Will each one of the shareholders actually get the Kerry plc share certificates that Kerry coop hold at the moment or the cash value equilavant of those Kerry plc shares in the event of the potential winding up of the Kerry coop....at least with the plc certs, you'd be hoping for a higher plc share price in the future if you had the choice of having the plc share cert intact....even at 5 plc shares for 1 coop share would be acceptable if in cert form.
Anyone follow Kevin Drennan Independent Farmers of Ireland on Facebook. Some great videos.
The thing that I can’t understand is this.
I’m a young dairy farmer. I’m milking 200 cows. I sold all of my co-op shares, at todays share price I got the equivalent of about 7.25 PLC shares
the co-op won’t be taking any shares off me because I already sold all mine.
So instead of taking co-op shares off me the co-op will go around the road I live on now and take shares off the widow women and guys who got out of dairy farming 30 years ago or whatever.
these retired farmers and widow women are badly off as it is and their children’s inheritance will be confiscated to buy me a milk plant when I’ve already got a big dairy farm and sold every last one of my own shares and invested the money in property
if people feel the need to go out and buy the likes of me a milk plant then fair play to them but I struggle to make sense of it
It’s never going to happen though so I wouldn’t get too worked up over it, it’ll keep getting kicked down the road no way dry shareholders will ever allow it to.
I agree 100% with you. My own honest opinion is that it won’t ever even make it to a shareholder vote.
Something else I should have mentioned is this:
if a man only has 30 cows and has 1,000 co-op shares, he’ll get the 20% haircut like everyone else but despite making a massive contribution towards buying the milk plant (considering the size of his farm) he’ll have the same amount of cents per litre deducted from his milk as a guy who had absolutely zero co-op shares but is milking 300 cows
what I’m trying to say is people won’t be credited in any way for the haircut on their shares. I’ve been saying it for a long time but liquidation is the best answer. Let people get 6.15 PLC shares per co-op share and they’d get about €16.50 of a top up on the shares between the cash in the bank and the full whack of that years dividends
You posted already that a Kerry coop proposal was it to be liquidated being voted at this year at a shareholders agm?
I remember the had 2 cows up on a platform in my local parish and milked them. Funnily enough one of theain farmers behind the big party got out of cows last year.
Sorry I should have explained it better first time around.
There is talk of Kerry Co-op being liquidated in the summer. However what “the powers that be” want to do to you all is loot Kerry Co-op first of somewhere between 10-20% of the total value of the co-op and then liquidate what’s left.
I think people are entitled to the full value of their own assets. I believe each shareholder should get 6.15 Kerry Group PLC shares per Co-op share and the whole lot of the cash in the bank.
It is absolutely mind boggling that Kerry Co-op think widow women and OAP’s should vote to give away 10-20% of their shares to buy the likes of me a milk plant
Personally I don’t want to take one cent off anyone. As the grandson of one of the founding members of the co-op I would like to see shareholders get every penny that is theirs.
There is no need to get worked up over it. It will never happen.
Interesting. Before we all go setting
One of the benefits not mentioned in that piece is its natural anti parasitic properties - especially for vulnerable young stock which as we all know is becoming more and more of an issue as resistance to conventional wormers continues to grow alarmingly. Don't really buy the narrow CO2 angle in that article eitheir in terms of looking at narrow "production" criteria, as swards with a deeper rooting herbal elements typically sequester more Carbon overall then monoculture swards which also usually require more carbon intensive inputs too.
Johnstown castle have research done on mss swards vs conventional and found little to no difference between groups of stock in terms of growth rates, carcass weights and worm burden
Much lower stocking rates to make it last as well along with a longer rotation
Research by UCD Lyons Estate found the exact opposite, which has been mine experience too
Since the greens have got into government, I wonder how much they have costed farmers between concrete levys, no fight against nitrates, more land for set aside, organics, forestry leading to higher rents/price.
UCD found no difference between clover/ryegrass and MSS. They didn't highlight that in the media blurbs
A bloody lot is how much
The first I saw or heard of MSS was around 5 or 6 years ago when a local dairy man who would be involved in plenty of Teagasc research planted some. For the first 2 years he was very happy with it, by the 4th year he was disgusted and resowed it into grass.
If ever you want to make an expensive mess out of a field then mss is the way to do it from what I seen of it.
Can't but help thinking the Greens set up the hit on derogation in programme for government...
https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/better-beef-thrive-and-earlier-finish-on-multi-species-swards/
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0167880922004844
Also benefits in terms of drought resistance in swards
Clear worm load benefits in terms of thrive in young stock based on research on lamb thrive too - both here and across the Irish Sea
https://businesswales.gov.wales/farmingconnect/business/european-innovation-partnership-eip-wales/approved-eip-wales-projects/impact-herbal-leys
That’s my experience with it too. I tried MSS in 2019 and it’s all docks now. No question, my inexperience managing it played a part but equally it’s not like I left it to its own devices either.
Will reseed this year with PRG and extra clover.
Giving out free MSS seed and advice in the media might reflect well on the Dept but it also turns farmers into mere vessels
It'll like the selective dry cow therapy, who foots the bill when it goes wrong
Mss swards etc aren't a fixed rotation permanent crop, their a annual/bi-annual crop designed as a replacement/high energy crop when drought hits your rye-grass swards....
This man's knowledge and research into this whole area would be a good starting point for teagasc etc to follow he's been at it the past 30 odd years, what's been pricked around at here by teagasc /seed companies is a piss-take
https://notmanpasture.com.au/multispecieblends/
Glancing through the journal and the feature on the new 170 calf shed and its costings is eye-opening, 155k plus vat, put out over 10 years at 6% intrest its circa 1700 euro a month leaving the current account....
220 cow herd x 6000 litres, circa 1320000 produced, adding nearly 2 cent a litre to cop over 10 years and that's not accounting for the proable loss on excess beef/ male dairy calves reared, our derogation been pulled back to 170kgs/n, the escalating costs in simply trying to standstill and compliant really are mounting
That makes perfect sense - viewing them as annuals or bi-annuals rather than a quick fix replacement for fertiliser. Which is pretty much what the Dept/Teagasc are saying here.
What's more he's going to have big problems with that shed as its too high. I've been improving mine over the last year and from all the research I've come to the conclusion calf sheds should be warm above everything else and your better off putting in a fan to provide clean constant air instead of these high roofs which create cold conditions and get rid of any ventilated sheeting or the like.
I was wondering do many of you know people who got into dairy farming after the quotas got abolished and if so how did those new entrants into dairy farming get on after making the big change?
my own take on the quotas is that they should never have been brought in in the first place if there was ever a question of them being abolished. Over in Canada the milk quotas are sometimes worth more than their farms and the farmers get paid properly for their milk there too
A protected market over there, how could it work here with the amount we export
Neighbour thought I was mad retrofitting an old shed for calves in second yard, tbh it was the cheapest way I could do it and still have space. Will prob cost sbout 40k if I include the feeder i bought last year in costs and should do 120 calves with space for 40 more at home if stuck. Some lads may have done it cheaper but I got in lads to do concrete for me. Building a new shed would have added a fair extra whack to it, old shed has a solid enough roof and steel was all in the walls so very good at ground level.
Would never be against facility investment but if large borrowings are required it's hard to know what to do way things are. Wrong time of year to make out and out decisions bit I can vary between fcuk this getting out of the whole thing or go all in and whatever happens happens
Sure they got it into the journal anyway and that's PRICELESS