Just wondering, is it forbidden by law to fly the Union Jack in Ireland?
And if it's not forbidden would one be beaten up about it if he or she was flying the Union Jack somewhere?
I couldn’t bide a union jack flying , but it would be fine for an English/ Scottish/ Welsh to fly their individual countries flag apart from norniron
Edit
Misunderstood what you said
thats bullcrap . The flag has a St George cross a st andrew saltire and a st Patricks saltire . Wales doesn’t even come into it , as when the uj was first introduced, wales was already a part of England
look up the wales and berwick act
That’s the gas thing about wales and the patriotism . It was made a part of England with no fuss . They still use BoE notes and the Welsh high court is in London , not Cardiff . It’s not even on their ‘national’ flag but as long as they can learn welsh in school and get a national’ sports team they’re happy . Strangely Irish isn’t taught in the north and I don’t know about Scotland
Ok
To avoid any confusion this is what I had in my original post quoted from Wikipedia , I misunderstood your comment to mean not a union jack but it's decomposed parts, but you meant their current other countries flags.
"The flag consists of the red cross of Saint George (patron saint of England, which also represents Wales), edged in white, superimposed on the saltire of Saint Patrick (patron saint of Ireland), also edged in white, which are superimposed on the saltire of Saint Andrew (patron saint of Scotland). Wales is not represented in the Union Flag by Wales's patron saint, Saint David, because the flag was designed whilst Wales was part of the Kingdom of England."
Sorry, missed edit
You could wear the jerseys if at a match in England or Ireland as a visiting supporter, thats it. just my opinion.
You're not likely to hear 'God Save the King' at Anfield and if you did, feel free to join in with the home fans booing it. Liverpool as a city is notoriously anti-royalist.
https://www.goal.com/en/news/why-do-liverpool-fans-boo-the-england-national-anthem/brksai15y4cw1vmddj2fbc6vz
Ask some of them if they've been to Turner's Cross or Tolka Park, and they don't know what you're talking about.
The ‘little Irelander’ viewpoint. ^^^
‘If you look outside your country you can’t also be patriotic’
Neanderthal thinking we long ago stopped doing….mostly anyway. Very few insular people left.
See below -
The constitutional names are deliberately vague as per De Valera's strategy. More ceremonial/aspirational than anything else. Which made more sense when the old Article 2 and 3 were there.
But the descriptor as in the place where the domain name of boards.ie is from is The Republic of Ireland, as per the 1948 Act.
--
The real irony about some people's distaste of the Union Jack is that the Basque Separatist Group ETA who were supported by many Republicans have a Basque flag like this -
Always amused me.
It could cause fierce confusion in black and white film/photos.
The British embassy does indeed fly their flags.
I wouldn't either. If prefer to watch paint dry😀
And London is the second largest irish city in the UK and Ireland.
Im sure some of ours are on the dole there also.
Pick a team, any team. I'd sooner watch paint dry in comparison to that foreign sport which Irish people seem to love.
Well said.
This kind of insecurity exists up north, thankfully not down here, bar maybe a few uneducated headbangers that we all silently feel sorry for.
And that's your prerogative. It's the ones who come back from Old Trafford, Stamford Bridge, etc, every other weekend, and go into full hypocrite anti brit mode over Poppies/Flags that are rightly called out.
ah here I couldn’t be arsed with soccer but this is such a silly false equivalence and frankly you need to grow up a bit.
Did the British who treated Ireland like dirt all those years ago go on to be famous soccer players or something?
What direct correlation has that era with soccer? Either in the modern or historically?
None.
Do you enjoy foreign holidays?
Or do you live your whole life in ireland, talking to irish people about irish things, whilst using foreign technology (as you read this) and bemoaning foreigners and their influence.
Here's a secret. Some of them are actually nice people.
It’s not just Irish people either. Another silly remark.
You know you can not like something without decrying it. There’s things you like I am almost definitely inclined to hate and vice versa. It’s normal.
Whinging about it is just childish. Imagine us Irish liking a sport that’s literally the most popular on the flipping planet. There’s an estimated 3.5 BILLION soccer fans worldwide. Hardly some cringe British fad the Irish are loving.
This just comes off as some weird annoyance or deep rooted torment perhaps that GAA didn’t take off the same way soccer did. Therefore Ireland should be totally against it.
We have a fantastic rugby team as well I wonder are you as upset by that? We are also quite decent hockey players. That must ruffle your feathers also?
That's fair enough, I've more important things in life to occupy my time over flags flown by people. However would you say the same to a Jewish person regarding the flag of The Third Reich? If you do a head count I'd say we are worse off than the Jews in Europe however both pale compared to the amount of Indian's killed by the actions of the British.
Anyway, to quote John Hume's father, "you can't eat a flag."
I also don't have an issue with a union jack being flown in the republic of Ireland. That was my original point. People moaning about a flag being flown here yet love the most iconic of British sports.
Nah, I think we can state with absolute certainty that Irish isn't taught in Scotland, outside of the third level.
I knew Donegal lads , native speakers, who all spent time in Scotland so I thought maybe it was taught in schools.
Growing up and living many years in the North, I've definitely a hint of sensitivity about, 'flegs'. Leftover relic I associate with marking territory.
When I go past my reactionary reptile brain, I couldn't give a sh*te and move on with things.
Fair play. If only more folks could do the same.
Growing up in NI is a lonely business from the UK and Ireland's pov.
Neither country is really interested & that must be hard to accept.
Mod: -
Remember to keep this thread civil and respectful of the viewpoint of others, even if you may not agree with it.
Any antagonistic or trolling posts will result in thread being closed.
JK
Nobody needs to hear about your early morning stalkers Francie.
If you want to go around with a chip on your shoulder/victim complex it might be hard to accept. Meanwhile, there's plenty out there with real problems.
That insecurity, the, 'oh poor me, nobody wants me' nonsense is at the core of more than it's fair share of Nordie problems in fairness.
I agree.