The mic drop aged a lot better than the phone drop.
Proof that indeed, Trump is avoiding attacking Biden on the age thing 'cos whatever's rotting his brain it hasn't completely overrun his remaining sense of self-awareness:
Also, I missed this in the wake of that New York district losts to the Democrats. Emphasis is mine (I can't find the original Truth Social post tho' so perhaps it was hastilly deleted)
“MAGA, WHICH IS MOST OF THE REPUBLICAN PARTY, STAYED HOME – AND IT ALWAYS WILL, UNLESS IT IS TREATED WITH THE RESPECT THAT IT DESERVES,” Trump wrote Tuesday night. “I STAYED OUT OF THE RACE, ‘I WANT TO BE LOVED!’ GIVE US A REAL CANDIDATE IN THE DISTRICT FOR NOVEMBER. SUOZZI, I KNOW HIM WELL, CAN BE EASILY BEATEN!”
I think that was a very weird moment of stark honesty from a clearly mentally unwell man.
https://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/4466907-donald-trump-george-santos-mazi-pilip-tom-suozzi-new-york/
Yeah, I mentioned that "I want to be loved" thing above. Haven't heard a credible explanation to date
While he doesn't generally do subtle, I think he meant it as an ambition, the way Lincoln is/was loved, not in a personal affection sort of way.
Trumps hush money trial is locked in for March 25.
Won't be able to pardon a state criminal conviction in any case. Polls still indicate Trump would lose a significant, election-swinging chunk of his base if criminally convicted by jury.
"Your honour, there is no reason why our client should **** around and have to find out."
That slip of the tongue happens in the episode too when the main character is high. I must of been remembering that when I was typing.
Ooopsie!
oh god its a real argument
https://www.cnn.com/politics/live-news/trump-hearings-ny-georgia/h_e11ff17e4325c5d076b8c30f475a9ce4
If Trump had political relevance for one year and then imploded, I would agree that he's stupid, but he's been around for ten, beat Hillary Clinton in an election and has bypassed the Republican party apparatus and purged the party of most anyone who would stand against him. If that's stupid, then stupid is the thing to be (if you want power at any cost) and all the gladhanding and years at university that most other politicians must do is really just wasted time.
But I say this because calling Trump stupid just creates a latent underestimation of him which i really don't think he minds. He has to be treated as if he were smart to rally efforts against him.
So for the Google Search lazy among us, what are the outcomes of the hush money trial given it's a criminal case?
I'm gonna presume any potential jail sentence will be suspended or commuted, right?
Could be up to 4 years in prison if found guilty and he cannot pardon himself if he becomes President again.
In other news the media is frenzied over, Fani Willis might have committed career suicide with perjury
This would be a death knell to the otherwise airtight case made against Trump and his co-conspirators in the efforts to interfere with the Georgia election. At least, before November, as it would have to be reassigned.
He's a "cute hoor" as we'd say.
He knows how to manipulate people and how to get what he wants as all good Narcissists do , but he's not well read , he has no understanding of History or Geo politics etc. and critically has zero interest in learning about them.
He's a back-street grifter and hustler and has the skills you'd associate with that persona , but he's not intelligent by any means.
That ignorance and utter disdain for learning allied to his utter narcissistic self-confidence that he knows best is a horrible blend in a world leader.
Might be a death knell to her own career too, and rightly so.
As an officer of the court, she has an obligation, outside of sworn testimony, to provide truthful answers.
If true, incredibly stupid and she deserves the appropriate sanctions.
I'd be so dead inside, she's gonna end up one of the most loathed people in the country, all across the spectrum, from the people who already hated to the people who will now hate her for clutching defeat from the jaws of victory.
😬😬😬😬
logical argument: this could end badly for Qult 45. Very badly.
Yeah, I you know that I’ve drawn many, many comparisons between the MAGA movement and the cult. And I truly increasingly believe that’s what we’re looking at. So if that’s true, let’s look toward cult research as to what a cult leader does when the end is near. And it’s not the end that he wants.
And so people who research and study cults call it “forcing the end,” forcing the end, meaning when things look like they’re not going to turn out.
I’ll point to the Branch Davidians at Waco, Texas and David Koresh. You’re surrounded, the tanks are out there. Things aren’t looking good. You told your cultists that things were going to work out. We’re all going to have — and, you make things happen and, and of course, the cult in Waco it ended in flames. He literally instructed his followers to light on fire the corners of the buildings. You can see this on the heat-seeking imagery happening.
