From that article; “Ashworth was never part of Howe’s inner circle”.
The head of all things football was never part of the manager’s inner circle? Surely that’s a bit mad?
20 million King dollars for the bestest Football Manager player in the British Isles
Joining a competitor is an official act. Ken’s point is he could be on gardening leave - NOT officially join Utd yet - but still have phone calls and pass on any player knowledge from his magic laptop etc. Obviously wouldn’t be able to surreptitiously do the full role, but could certainly provide guidance.
Peter Thiel and his machinations are far from meaningless. A ghoul among ghouls. Whatever his goals are they're certainly worth investigating. Something they didn't mention was that Thiel is deep into life extension research and this concept even as a way of gathering data would feed into that.
It was a lot more interesting than 20 minutes on why Duffer is going to get Shels to a top four finish in the cut-throat League of Ireland.
Sterling with the perfect level of celebrating against a previous team.
I couldn’t believe they had almost a full podcast on it. Way too much time spent on an absolutely nonsensical notion in my opinion.
Yeah, i enjoyed it.
I don't think it'll happen as an olympics alternative but we live in a world of cross fit games, ninja warrior, gladiators, Ireland's fittest family and various other sport competition entertainment shows. If he gets 15 athletes then someone will make a show out of it.
While I highly doubt it'll ever take place I still thought it was an interesting discussion.
A lot of time devoted to the enhanced games which is essentially a troll by Peter Thiel. I'd be very surprised id it took place
She’s always a hard listen and she was a hard listen on Fridays pod.
Remember when Ken was comparing Nathan Collins to van Dijk? 🫣
Ken is off next week so very unlikely :-)
Darwin week incoming
I think in fairness the lads said they would watch it. No doubt Sinead O'Carroll would not partake though.
I usually find her hard to listen to but she was good today. The whole issue really gets to the nub of what is sport about.
Love the hand wringing in the Roid Games discussion as if everyone and their mother wouldn’t gawk at it if it came to fruition.
That's my point. You can be put on Gardening Leave and be blocked from joining specific competitors for X amount of time.
I know someone made redundant recently and for them to get offered 3 months fully paid Gardening Leave they had to sign a contract which didn't allow them join specific companies until their gardening leave was over. Obviously they could refuse the gardening leave but they lose out on 3 months pay for doing nothing
I mean, even the initials evoke depression and destitution in the minds of god-fearing Irish people.
On today’s podcast, Dan Ashworth is basically a really good Football Manager player from the sound of things.
I did get a kick out of the Jamie Jackson Guardian article where it basically says he’s happy at Newcastle but also is interested in the United job. So basically Jamie was talking directly with Ashworth and he wants the job but doesn’t want to offend the natives. Just get the Southampton guy Big Sir Jim, I’m sure he’s pretty good at Football Manager as well. Buy low, sell high #crypto #footballwankery
Why is his love of LOI a bad thing?
Saudia Arabia has very good surveillance, they will know if he breaches the gardening leave.
Yeah he meant there's nothing stopping the NU guy from working if even told not to. Ken's job would've been harder to pretend not to be doing.
I'm liking Benet Guiterez'. Good addition.
Defo Ken knew exactly what gardening leave was. He even said himself that he has been on it. I believe that was at the end of the off the ball days
That’s not the point he was making. He was saying if that guys leaves NUFC, it’s impossible for NUFC to stop him researching players or monitoring prospects.
Gardening leave itself is actually not enforceable by law. Went through it myself in a work contract, and it really is just a deterrent, doesn’t really stop you doing anything.
Guessing Ken doesn't realise that there's Gardening Leave restrictions which stops you joining specific companies within X amount of time, to do so would be a breach of contract
A bit "barstool", but not the worst.
I really like Branno but by far the most annoying thing about him is he actually likes the LoI
Edit: The Crowley Defence Force is fecking mental, the lads basically slobbered all over him and ignored his flaws and they still got a dire stream of angry emails defending the Irish Messi. Real talk, I think Pendergast ends up being the long term 10 and if Crowley is starting in five years it’s probably in another position in the back-line.
The other side of the not-celebrating vs. celebrating coin is the dog's abuse some fans of some clubs give to ex-players. Why wouldn't you want to "rub their noses in it" if they've been calling you all sorts all game.
Corruption and ongoing failure?
My response is always what does the FAI stand for?
Some people who can’t see a joke need to get over themselves…
In Ireland for the sake of clarity, what's wrong with calling soccer soccer and Gaelic football Gaelic football?
Football on its own is too generic a term.
Also, anybody who gets upset about it being called soccer needs to get over themselves...