And not just in farming, we are completely out of kilter with most of Europe and further a field.. becoming a very 2 tiered society
The Co-op are in a very strong position imo... the PLC as u say want rid of it but are stuck with it..... the Co-op can take it or leave it... the longer it goes on the less the Dairy business is worth.... with a dwindling milk pool which could dwindle even more rapidly than expected if derogation is pulled... the Co-op should take their time over this one....
Sorry but you are waffling. Kerry group are processing about a billion litres of milk a year. You are claiming that farmers supplying them are underpaid by 8-10c/L. Kerry's milk price is comparable to if not ahead of Tirlan and Dairygold which have comparable milk pools.
Large companies expect about a 20%+, ROI to cover costs. As for dry "B&C" shareholders trusting "A'' shareholders, if they had not revolted a few years ago the A shareholders would have overpaid for the processing part of the business by 400 million by some calculations here.
Kerry co-op is unique among Irish co-op as it created an entity Kerry Group that is worth many multiples of the Co-op its. The value Tirlan pales in comparison and that is with KG at probably a 5+ year low.
It BS to compare the value the milk business has added to the group compared to the growth of the group in the last 40 years. You have to look at tge history and creation of KG.
The 8 small co-op's that formed amalgamated into Kerrygroup. However at the same time many members of these coops ceased milk production for a variety of reasons, mainly because of land type many remained as active sheep and cattle farmers 10-20 years ago.
Farmer often made decisions to give the land one child and disperse the shareholding amount there other children. This lead to the creation of different types of shareholders along with grey market trading of shares.
There was an attempted power grab a few years ago by a cohort of A shareholders. However it had limited backing of even A shareholders especially with the age profile of dairy farmers.
The biggest problem for the remaining shareholders is if the shareholding drops below a certain amount it could trigger a capital gains event that wipes everybody out.
Technically there is no active shareholders in KCC. KCC trades nothing its a holding company who raisin de etre is it shareholding in Kerry Group.
Thanks for the historical lessons.. and you're mostly correct. But I never mentioned the plc I don't care about the plc I'm just saying it would be completely mad for farmers to put their own money into buying a very low returns business.............an uncle was involved in the plc and was along for the ride when Kerry really got going. I wouldn't let a red cent of my money be involved in buying plants
Ya I find the running costs just gone banana's here the last while
So are the farmers/milk suppliers better off with the current setup for as long as it continues despite the findings from the recent survey which had a 55% response rate and overwhelming support for processing control especially among younger milk suppliers. Or if Kerry Coop doesn't buy the processing plant, will there be a 3rd party buyer out there for it, as we all know that Kerry PLC would love to be shot of it. Can't wait to see who it all spins out.
Everything is gone way up in price, even getting a takeaway is gone mad. Glad to have my building work done
I see on another forum it was posted there's 25 milk suppliers after exiting in Wexford in the last year. A fairly good guess a good proportion would have been straw bedding as traditional in Wexford with historical the lowest price paid for straw in the country as in a heartland of straw. But the changes in government incentives not to sell straw on price would have meant increases of thousands in euro over a farmer who set up cubicles years ago.
Now they don't have to spend on slurry storage or straw buying or spend time milking cows.
Ya definitely whelan id say ye are delighted to be done from a cost point of view. Hope its running smoothly building costs are mental I don't think I'd tackle it now myself. Got dinner out the other day myself and the missius (just ordinary diner) was dear enough. ......but got a chipper takeaway two evenings ago for myself herself and one other child and it was nearly twice the price of the proper dinners.😬😬😬😬😳😳😳
Used to go to a takeaway on way back from football, not anymore. Over 50 euro for a takeaway. Just have to make time to cook at home or get my family to get their finger out
See ballyhaise saying in the journal they spread slurry in January. Closed period until February 1st in cavan
what we're you getting for 50 in the take away sounds pricy alright
There's 5 of us
Was in centra yesterday €5.70 for a whole chicken. Did a few spuds and veg and gravy. 5 of us fed for under a tenner .
😬😬😬😬😳😳😳😳🤦♂️some mothers do have them maybe it was washings ....... or maybe its all just made up as they go along 🤔
Ya it's so easy to spend 50 anyway depending on the takeaway. I see macdonalfs is bit cheaper but personally I wouldn't give it to the neighbours dog(and I really don't like the dog)
Apache would be the best value around here. €14 for a fresh cod meal in local chipper, not that long ago it was 9 euro.
Teagasc managing to convince lads that sexed semen and beef bulls on their jrx cows was going to solve the national calf issue is dying a very quick death too, watching a sale yesterday and month old hr/aax of Jrx cows selling from 5 to 10 euro..
Good aax calves after them 65kgs going for 170, I wonder when the ebi beef indexs will be updated to reflect what's happening on the ground, 650kgs plus hols cows having a worse beef index than your high ebi goat isn't logically anymore
I'd say teagasc hardly believe that "solution" themselves
Hardly overwhelming support with a 55% response rate from the most optimistic suppliers. Ticking a box is one thing, putting your hand in a pocket is another story altogether for those lads.
They will never change it until they capitulate that the whole set up of cow type was a mistake. The Jersey crosses were a really really bad base but the little ebi cows used back on these are a disaster.
Is it true that cows are gone as small as lads are saying to me. (I wouldn'tbe in yards to see them).
Killed an empty heifer last year and some deer also in the freezer. Really saves on the butcher bill.
Bought a ninja air fryer and a slow cooker. Money well spent, have very few take aways, the timers are great as no risk of burning the dinner (once you know the correct amount of time). We bought a smart plug for the slow cooker so that can be turned on or off when we're not there.
Put a high ebi stock bull here on the heifers for one cross back just to clean up after ai and his heifers calving down last year and this year are a foot on average smaller height wise, their tanks of heifers in-fairness as he had a touch of br fr, in him, and will cross back nice to a good holstein but how badly their type was affected with just one cross was hard to believe
After talking to a couple of new ones the other day I don't think they are capable of thinking anything else.
Do you like the deer I only ever had a piece of steak of one ...or that's what I was told anyway
There wasn't much highbred vigor there...
I have to try it, guy shoots deer here gave me loads and he shoots on de land here no fuss. The calf is meant to be the best so I'm told
There was a hell of a sale for dairy cows in mid tipp mart today
there seems to be a massive trend now- good cows with milk are averaging twice as much as high ebi and xbred stock
We’re they not high ebi stock ?