I meant voucher as in, the bottle/can return voucher. You cant use that when making a new order.
We are talking about the DRS system. When I said voucher, I assumed most people understood that I meant the voucher you get when you return your bottles. I mostly use Tesco and of course I can use my clubcard vouchers when making an order.
What about the TAX MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
feck him, you keep quite and shuddup. honestly thats a good question, but he was'nt asking about the tax side of things so i had assumed he already know about capital gains tax and other income related taxes surrounding this. All the required taxes should be paid. But it would be nice if there was a law in this country that allowed one to keep the gains without being taxed if they are recycling the stuff as its cleaning the environment and doing the country a favor.
if looking at this seriously, there's a threshhold one must exceed before being required to register and pay for the gains gained from this. Most people will not ever reach this thresh hold as it requires a vast excessive volume of recycleables to reach this number.
on a positive note it would be nice to see the tax man fighting with the green man in a boxing or wrestling ring. in office or in parliament.
You must have sorted a handy way to get these recyclables in good condition. Fair play to you. I hope you post bigger and bigger vouchers here.
As for gains all the average Joe gains with Re-Turn is working pro bono and lost deposits.
i guess what it really comes down to is how one aquired those bottles/cans. You bring up a really good point, which basically translates in my mind to: haha taxman, there's no gains here! these are all "deposits", so i'm only getting my money back and not really gaining anything. wink wink. i'm making profit? prove it mr tax man oink oink. no piece of the pie for u ;)
Just call yourself "Not for Profit"
brilliant idea, also convenient for everyone!
The only "hassle" I have at the moment, is having to separate out the non deposit stuff and deposit paid stuff. In a few months it'll be alot easier.
In fairness most people are just a bit sour because they used to put the containers into the general bin or fling them into the bush without any real care about the environment
I don't waste much time at an RVM, I generally bring the odd bottle or 2 when I'm going doing the shopping in the same bag I use to bring my shopping back home
Going to the shop for my weekly or sometimes twice weekly shop suits me and most other people better than having to waste time staying at home waiting for the grocery delivery man and paying the delivery charge for the privilege
Since this came in I'm down about 15 quid. If BoardsBottler has figured out a way for my deposit to go from the RVM, to his wallet then so be it. Maybe he can buy me a few pints some time.
I went up last night with a load of printed bar codes stuck on cans without the logo that ive been keeping separate to the recycling. Nice little earner. I think you could actually stick the bar codes on strips of paper too and not even have to have them on cans and bottles. Might try that and see if it works this week.
I just said fuk it, everyone else is doing it why dont i.
No, people are "a bit sour" because they have been diligently using their green bins for many years, and now are being punished for those who haven't.
Those are the people you are sniping at, and are choosing to ignore with your dismissive attitude.
If you want to go to a supermarket twice a week, knock yourself out, I really don't care how you choose to waste your time - but don't claim what suits you, applies to "most people".
Do not make such sweeping generalisations about the posters here. To do so is trolling. Next time threadban.
do not reply to me on thread.
Not everyone drives a car, and sure isn’t that what Greens want? All a bit ironic.
Just back from Super Valu-as a visitor-brought in an elderly neighbor. Sign up at RVM,
Cash Refunds are only available 11am-12pm and 2pm-3pm at the Express Counter.
The RVM machines Ive used in other places use an infra red beam to get the size and shape of the can or bottle, so I think you will need to stick them to something. It could also look suspicious to anyone passing if you are seen getting the voucher using just paper. If you have home made barcodes on bottles, you can just plead ignorance and say they were like that when you bought them.
Deary me. Shops doing as they please. Once you get past the RVMs its on to the voucher redeem scheme in store. How it goes nobody knows 🤣 What a carry on.
Ah here 🤣🤣
And only in months with a T in their name. Crazy stuff.
So, tough luck if you're at work.
I think we need a name-and-shame thread for these places who are making it as awkward as possible.
So far, Super-Valu seems to be winning.
Super Valu is a big fact loser for me so far. The one near me wouldnt scan the voucher, and I had to go to customer services, not just scan it at the till.
It's safe to say the implementation is different not chain to chain, but shop to shop.
This year is a leap year. It could be only during leap years but we haven't noticed yet.
The greens want us to use public transport, or to hitch hike or walk, or use a bike, or even worse...... buy an electric car and pay a massive upfront cost for their happiness. i was considering bringing my cans to an RVM via a wheelbarrow as a joke. greens can't complain about that.
(a shopping trolley is much easier though)
no, thats still an addition to some wrong doing by acknowledging it and then feigning ignorance to justify. a simple "i don't know what you're talking about" denial, and ignoring everything else is much better overall. With the occasional odd "mind your own busineuss" or "the machine disagrees with you" thrown in.
i would disagree, or atleast nominate tesco and centra up there at the top. Although as good as aldi machines are they are sometimes just left there not working or needing to be reset by a worker which can be annoying. but atleast they keep the place clean and don't require you to walk all the way into the store with a bag before being able to redeem.
Current set up:
3 small indoor bins - general waste, recycling, compost with 3 large corresponding bins outside. Wash recyclables and allow to dry.
Collect empty cans and plastic bottles for refund.
Collect glass jars and bottles for bottle bank.
Collect old clothes for recycling/charity shop.
Collect old batteries and hope I remember them when I go shopping.
Collect old bulbs for return.
If this continues we're all going to need an extension for the sorting and storage of used goods.
I don't drive a car to my local shop, but if I did I'd probably not be an idiot and use the same car trip to drop the cans off to do the shopping.
Some people can't get their head around driving to the shop with the cans / bottles and home with the groceries in the same trip