or the horses.
Bought a 2012 Auris to replace my old one. Looking forward to not hearing big bangs and rattles.
You won't hear bangs and rattles of a Toyota.
Thats a VW trait
I bought a stop gap Auris -2.2l D off the brother in sept- €500 with nct til end of March. Twas a shook car-
some noise out of it. Just from pure hardship.
It got better up and down the road if it was rattling and it an auris. They were near to bomb proof
Hearing a few squeals and rattles on my avensis lately €610 gone into it in the last month and an injector went in it on wednesday. Think its time for a new mechanic but hopefully the avensis will see me out for another long while.
Popped down the local yesterday for an hour or 2, 3 pints n 3 races. Bet e30, got e26 back.
Place hopping, good craic. The only stress about ground waterlogged was due to that shark fellas horse not running!
I'm not in to horses but I certainly have respect for anyone working with them. The power in them is phenomenal, you only appreciate their size at times when you're up close. You'd see younger ones controlling them and hunting with them, I'd be fair nervous to be honest!
one of the neighbours lads was riding there yesterday and did well. Some achievement. Seems like only yesterday I was on a charity ride with him when he was ages 11, and he on a little grey pony that went like the clappers.
At that age all he wanted was to be a race jockey and he did it, his dream career came true.
My Avensis is 2010, flying it, best car I ever had
What's the story with viewing the "Thanks!" button on F&F. I've noticed in the last few days you can't see any when you hover the mouse over the button. When this new site came on stream you can only see about six or seven even though there could be 20+. I miss the the old site where you could see them all under the post.
In addition I miss when the old site showed that posters were active/online. IMO it was awful helpful to know that other farmers were also up at stupid o'clock calving cows/yeaning ewes etc.
That's me, Base, very much agree with you. Really don't understand the hiding of the thanks, list.
The new Carina E lean burn!
Carina e, best car ever built. Could have done with a good under coating though.
No point in thanking posts now if not even the original poster can see who thanked the post.
I may or may not have thanked this post Water John. You'll never know. 👻
He didn't thank it!
If yer on a PC/laptop, get yourself this extension. Fierce handy and puts some of the old functionality back in
I searched on Boards.ie and this recent thread thankfully showed up. Thanks to @raclle for highlighting the issue.
I'm going to copy and paste this into my thread on SD rooster 👍️
I went for a walk around my place today and it more resembles a shallow pond than grass. Lots of water lying. I checked a few drains and seemed to be flowing, yet right over water was lying. The ground under the water seemed fairly solid. Would the lying water of the last few months have hardened the ground? What would the best way to sort that be without costing much €s
A few hot dry weeks (if we ever get it again) would cure it.
Subsoiling would bring up rocks and stones everywhere
Ah. You're saying I need a miracle :-)
It's been getting steadily worse over the years. It's well drained, but peaty enough soil. The bits on hills though has me stumped as to why it's holding surface water
There's hardly a field in the country not holding surface water at the moment. Every month since last June been wetter than normal, we're due a couple of dry months. As Wrangler says, that will sort your problem!
We used to have a hollow with poor drainage and would always pond, we planted a hedge through it and hasn't developed a pond since so whether digging the trench through for the whitethorns broke the subsoil or the whitethorns themselves are keeping the soil open , but it solved the problem