The thing is what does it matter to farmers who owns it. Anybody that would buy it would still need milk supply. Perhaps they as you say could cash in some of the real estate but it still would't come anything close to 600 million.
I think 600 million is the ballpark figure at present. Brosnan said in an article a few weeks ago that the milk suppliers had to find there own way to buy it.
His opinion that the present co-op structure is open to court challenge( a,b and c shareholders) as ''A'' shareholders with about 25% of the shares control 90% of the board as well as the impact on other shares if the share % falls below a certain threshold
You have to look at property value as well as ROI. Kerry processing and stores are situated on some very valuable sites if hired off and sold separately. Many of there commercial sites would run onto several million in vulue
800m is a crazy figure, at a 3% margin (standard in ireland), thats 36m it would take 22 years to pay back the investment...best of luck to scanlon finding an outside investor
the kerry processing is valueless unless they are selling it with guaranteed future supplies and they cant do that.....our tirlan directors were very weak in this area made us sign MSA prior to buyback and as a result tirlan coop over payed for assets back from plc....all your buying back in second hand stainless steel and we all know how little our parlors are worth after commissioning
icos should stand up and stop these MSA they are working to the disadvantage of coop members and the advantage of plcs
For a business turning 1.2 billion?
Good luck.i think sort it out amongst yerselves
Have you a brisket pipe /board to keep the cows back further on the cubicle bed? What are yiu using to clean them off? An aluminium concrete rake(flat blade) is the best tool for that job. After that ask Santy for a cubicle bedder, you'll start to enjoy the job then!
Last time they were asking 800 million. But I think Scanlon is desperate to get rid of it. He believes rightly or wrongly it is holding back their share price.
Not a chance I'd say.what would be the price tag?.don't think any outsider is going to be any better than kerry was
How are lads dealing with soiling in cubicles? Spending half an hour brushing them before liming and it feels like I'm only spreading the shite around if I'm being honest
Are you not worse off with it
With the change in Kerry CoOp chairman and after the speech by Denis Brosnan in Killarney, Scanlon know he is screwed and wont be getting his hands on the CoOps millions. I think it would be just what the Irish dairy industry needs for an outside commercial company to buy it, would shake up the cartel among milk processors at the moment.
Nice heifer
Ye had to look to see which thread I was on
For a moment I thought Wicklow calf company was trying to buy Kerrys milk business. A small moment of laughter
I d say the price will be too hot.would t be massive interest in West cork
Mr Scanlon's nose is getting long. Didn't they claim last time when they were trying to sell the dairy business to Kerry CoOp that they had another bidder.
https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/kerry-group-boss-says-hes-open-to-inbound-inquiries-about-irish-dairy-arm/a2008648636.html
Yellow crash barriers have water drinkers mounted on each one, one drinker does 2 pens, calves just pop their head through from other side
The lad from Redhouse holsteins when he gave the presentation to the Kerry holstein breeders club said he doesn,t like to see a VG first calver, prefers them to mature and improve with age.
We are using a lot of Dutch and German bulls now. Stopped using US bulls.
What's the yellow n bars in the middle
It's a weird path alot of pedigree holstein irish breeders are at, type and getting ex cows comes before actually breeding a good robost solid holstein with good bf/pr, it's almost impossible to get a nicely breed American holstien bull with good fertility/bf/pr their all still chasing type,my heifers of Irish holstein stock bulls are alot more extreme/fragile than my ai breed stock
Below example is a westcoast river incalf heifer of a jabir dam
Really functional dairy cows
The fellow who bought the Brown Swiss won't get caught again, they can puff up great on the first month but they're only brown holsteins after.
I wouldn't like to be trying to keep them going. The thoroughbreds of cattle.
Are the shippers buying calves these days.
Had some in the mart today made from 80 down to 40, one Brown Swiss lad made 175.
Were 3 weeks old on ad lib milk.
New calf/calving shed we are at the last two months, just about done probably the last major project that ill have to do in my lifetime bar extra slurry storage depending on any new regulations....
Probably puts us over the million spent on infrastructure etc since I started dairying back in 2012
Some farmers have put to yard into the company for this reason.
It hasn't been raised as a issue yet in our set up maybe it's to do with the length of lease
Dairy show and sale in New Ross
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/EWudE8Mf5uustroK/?mibextid=WC7FNe
The thing is if you are using the ltd to buy land are you going to have more capital allowances down the line, due to extra stock and future slurry storage requirements. Depreciation of this might be an issue say if they are done on a farmyard that is leased to the company
If your finished with capital allowances would ye be better off incorporated
That's right. There's no cost to that money though. You wouldn't have more profit by borrowing the money instead