I have used one in Dunnes. There was one person ahead of me... otherwise Ive seen no one using them across multiple retailers.
Bonus points - the item I returned and got 25c back for was bought pre Feb 1st without deposit charged!
I wouldn’t be able to say I’ve seen anyone use one either. And my local dunnes has almost no non return bottles or cans for sale at the moment.
Why do you need to give it time?
Was the Old stock not being recycled?
Do we need New stock? Will it be recycled in some way different to the old stock?
Is there some new magic benefit to this new charging system!!
in fairness isn’t the main point here to reduce the amount we consume single use plastic in general?
Give it time as new stock replaces old stock.
I’ve yet to one person using them 🤷🏼♂️
That reflects the views of many decent people who have been doing their best to recycle and paying for it. Unlike the feckers who dumped plastic bags of domestic rubbish on our road today.
It's simply inexcusable and it has to be repeated ad nauseum, that this deposit concept has not been integrated into the existing recycling collection system. A slap in the face for those who have been making the effort. Banana Republic run by Donkeys.
And yes, it is a topic of current discussion among our neighbours in real life.
The Green Man will be back again in 10-15 years to tell us all that RVMs were the wrong way to go and we all need to do it X way.
Q New Logo. But this is the best way I promise.
TBH. Probably the best way to be environmental at this stage is barrel and canister of petrol.
Cut out the theatrics and the polluting middle men.
Yep. After 25 years of trying to be environmentally responsible in general, including recycling everything I can, I'm out. Every piece of waste will now being going to landfill
Considering how little of our 'recyclables' has actually been getting recycled, your statement about sending everything to landfill is not as bad as it sounds. Which is the worst option?:
The plastic coming from RVM's may stand a better chance of actually being recycled, but my eyes have been opened to the bollix of 'putting your plastic in the recycle bin'. Reduce sure, Reuse sure, Recycle highly unlikely.
Yep. After 25 years of trying to be environmentally responsible in general, including recycling everything I can, I'm out. Every piece of waste will now being going to landfill.
Scheme is fine for people who drive everywhere and do large shops in bulk. Handy enough to throw all your empties in the back of the car and drop them off at your next shop.
For anyone who actually uses public transport, and gets their main shop by delivery, it's completely unworkable. Options are to throw all your empties in a sack and lug them on the bus to work, then stop somewhere on the way home to return them; or just eat the extra cost, in which case not a single item will be going in the green bin from now on.
If you're elderly or infirm and rely on delivery, you don't even have the "throw it all in a sack" option.
It's not a deposit, it's a tax which actually targets people who were less likely to pollute. Genius.
We are being screwed over, somehow they are now charging more to collect less !! just so some ejit to claim they have done something.
We were already recycling all plastic, in our collection bins, and there is no reason to come up with another system and cost, while at the same time making it harder to recycle, wate more energy in transport back toi shops, paper, machines etc.
And in the end possibly end up with what now looks like to be a triple cost...i.e 1) Paying the Deposit, 2)Paying higher standard bin changers, and 3)Paying extra weight charges for putting rejects back in the collection bin!!
Thanks for the advice!
My previous six month plan was 140----my renewal 2 months ago was 160---now as I posted before, it is 185. Nothing to due with the fact they will be collecting less aluminum I am sure!!!!!
I recommend you shop somewhere else then.
Jaysus.
It’s a topic of discussion right now on today fm with the minister
Impeccable timing. Story released just over 2 hours after your post.
Discussing mod actions - threadbanned
Our bins are fortunately still charged per lift and by weight. Composting for my fathers garden makes a difference. We've found an alternative way to dispose of stove ashes as they add a lot of weight to the black bin. Still using blue bin for all plastics and local bottle banks for glass and cans / tins. As said in the CA thread Ive decided to offset the deposit costs whatever way we can and just forget about using the RVMs. Cancelled Disney+ also. Life's too short to be out driving round looking for machines that might take your undamaged, washed out containers for maybe 10/15 euro per month.
Have you the option of pay by weight? My bin provider charges flat rate 6 months. The pbw wasn’t available yet they weight each bin load on the itemised breakdown
To find a cheaper way of not putting bins out and the higher monthly charges now and when only putting bins out when needed.
Might need more runs to recycle centre to get rid of stuff.
The bin companies receive subsidies plus income from raw material.
This has been removed.
The increase in prices for us all has been flagged and baked into the scheme.
Of course this being Ireland the extra charges to us will be based on the loss of Gross Income not Net, then you add plus X percent.
We don't regulate these things.
Greyhound mailed us to say the price was going up by €2.99 per month on 1st March.
'....compounded by increasing recycling prices and overheads.' No need to read between the lines imo, they know the aluminum will be out of the green bins people are putting out for them and are acting early.
I don't shop in Dunnes or accept receipts.
The 5 or 10 off is aimed at simpletons who believe they are saving money.
Most electronic shops will give you the option of an e-receipt.
You can be environmental like me too, and yes that affords one the right to 'whinge' about something that clearly isn't.
Because this is about the environment right, right?
Should really be an option to have the deposit paid out to an app so you can essentially save up the money and make a decent saving on groceries a couple of times a year rather than a few cent's here and there.
Swing and a miss.
FF thought it would be a great idea to guarantee the Irish banks' debts (with absolutely no idea how big those debts were) and once that was done, the country was fooked.
Believe it or not the ECB was opposed to us giving Irish banks a state guarantee...
Not much good if you don't have a Dunnes's near ya. My closest 90 km.
The bin charges shouldn't go up as these are calculated on weight (for most people) also the government is subsidizing the collection companies for any reduction is earnings
Ah yes, I must have misread when they ordered us to pay back the German banks who gambled on the Irish economy or else emergency funding would be withheld. How democratic of them. Letting us Irish have all that lovely debt.
They normally go up every year with my provider, and the cost of pretty much everything else has been going up quite a bit for the last couple of years too.
I renewed my 6 month plan 2 months ago @160.00 for 6 months. Going online as new customer-now €185.00