This weather would want to turn soon.messy weather on cubicles and hard to keep bedding dry nevermind the ground is sopping.
I had one cracked yoke, you know one of these that have a crazed look in the eyes. I dried her off straight after calving as couldn't chance it with kids around the parlour. Just looked her up there and lo and behold sire is fr5860! I must look up later to see if any more because in fairness the rest of the heifers are very placid.
Have anyone heifers/cows off of fr5860
i have six ready to calf, and training them to the parlour. I have some also from my own bull, which I could bring in to the dwelling house with me. The fr5860 heifers could easily run in Cheltenham while in a Spanish bull fighting ring. The most frightening yokes I have ever seen. Never have I seen such nervous heifers. Anyone else have that breed ?
Well if you make a profit of say 20 k in 23 you will pay 2.5 k in tax on it.if in 24 you decide to use it for on farm development there is only 17.5 k available. You can then subsequently use your capital allowance on 24 and preceeding years.correct me if I have it wrong
Where are you getting the cash Kev...
Is it easier to use cash in a company?
I have Outdoor cubicles so no problem!!@
Dairy farmers arguing about tax reminds me of a story from the eighties. Myself and my father were at the local garage, there was two local dairy farmers there complaining about all the tax they had to pay. When we were driving home my father said that if their fathers (both dead) could hear the sons moaning about paying tax they’d have some laugh. I asked why, he replied that neither of them had the arse in their trousers.
It doesn't come at a cost of 12.5%, it will all even off with capital allowances in the medium term anyway
Using duocell here and finding it very good but I'm not on straw, deosan teatfoam is another good one but stupidly dear.
How many of ye have planned to have 9m2 of shed space per cow?
I'm supplying tirlan unfortunately 😅
the far right are at it again
This was in the ifj yesterday, a lot are deciding not to work for nothing.
Had the supplier of the calf boluses I mentioned above here a few days ago.
This time last year he was saying there's a shocking amount of cows in the country.
The very first thing he said on opening the window a few days ago was there's a shocking lot of farmers in Wexford after getting out of cows. He couldn't understand it.
He was so sure of the situation last year in his head and this year he couldn't understand the situation. I thought it funny in a perverse sort of way. Outside observers are not always observant.
surprisingly enough we were up aswell, im putting the drop off down to management and breeding strategy. There are allot of lads focussing on solids at the expense of litres.
Valiant base versatile d once your not supplying tirlan
Was talking to the accountant yesterday with FDC. He was saying what they were finding it was the lads with the Jersey cross cows had the biggest reduction. I said that wasn't the fault of the Jersey cross but more the mind set of the owner of the Jersey cross. They expect them to milk on grass and fresh air.
We were actually up 11% in supply last year.
I suppose I'd ask a different question first.what do you want to do with that money and how do you want to invest it.please forgive me if I ve got this wrong but my understanding of yewtrees operation is that he uses the company to finance development from a savings rather than a borrowing perspective in that he uses the company to warehouse cash and its there when he needs it.thats fine but that money comes at a price tag of 12.5% versus borrowing at 5 to 6 %.that's fine as compounding will bring the cost of borrowing up and there's nothing wrong with minimising borrowing .I hope I am provoking abit of contemplation and I also would like to know more about how to use the mechanism
There is a certain value in being able to leave the money there in the company to decide what to do with it at a later date. None of us has a crystal ball to predict the future clearly and while it's always possible to manage tax as a sole trader reasonably well. Having money tied up in a pension etc and not accessible can ultimately cause similar issues as having money tied up in a company when you need it for personal use.
You should have given him a month's suspension.
There's very little abuse (there was only one smart alec who left a sarcastic comment on every video) but it wasn't worth the hassle either, given the time it took to record the various bits and then edit them together.
Having said that, I probably will make a few more 😂
I find virolac the best
Would any of ye have a suggestion for a good teat spray for milking on straw?
Ya definitely for last year weather and the price no one feed on extra meal in the areas that were not completely washed out and in the areas worst hit they fed silage but they didn't try chasing output because it was too expensive fella near me said he had heifers and second calvers near dry in September.
My point was that unless you are going to have 50k++ retained profits a company is of little advantage to you.
It's relatively easy to get to 200k in directors loans, I get to over 100k that myself on 60-70 acres with a stock value of 70k and unused depreciation of 40-50k. But directors loans are not money from the magic money tree. They already exist within the system and when they are used up they are gone
Most dairy farmers with 100 cows could probably hit 250k very comfortably, but unless you are throwing substantial cash free you will not draw down directors loans any faster than using standard deprecation especially if stock values are a substantial part of the equation. However of taxation is a issue its quite possible that stock values are minimal
However you are taking reliefs that would be available when you retire. My eldest lad will probably take over some of the farm in 4-5 years time. He will buy sheds and machinery off us we can take stock values tax free and use the 750k relief to shelter the machinery and sheds. And yes you can do the same within a company, but you can do it externally as well.
As well you have employer PRSI you no longer are a soke trader you are employed by the company, yes you can rent land and building to the company. But with renting you pay a K9 prsi stamp which has no benefits. You will still have to put some income through wages ( admittedly you can keep the rate low) to qualify for OAP and other benefits
When you employ family labour as a sole trader there is significant PRSI advantages compared to a company below 5k no PRSI above 5k PRSI 4%. A company pays 8.8%.
Previous there was an additional tax advantage to being employed by a company it allowed access to the PAYE credit however the earned income credit available to sole traders balanced that out.
Weather was a big factor too
Will you be back on youtube, or is there a world of abuse that comes with it, so not worth the hassle. Be interesting see you convert to dairy
Milk supplied to co-ops was back 4% in 2023 compared to 2022. First drop in 15 years
The debate on here is not great like I have my opinion and I ram it down your throat
yes for some people company is not the right thing to do but for some farms company is the right move and that’s okay too
What is wrong with directors loan of stock machinery and maybe some good will if you have a couple hundred thousand then is it not easier to build up this couple hundred in a company and use it as you will
farming is no picnic just because the accountant says you will make all the profits for ever does not mean you will not too many farmers near me buying land anyway when it was so called cheap at10k or dear now at 15 or 20