Yeah. Can Trump burn the place down? Figuratively? Yes. Will he instruct, directly or indirectly, his crazy followers, some of them, to, or incite them through stochastic terrorism, to commit violence? Sure.
Can law enforcement get ahead of that? No, no! They’re doing their best, scrambling within the laws and the parameters to try and monitor known violent extremists.
But any notion that the FBI is watching everybody’s correspondence is absolutely absurd. Can’t do it legally. They can’t do it resource-wise. So, a small cell, an actor, that actor here, there, can really, really do some damage. And I think Trump, will show no hesitation in lighting the place on fire. Figuratively.
Something going in his favour today
He could make millions out of the merger of Trump Media & Technology Group and Digital World Acquisition Corp after the SEC approval of the merger
Truth Social has a new financial backer now.
10 times as many viewers as your average congressional hearing.
"Where did the cash come from?"
"Cash is fungible ..."
oh she's doing fantastic on the stand....
"I wanna die" if Trump loses
Yeah she was a rambling mess, hostile, deflective, and over-explained answers to questions - and said she kept anywhere from five hundred, to fifteen **** thousand dollars in cash around the house.
This certainly gave me the impression of an appearance of impropriety. She's likely gonna get removed from the case
In other more hilarious news. Failed Presidential candidate Ron DeSantis was just gloriously trolled by a journalist at a press conference today.
He was blathering on about "woke" and all the usual guff about Trans people when the Journalist asked him this absolutely legendary question
“Governor DeSantis, you have spoken out against the “woke “agenda of gender fluidity and also come out against gender-affirming care. So I was hoping you could square your opposition to [gender affirming care] and people choosing their own gender identity with your frequent wearing of lifts and you hoping to choose your own height identity," a reporter asked.
Judge Cannon finally made a ruling that wasn't entirely in Trump's favor, presuming she is starting to get concerned about being thrown off the case
Jack Smith's filing on this motion cornered her in her own precedent on a prior case she had worked on as prosecutor, when she argued against allowing a defendant to go on never-ending fishing expeditions with pre-trial motions:
In 2015, while working as a federal prosecutor in South Florida, Cannon worked on a sting operation that saw two men arrested for plotting to rob a fake stash house containing half a million dollars worth of cocaine with AK-47s.
One of the men tried to appeal his conviction based on the argument he was subject to an unfair "selective prosecution" as the majority of stash house stings target Black and Hispanic people.
The 11th Circuit Court of Appeals eventually ruled in the federal prosecutors' favor in 2021, by which point Cannon had been elevated to the bench. The appeals court pointed to two cases that established that a defendant must provide evidence before they can receive discovery to try to back up their claims of persecution.
"Most of the motion to compel is devoted to the defendants' request for discovery to support their unfounded allegation that the investigation and prosecution of this case have been tainted by political bias, which is a straightforward claim of selective prosecution governed by rigorous discovery standards," Smith wrote.
"A request to discover such material is, instead, 'governed by well-settled and binding precedent in [Armstrong] and United States v. Jordan," Smith added in reference to the previous court rulings.
"That precedent imposes a 'rigorous standard' requiring 'a defendant to produce some evidence tending to show the existence of the essential elements of a selective prosecution claim—discriminatory effect and discriminatory purpose.'"
Last week:
The deadline for pre-trial motions stands firm for February 22.
Bang of desperation....
They just never see the irony in giving out about the law becoming politicized in an election year
Do they think by abstaining from investigating and prosecuting Trump, that's somehow less political?
All men are equal in the eyes of the law etc.
Doubt it's aimed at today's verdict in today's case (a bit late for that), but probably aimed moreso at SCOTUS.
I doubt it'll get any traction there either. SCOTUS will bounce the election case and refuse to take the immunity case, thus "appearing" impartial
It really is insulting logic, too.
'Don't put him on trial because he's a politician' is itself politicising the case; he should get special treatment because he's a politician.
On top of that, there is the likelihood that were he to win, he'd do everything in his powers to quash the investigation if it were delayed to a non-election year.
Also, had to laugh at the dig at Stormy Daniels' lawyer. Isn't Rudy Giuliani working out of his car these days?
Underlines why trump declared his 24 candidacy so early
The West Wing quote:
Press Secretary: It's an election year.
Personal Aide to the Preident: Every year is an election year.
The point being, people don't forget what you did last year or 5 years ago, just because this year is an election year.