We've had many different weather events over the past 10 years.. the drought in 2018 was for me the worst.. give me a summer like last year over a repeat of 2018 any day
I'll take the drought next time so if you don't mind.
Sold silage in 18, wet cold years always the worst here. 12/ 13 the worst by a long shot. A lot of different preferences for a little country, but commentary seems to be more about drought proof this and that but tbh it's a rare enough thing,
We dont all have land like yours. A good dry summer for me. Having said that we got on grand last year.
Few locals having a meltdown this evening over a bit of clay been brought out onto a road where I was at slurry, its rented ground and got a call from lad I'm renting it off to give the road a scrape off, which the ole lad was in the process off, was maybe 10 shovel fulls of clay on the road in the end, but you'd think you where after putting half the field out onto the road with their reactions
Some people have little to be at, too much time on their hands
The beauty of a drought is very little work to be done!
27 litre
4.26 fat
3.42 prot
Urea 29
Scc 198
38% 'grazed'.
DIM 104.
Had problems with tbc and thermo but hopefully sorted now. Calving going OK. Over half spring ones done. Iv 7 Calving in June but I'm not counting them. I'll have to keep them housed incase the neighbours see them springing!!
How high was your thermo and what do you think sorted it?
Thermo was 900k and tbc was 500k. Found one block cracked and 3 other sections on the line were rotten. Presumed the cracked block caused all the problems. Changed every thing and cleaned like ****. Took a while to figure out that machine was washing properly in the first place causing all my problems.
What do you mean by a block?
Stenaline are down a boat ATM. Not due back for another few weeks
One was a unit that measures the milk. The other was a unit that dumps the milk.
The article in today's FI would uphold my ramblings.
Farmers bought 67% of land sold, 7.7% was sold to investors renting land. Land sales up 30% with prices only slightly up.
The key thing to look at is the mention that over 60% is bought with cash reserves with only 30% purchasers resorting to borrowing.
Maybe they are not too few and far between.
In REA auctioneers sales only about 9% of buyers are investor's that rent land. Even if they Rea are an outlier( excluding potential development land nears urban centers) its hard to see rents being a factor in more than 10-15% of sales.
It's farmers that drive the price of land and company setups are the main factor now.
+1, I never heard the rain as bad baitin the windows last night, luckily enough not cow decided to pop
Farming in France is not a bed of roses all the time and weather is a factor too, being there in august when it’s burnt brown and cattle are getting the winter feed to keep them going. Costs in France have increased like us also and their government don’t care about farming.
What % of dairy farmers bought what % of land, dairy/tillage/beef farms that where well run historically and in companies, with high sfp's usually never had to use their sfp to subsidize the farm and it was squirreled away, with it been used as you have highlighted for land purchases....
My landlord was a case in point he was tallying up the other day he drew not far off 2 million since the sfp came in, before last years cuts he still had a payment of 55k for 2022 and was over the 100k at the start....
Making out that a average 150 cow herd in a company structure is sitting on millions in cash reserves because dairying is so astonishingly profitable, dairy farms are banking 10 plus cent a litre in retained profits is my issue with your ramblings and 20 cent cop remarks
I know a guy locally who never milked more than 80 cows over the years kept half of the calves and reared them. Had 60k+ of payments for years up to recently, 300 owned acres. This is the type of guy bass is imaging never had to touch the sfp, no rental costs and virtually no fertilizer bill and very little need for concentrate supplementation as he has twice the amount of land for the stock he’s carrying. People like that guy are very few and far between and you can in no way generalize them with the run of the mill dairy farmer.
Looking to beg/borrow/steal a copy of the book 'A Touch of Grass' by Alan Kyle if anyone knows of a copy that's lying about?
Place like near here.we reckon it's the only place in West cork that you don't have to hit tar Road to do the silage
They may be classified as farmers but around here I don't think it's dairy farmers in companies buying the land..
Maybe in the south west but of the land I know sold local to me in the past 30 years almost none was bought from milk alone anyway. Road money, merchants, grain Barron's, horses, property and if rumours are true less legitimate sources of income have funded most of it.
You won't hear it said too often in public but money laundering is a factor in a percentage of land purchases. Your man with the garden centre below in Tralee is not the only fella of his ilk around the country.
Aul fella just got a text out of the blue that a dairy bull calf has been selected for genotyping. Whats the story there? Trouble?
Is it from an AI company? If so test away, only issue is it may not come back before 6 weeks of age so if they don't want the calf you'll end up testing him to sell. If they want him they'll make ye an offer for him.
SFP was a major influence in land prices unitl about 2015. since then convergence and now capping is limiting its influence. Even while SFP was influencing it some dairy farmers had substantial beef operations before the abolisition of quotas.
Below is the detail of land prices since 1901. It shows the the late 70's increase and the noughties boom right uo to 2020. Since then if REA prices are average lad has increased by 35%+. SFP are converging and being capped. They will still influence land prices but looking back the last 8 years land has increased by 50ish%, so what is the major change in that time its the move of a substantial number of dairy farmers especially into company setups and hey presto land increased by 30ish% in 2022 and held at that level last year.
so we gone from business people using leasing income, large SFP to now drug money. Sorry its much simpler than that its the use of company structures to finance it. The funny part is a few weeks ago in discussions on this forum its one of the reasons lads indicated they are going into company structures.
I wouldn’t pay much heed to the percentages of farmers buying land.
I’ve an in-law, living in Dublin all his life, retired now from being a senior partner in a very high profile company on the finance side. He wouldn’t be short a few bob, only just recently bought 2 houses in Dublin for each of his sons.
He has no agricultural background but over the past few years done his green cert so he’s qualified as a farmer! Has a flock number now and keeps a few sheep on a bit of rented land beside a farmer he’s friendly with around the midlands, that farmer keeps an eye on them for him. In the past year or 2 he has a lot of money invested into forestry on the west of Ireland and of course because he’s a farmer on paper now he can avail of all the benefits that come with that and he’s counted as a farmer buying the land.
Nothing he’s doing is illegal or anything like that but to those of us farming all our lives it would be hard to classify him as a farmer and he’d be the first to admit to that himself too, it’s purely a move for financial benefit for him and his family.
This a few thousand times mate here is doing his nut to buy 40ish acres for "farming" cos he used to do it with his uncle when he was 10 or so has a ball of money and has pushing up land sales in two cases his wife can't get her head around the idea at all.
My consultant same, meet him every year for 10 mins and same convo about himself and and a few medical colleagues who have land bought. 150 quid for the privilege from me then..
In the last number of years there’s been more land bought around me with non farming money than farming money. Apart from them its the dairy farmers next in line.
what other business can be bought so easily and passed on to your child for the tax benefits.
The child has to pass the farmer test in order to get farm relief, but that's an easy enough test to comply with.
100% several farmers bought land around here with farming income making up a tiny percentage of there income