A full Spice Girls reunion, the 5 as Posh returning rumoured for Glastonbury as well as the yearly Oasis reunion talk too
I wouldn’t say her fan base is niche, but but outside of it she is unknown.
Stevie Nicks or Olivia Rodrigo would’ve both went down better than her
SZA would be perfect for WH. She's not a Pyramid headliner. Needs more terry and junes.
There'll be 20k kids up front singing to every word. Maybe more.
Shes in the middle of a huge world tour and has sold out all the enormodomes - Ziggo, Mercedes-Benz, Accor, et al. Playing Hyde Park. £185 for a pit ticket etc. Far from niche.
Ive no interest but cant deny shes a big star for the kids.
I'm just delighted with all the money I'm saving, and I can spend it on a few gigs here, LCD anyway, and end up in my comfy bed every night. Bliss.
20k is WH headliner level. She doesnt have any broad recognition or appeal. Loads of people sell out tours now, big venues etc. Glasto headliners (at least up to now!) are different. Theyve dropped a bollick. Think theres broad recognition of this in the reaction. Usually theres a grumble, rarely is there a "Huh?"
That's fair enough. It was more of an observation, than a criticism. I'm long past the stage where festival line-ups bother me. Pretty much all the gigs I attend are by smallish/cult like bands in small venues.
But selling out The Point and winning industry prizes like a Grammy doesn't mean you're supremely talented. Most of the time it means you're heavily backed by a major label/PR firm. I mean like, The Coronas sold out The Point ffs.
Picture This will be headlining Glastonbury soon. "Sold out tonnes of shows in Ireland, massive act."
/joke
I think they're AI.
Appalling stuff innit.
She does, she is doing Hyde park. She can sell tickets better in uk and ireland than her label mate kendrick who headlined glasto in 2022.
Blackpink headlined Hyde Park last year, doesn’t mean they’d be a good headliner or that they are well known outside of their fanbase. Also true of SZA
not a great Lineup a few id watch online - there will need to be a very good suprise act
Sza was nominated or 9 Grammys last month. Album of the year, song of the year, record of the year.... How broad do you want?
If anything its too broad. I dont see anything shes doing that En Vogue, Toni Braxton, Brandy, Aaliyah or even Brenda Russell werent doing in the 90s.
She just has huge industry support on par with Taylor, Olivia Rodrigo etc.
Grammys are a marketing campaign. Doesn't mean anything. Sure Fontaines are grammy nominated, stick them on the pyramid stage.
None of that means she has any well known songs, which Rodrigo and Swift both do. Which is why so many people have never heard of her.
If the Wolfe Tones were playing Hyde Park we'd be told they can headline the G.
It’ll be interesting how much of a crowd she gets. I think it will be small. The 18 - 25 year old demographic don’t make up much of the festival population these days and that seems to be where most of her fans are.
Finsbury Park is close enough. Looking forward to some rebel songs to close out the Sunday night
Stormzy headlined one year lads. So did The Verve, Mumfords, Kasabian, Gorillaz, Basement Jaxx, Muse multiple times.
A huge US star in the middle of a global tour isn't a stretch.
Her crowd will be tiny.
Almost all of those names are far better known than SZA is currently and of far greater importance in England.
They're not black women though.
I'll be partying hard in me bed! I'm deffo officially old.
I member when oxegen/witness was a brilliant indie and pop event, so many good acts performing at the same time you were conflicted at which band to leave out. Then a couple of years ago there was a longitude event and I didn't know one band at it. And that started indie as well.
It's kinda like that today with glasto, although I do know some of them it's a total meh, I mean Shania Twain is good but she's more a girls night out, but anyway, yeah, I'm old. I'm going for a nap lads.
Are you seriously suggesting SZA is better known than all of them and the only reason people are unhappy is because she’s a black woman? 😂
First time going this year but it's difficult to know what to make of the lineup, in terms of amount of acts I'd go and see theres loads. LCD Soundsystem, Coldplay, Jungle, The National, The Streets, Bloc Party, Confidence Man, Avril Lavigne, Justice, London Grammar, Orbital, Mary Wallopers, Barry Can't Swim, Faithless, Bobobo, Jessie Ware amongst a good few others.
But I think it's lacking in quality - aside from LCD Soundsystem I'm not sure how many of those I'd be rushing to buy tickets for if they played in Dublin. And it feels like a good chunk of them play festivals very regularly.
There is some serious shite on the poster too. Shania Twain I will be nowhere near. I'm sure some will argue the stuff I've posted above is shite as it's all a matter of opinion but the Pyramid lineup does very little for me overall and upon initial release made it feel worse than it probably is.
I'm completely in agreement with Wooderson on SZA and I don't think she is a good headliner whatsoever. Maybe you'd get away with it in a really strong lineup year but this year it highlights how poor of a choice she is I think. I'd say realistically at least half of the festival won't know any of her songs - can that be said of any pyramid headliner before?
Main disappointments for me are no Stevie Nicks, no Pulp and generally not many acts you won't get the chance to see again. Even a likes of a Kool and the Gang or something fun like that - thought we would get something along those lines.
But I've absolutely zero doubts it will be a smashing weekend and even going by what's announced so far it will be choc a block for gigs - even if I'll only know the big hits from a lot of them.
No Im saying they're all bog standard but have headlined. So why not her.
It helps that shes a black woman. Only the 2nd ever solo black female to headline.
If you don't know who SZA is, that's a you problem.
If you don't like her music, that's one thing and perfectly fine.
Saying she's not a massive star or a massive draw is just pig ignorance.
Because she has no hit songs and is basically unknown outside of her fanbase. Basically all of those acts you mentioned had hit songs and were far more well known in the UK at the time of their booking.
Not that you’ll take that into account because you think her being black is more important
Her last album was #2 in the UK. Wouldnt be surprised to see her new one at #1.
Metallica played to a small crowd. No one really knew anything apart from Enter Sandman.
Anyway, shes talking this up herself. The festival are very aware of this sort of thing.
Trust me, you'll be pleased there's not much on the pyramid that you want to see, it's the worst stage at the festival 😉
You'll have an absolute blast. I'd be as underwhelmed as you with that lineup, but I'm still insanely jealous of anyone going, it's the best place on earth