I know a guy locally who never milked more than 80 cows over the years kept half of the calves and reared them. Had 60k+ of payments for years up to recently, 300 owned acres. This is the type of guy bass is imaging never had to touch the sfp, no rental costs and virtually no fertilizer bill and very little need for concentrate supplementation as he has twice the amount of land for the stock he’s carrying. People like that guy are very few and far between and you can in no way generalize them with the run of the mill dairy farmer.
What % of dairy farmers bought what % of land, dairy/tillage/beef farms that where well run historically and in companies, with high sfp's usually never had to use their sfp to subsidize the farm and it was squirreled away, with it been used as you have highlighted for land purchases....
My landlord was a case in point he was tallying up the other day he drew not far off 2 million since the sfp came in, before last years cuts he still had a payment of 55k for 2022 and was over the 100k at the start....
Making out that a average 150 cow herd in a company structure is sitting on millions in cash reserves because dairying is so astonishingly profitable, dairy farms are banking 10 plus cent a litre in retained profits is my issue with your ramblings and 20 cent cop remarks
Farming in France is not a bed of roses all the time and weather is a factor too, being there in august when it’s burnt brown and cattle are getting the winter feed to keep them going. Costs in France have increased like us also and their government don’t care about farming.
+1, I never heard the rain as bad baitin the windows last night, luckily enough not cow decided to pop
The article in today's FI would uphold my ramblings.
Farmers bought 67% of land sold, 7.7% was sold to investors renting land. Land sales up 30% with prices only slightly up.
The key thing to look at is the mention that over 60% is bought with cash reserves with only 30% purchasers resorting to borrowing.
Maybe they are not too few and far between.
In REA auctioneers sales only about 9% of buyers are investor's that rent land. Even if they Rea are an outlier( excluding potential development land nears urban centers) its hard to see rents being a factor in more than 10-15% of sales.
It's farmers that drive the price of land and company setups are the main factor now.
One was a unit that measures the milk. The other was a unit that dumps the milk.
Stenaline are down a boat ATM. Not due back for another few weeks
What do you mean by a block?
Thermo was 900k and tbc was 500k. Found one block cracked and 3 other sections on the line were rotten. Presumed the cracked block caused all the problems. Changed every thing and cleaned like ****. Took a while to figure out that machine was washing properly in the first place causing all my problems.
How high was your thermo and what do you think sorted it?
27 litre
4.26 fat
3.42 prot
Urea 29
Scc 198
38% 'grazed'.
DIM 104.
Had problems with tbc and thermo but hopefully sorted now. Calving going OK. Over half spring ones done. Iv 7 Calving in June but I'm not counting them. I'll have to keep them housed incase the neighbours see them springing!!
The beauty of a drought is very little work to be done!
Some people have little to be at, too much time on their hands
Few locals having a meltdown this evening over a bit of clay been brought out onto a road where I was at slurry, its rented ground and got a call from lad I'm renting it off to give the road a scrape off, which the ole lad was in the process off, was maybe 10 shovel fulls of clay on the road in the end, but you'd think you where after putting half the field out onto the road with their reactions
We dont all have land like yours. A good dry summer for me. Having said that we got on grand last year.
Sold silage in 18, wet cold years always the worst here. 12/ 13 the worst by a long shot. A lot of different preferences for a little country, but commentary seems to be more about drought proof this and that but tbh it's a rare enough thing,
I'll take the drought next time so if you don't mind.
We've had many different weather events over the past 10 years.. the drought in 2018 was for me the worst.. give me a summer like last year over a repeat of 2018 any day
They never mention the drought, I'd love a good long drought this year
Same BS out of them every year. I was at a grass group the other day snf they had all their slides and percentages, etc. Shocked at the bad weather then like. Every single year.... get the Urea out ASAP
IFJ then have pics of cows out on fine land in a low rainfall area and suggest we should all be pricking around with it. Just make sure to be finished for 6 in the evening.
Is there a boat going tomorrow? Big clearout of calves here today, sold to farmers.
Seems to be more demand for shipping calves in Gortatlea and Castleisland today. Prices up.
They’d want to get a grip. It’s bloody spring in Ireland. It’s always wet. It’ll dry up soon and it’ll all be forgotten
It even protects against the rain.
That 12 month rearing lark is on the cards here. Have an outfarm, have shed space and have the nitrates available. I also have a good enough type of cow to produce a calf worth rearing. All I need to do now is convince the boss that those few sucklers he wants about the place need to go.
Great teat spray 👌
30 years here listening to that same tune. It's going to be the same story lads throwing themselves at a bit of ground or a bigger grant from the government cos we don't have enough makes uppy young farmers 🤔 such a load of bollix the whole lot of it
Ark Shield from Joe Reilly.
Waiting on an IBC of it here.
Faraway hills KG.
Weather 10x more extreme here…13 dry days since 17th Oct and 1.5yrs rainfall. Not to mention proper droughts and heatwaves!
Can anyone recommend a good teat spray? For both pre and post spraying.
A spray gentle on teats would be a bonus