He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
One of the reviews I think
Rigor mortis can occur more rapidly in certain circumstances.
Intrinsic factors such as violent exercise and high fever during the agonal stage will cause a rapid onset and shorter duration.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/medicine-and-dentistry/rigor-mortis#:~:text=Several%20intrinsic%20and%20extrinsic%20factors,rapid%20onset%20and%20shorter%20duration.
"Can" but not "does".
I'm a 5 foot 4" woman in grave danger I'm running towards the next door neighbours house not away from it.
Unless....
That is a very specific thing to say and indicates that the blood was dry everywhere else on her face and body at least. The specific blood mentioned would have been mixed with nasal mucus.
Yes but surely would not be at scene when police arrived around 10.30.
Crime reported at around 10. So Lyons would have been up and around at 8/9..so bailey would have little window of opportunity at that time to go back to scene..
the man I’m running away from is between me and the neighbour’s house?
We have no idea if that is true or not.
2 things Sophie had going for her, she was physically fit so she was mobile and she had the advantage in knowing the terrain (or did she).
That said maybe she wasn't fleeing at all and was having a "conversation" with whoever killed and was cold clocked mid sentence.
I don`t particularly buy into the whole "Bailey returns to the scene of the crime" theory. But there are questions about his whereabouts. Jules youngest daughter maintains Bailey and Jules went away that morning for a period. Jules was in Goleen around 11-30, so if Bailey did return to the scene it was probably sometime after 11.
There was some discussion re this here the other day. I believe it was said that while that may seem the obvious way to go, topography may have dictated otherwise as there was a bank to climb or something if coming from the gate area?
The time of death is anyone’s guess but I’d lean towards morning time based on what Sophie had last consumed, fruit and caffeine.
If that was the case it becomes even harder to theorise a scenario where Bailey is the perpetrator. The blackout drunk, amorous bard theory is out the window.
Yes I do recall various accounts Jules was on her own and others bailey was with her...it's definitely another grey area...as bailey always maintained first call he got was at 1.40 and was said be foreign lady possibly french then watched news at 2. But bailey did know at that time where to go...where lot of accounts written on this were asking how bailey knew where to go...when barely any references to her nationality and exact location
As you say if he was out earlier and got some info in goleen...but would have been sighted at scene if guards were there from 1030...so if he was jules 9 for coffee anf body spotted at 10.
Just a further question on this. Was baileys/Jules camera ever taken for forensics. Would it be possible knowing how earlier photos would have been taken in them older camera reels etc. if he did get early morning photos
That's very true. I'm again gong on basis of what we do know .and having consumed food it's certainly the best indicator of morning and no alcohol in system. Also speeding car is another link ...if we know a car mark tracks were at scene..
I'm sort of trying to do in way where the information is fitting with as much as possible.
The tyre marks are similar to the DNA on the boot. They can never prove anything. The most likely candidate for the tyre marks is Shirley because they are in the general area where Shirley might have first spotted the body as she drove out. Of course she may not have braked at all and she abandoned the car a bit further down below the murder scene.
Totally understand and possibly at the time no match was attempted to any car in the vicinity of crime scene. But I'm just basing on theory of likelihood the someone still walked at all ..although again it'd plausible someone parked somewhere but was only 5 mins walk then from scene
Sophie was likely the last person through the gate on Sun evening, so gate would probably have been be closed.
If someone arrived on foot they would open the gate just enough to walk through and close it after them.
Opening the gate back fully against the wall would indicate a vehicle going through.
Ok yes I had mentioned in earlier post or indicating attacker arrived in car and had opened the gate...or Sophie went to meet them and subsequently opened gate or not and altercation at that point. That's all I'm saying is that it seems highly likely as gate was wise open that someone had a car to drive through..
Clickbait headline on front page of today's Sun.
IAN BAILEY SECRET TAPES
So secret he handed them to Jim Sheridan :)
IAN Bailey secretly recorded his life over the past three years and gave it to filmmakers before he died. The videos were all shot on a tablet he was provided with by award-winning Irish director Jim Sheridan’s documentary team
Most seems to be drunken antics by Bailey acting up for camera.
There is also this:
There are also believed to be 15 to 20 voice tape recordings that Bailey made in 1996
https://www.thesun.ie/news/12132558/ian-bailey-speaking-from-grave-secret-tapes-jim-sheridan/
Then we'd expect the tyre marks to have been matched to Shirley's vehicle, but I don't remember reading anything to that effect.
Marks were on gravel, so difficult to match I'd say.
The only interview I've seen of Shirley foster is in this French Youtube video.
At 39 mins in she walks down the path she took that morning, and doesn't mention skidding to a stop in her car as she came upon Sophie's body.
You can change the subtitles to bad English.
Is there any chance there is evidence that the DPP has that isn’t in the public domain?
There’s very little in the public domain, only what the Gardai chose to release.
This is strange. She describes the circumstances of the discovery in a very different way to that which has been accepted.
Is she actually saying that she walked down from the house or is the translation wrong?
No she drove down. The translation is dire.
As two different DPPs ( or is it DsPP?) chose to analyse the evidence provided by AGS and both came to the conclusion that "a prosecution against Bailey is not warranted". Their analysis went through the evidence and outlined why it was of no legal value. It would be very unusual if they had any evidence which they didn't use within the two analysis projects.
Or to make it look like a vehicle went through.
Its still all information we don't know. I mean an attacker will not be concerned about opening or closing a gate after them.
Sophie may have seen someone at that certain time trying to open gate or she went down to them to open gate..
The next day Lyons car could be partly fresh tyres and or attacker...but if I'm correct in saying this.. what analysis was provided if any to conclude the story..unlikely tyre marks checked etc.
Like we don't know did the attacker car drive up lane...or else just parked at entrance and then would have reversed back out afterwards etc. it's all generally unknown ...
Just reviewing your post again. Basically I'm sure that if gate was wide open and noticed on morning by neighbours, we can only conclude this attacker had vehicle...it was not someone on foot.
I think it further supports theory Sophie may not have run from her house...it's give impression she noticed lights of car at gate..and or someone down the lane. She had time put on boots and go out...it's just trying to see what's more likely as scenario.
Maybe any attacker aware of DNA and or trying cover tracks open gate wide if they did go on foot...but it was wouldn't make sense. Sophie was beckoned from house in some way..and gate fully open might suggest she seen car...
The only issue I have with that is the gate in the lane was not Sophie's gate . It was a common gate used by the 3 houses and their visitors.
It may be none of Sophie's business if someone was at the gate. It could be the Richardsons arriving for Christmas. It could be visitors to Alfie And Shirley or trades people or deliveries to the other houses there.
Granted yes at time of year and it also being a Monday , last few business days before Christmas. But it might suggest that if nothing was happening or just noticed unusual car/activity or she recognised the car maybe she then became inclined to go down gate.
Agree it might be neighbours and or not. But other alternative is the attacker drove th car then up laneway also.
We are aware Lyons residence are saying they were up at 8. They haven't indicated of any deliveries or other activities of that nature or if any neighbours were confirmed be in the other house...
If visitor was known to Sophie then she knew the car..and or seen them coming onto lane..