Drop 2/3 million on a farm and then sink another million into a yard you’d know it was a Kerry man you’re dealing with….
I would be thinking that this might be a part of a clearance sale the numbers are big for a family type farm them lads late father was a great dairy man died in a freak accident few years back
Savage cows but their use of mogul/mogul sons still in their breeding programs, is madness, he throws lovely vg/ex stock but his daughters have really bad scc issues simply don't last
just watched a bit of the greenlawn sale with taaffe on livestock live some fancy money been payed but some very classy looking stock on display fair play to the two lads Involved
Not richer at all, in the case of forestry they would be just devaluing their land and basically selling it off at a huge discount and organics is just a dead loss..
10 unit parlour is obsolete. Jesus is there any hope at all I wonder....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6kGUv6Cl-Q&list=PLUpCUR75vVRWlWjNpq8OSCY7RSI9oq0MY
New calf shed by Colm O'Leary.... his Mammy has a column in the comic every week.... no expense spared here either
Sounds like the start of a multi unit dairy marriage made in heaven🤣
Apologies.
Kev seemed to be saying that forestry incentives and organic payments are costing farmers.
I however would suggest that farmers who avail of these schemes would be all the richer for it.
Now looking back at the post and realising I am in the dairy thread, what he probably meant was it is costing dairy farmers.
The buildings are of course better than no buildings at all but IMHO a person would be better off buying a similar amount of land with no buildings on it and being able to start from scratch. A 10 unit parlour is pretty obsolete by today’s standards and as you mentioned there’s no house on it.
I saw this farm for sale lately, a smashing farm altogether. I think they were looking for about €3 million for it https://www.property.ie/commercial-property/Moymet-Dunderry-Co-Meath/18553546/
I don't know the girl, but are you not a bitteen worried that your girlfriend is checking out local land prices
The girlfriend mentioned to me about a massive dairy farm for sale in the county for a load of money.
I don't know any of the parties involved at all but with no residence on the farm and @12k per acre with a very small existing parlour then it only makes sense to a neghbour in reality?
What are you rambling about ......make sentences out of your jumble of words please.
Whatever about the concrete, nitrates and set aside, the organic and forestry is done mostly by farmers is it not, for the money?
Not really,if they do extra work they should get paid. The big problem is we're not getting paid what we should. Everyone else is upping their bills . Ie contractors etc and our milk price and bank accounts were going in the opposite direction. When this happens and bills bigger than you expect come in the front door it naturally pisses people off
Fire out the protected urea now in the snow. Badly needed. What could possibly go wrong
Teagasc sent a letter today looking for 160euro to do a nutrient management plan. I got one done last year, so that should do. They took 100 last year for Acre's, that's going to be an annual event now that I wasn't told about. Even though they got paid well to do the plan. I give them 350 every year for the contract.
They are getting a bit hungry. ?
Intrest rates re big investments are what's killing the thing, running through a few ideas this morning re a project that I had in my head, and when you realise 100k over 10 years will be costing you 33-38k at an intrest rate between 6 and 7% it really takes the gloss of any big capital expenditure
Sure they got it into the journal anyway and that's PRICELESS
Neighbour thought I was mad retrofitting an old shed for calves in second yard, tbh it was the cheapest way I could do it and still have space. Will prob cost sbout 40k if I include the feeder i bought last year in costs and should do 120 calves with space for 40 more at home if stuck. Some lads may have done it cheaper but I got in lads to do concrete for me. Building a new shed would have added a fair extra whack to it, old shed has a solid enough roof and steel was all in the walls so very good at ground level.
Would never be against facility investment but if large borrowings are required it's hard to know what to do way things are. Wrong time of year to make out and out decisions bit I can vary between fcuk this getting out of the whole thing or go all in and whatever happens happens
A protected market over there, how could it work here with the amount we export
I was wondering do many of you know people who got into dairy farming after the quotas got abolished and if so how did those new entrants into dairy farming get on after making the big change?
my own take on the quotas is that they should never have been brought in in the first place if there was ever a question of them being abolished. Over in Canada the milk quotas are sometimes worth more than their farms and the farmers get paid properly for their milk there too
What's more he's going to have big problems with that shed as its too high. I've been improving mine over the last year and from all the research I've come to the conclusion calf sheds should be warm above everything else and your better off putting in a fan to provide clean constant air instead of these high roofs which create cold conditions and get rid of any ventilated sheeting or the like.
That makes perfect sense - viewing them as annuals or bi-annuals rather than a quick fix replacement for fertiliser. Which is pretty much what the Dept/Teagasc are saying here.
Glancing through the journal and the feature on the new 170 calf shed and its costings is eye-opening, 155k plus vat, put out over 10 years at 6% intrest its circa 1700 euro a month leaving the current account....
220 cow herd x 6000 litres, circa 1320000 produced, adding nearly 2 cent a litre to cop over 10 years and that's not accounting for the proable loss on excess beef/ male dairy calves reared, our derogation been pulled back to 170kgs/n, the escalating costs in simply trying to standstill and compliant really are mounting
Mss swards etc aren't a fixed rotation permanent crop, their a annual/bi-annual crop designed as a replacement/high energy crop when drought hits your rye-grass swards....
This man's knowledge and research into this whole area would be a good starting point for teagasc etc to follow he's been at it the past 30 odd years, what's been pricked around at here by teagasc /seed companies is a piss-take
https://notmanpasture.com.au/multispecieblends/
It'll like the selective dry cow therapy, who foots the bill when it goes wrong
That’s my experience with it too. I tried MSS in 2019 and it’s all docks now. No question, my inexperience managing it played a part but equally it’s not like I left it to its own devices either.
Will reseed this year with PRG and extra clover.
Giving out free MSS seed and advice in the media might reflect well on the Dept but it also turns farmers into mere vessels
https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/better-beef-thrive-and-earlier-finish-on-multi-species-swards/
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0167880922004844
Also benefits in terms of drought resistance in swards
Clear worm load benefits in terms of thrive in young stock based on research on lamb thrive too - both here and across the Irish Sea
https://businesswales.gov.wales/farmingconnect/business/european-innovation-partnership-eip-wales/approved-eip-wales-projects/impact-herbal-leys
Can't but help thinking the Greens set up the hit on derogation in programme for government...