Considering the result Mayo had with Galway I was surprised how flat they where yesterday. Think Dublin's lack of consistency let Mayo back into the game in both halves. The Monaghan game Dublin again left it behind but the difference was Monaghan actually looked dangerous and Dublins defence was awful so it allowed Monaghan's fast attacking play to get rewards.
There's two games Dublin with a bit more cop on would of won but instead we have nothing. Hopefully we can weed the **** out early in season and settle further things go on.
Fair analysis. I was looking back over some of the game again this morning. There were a couple of questionable frees that our guys got (Mayo). Aidan O'Shea got a few, but was denied some obvious fouls against him as well (the big man syndrome). There was a free for Cillian O'Connor near the end, and I don't know what it was for. There needs to be some element of contact in GAA; otherwise, it will just go like the Premiership.
But I don't get the comments about the last free.. If one player pushes another player, it is clearly a free. It's not about the force, or what part of the body he pushes him. This notion of "a soft free" was introduced into GAA lingo some time ago, indicating that there may have been some potential wrongdoing in the awarding of a free. David Clifford had what seemed to be a fair shoulder against Derry last year, but the free went against him. It was controversial. That is what I would regard as a soft free to Derry, as it went against what is written in the rule-book. If there was no contact between Ryan O'Donoghue and the defender, and Ryan O'Donoghue falls over or dives, then it is a wrongdoing and a soft free (or in that case an incorrect call by the ref). But in this case, the defender clearly pushes him over. If I was Dessie Farrell, I would be fuming at the Dublin defender. About one minute left, the ball heading towards the corner flag and if I recall correctly, O'Donoghue was fairly isolated. And then Cian Murphy tries to make contact with him whilst bending down for the ball. Very naive.
Anyway, Mayo were extremely lucky to come away with a win on this one. Yesterdays game was a bit like the Dublin Monaghan game last week - one point loss for the Dubs, last minute point. But I was at the Dublin Monaghan game, and from what I saw, Monaghan were toe to toe with Dublin. But Mayo were lucky to come away with a win.
The game was there for the taking Mayo where living on handy frees and couldn't kick a score from play to save there life's.
Only for that fluke goal and our own really bad finishing in the second half we would of won comfortable.
Defence was much better compared to the Monaghan game though which is a plus. If we play that open going forward we will have our arses handed to us.
I'm not getting too stressed about the league at least we look better than we did this time last year.
Don’t get the doom and gloom, 3 or 4 very solid new players identified already. Some really great work last night across the half backs. Crucial decisions went against them, eg o’Shea getting a free and a Mayo score instead of a clear red card, Theo getting a yellow and a mayo scored free for an O’Shea dive. Final score off another dive with minimal contact. Mayo got frees everywhere for going diwn easily and the ref waved played on for the identical fouls at the other end
on top of that our early clinical finishing went to pieces late on and we missed all our last few chances including an easy fist over. Mayo get at least 5 easy frees handed to them and a lucky goal and we feel asleep for the final point. 9 times out of 10 you are wining that game missing 6 or so starters.
Well I had written off our chances for a long time last year and I got my answer.Its really if we can get everyone firing for a couple of games later on will be the question .
Con's role is odd too he played very deep for alot of the match, it's feels a long time since we've seen him put in a match winning performance or a serious contribution on the scoreboard.
Maybe for a year or 2 , maybe 🤔🤔
Can't anyone as the same strength in depth is there anymore. Was 2023 the last year to squeeze one last All-Ireland out of the old guard?
Hard to know if Div2 would be a bad thing or good thing at this stage. It would give younger/newer players less pressure to develop. But on the other hand it will mean Dublin playing low level football until the AIQF.
Got away with it last year, just about. But when I think of how those Ulster teams are motoring (in particular) it could be massive jump in standard to be ready for.
clearly doesn't take the league serious. I'd settle for another AI
Dessie trying to play summer football in the winter coming back to bite again. Lots of early ball into the forward line but it's proving too hard to implement on a wet slow pitch.
Dublin last 9 Div one games
W2 L7 must be a long time since they had a record that poor in the top division.
Big transition coming and won't be done smoothly.
Seemed a smaller Dublin crowd than other years alright ,have been there last few games usually a decent crowd over .Lot of factors and it being on telly proberly stopped some going .
We could have won it and it was an easy free to give at end
I thought about going with the eldest. Not a bed to be found and even at that at a decent price. He midnight getting home and hours pass her bedtime. Even last weekend she was falling asleep in car. So didn’t fancy the long drive home. Pity it wasn’t a 5 throw in. More might have made the journey.
I think it was a push so gave the ref the chance to award the free . Thought we were very poor in attack never any goal threat even when we were on top we never tagged on enough points.Two defeats means a battle to stay up now and further evidence that lads coming through just not at the level we would like .
Ref made a few bad calls either end, don't think he favoured either team.
I admire Con trying to sneak one on on Reape when he was up the field - would have been heroic had it worked. Roaming keepers raise my blood pressure.
Not much of a Dub crowd there but not a lot of hotel space at the moment.
Murphy was eejit to do that made it an easy call for ref. I am happy with the level of control overall though. Just a bit of cop on and more clinical with the chances.
Mayo were smart with that last free in fairness.
Too many wides in 2nd half, despite some good scores too. Could have easily won that, we were the better team.
Didn't think it was a free, but we got caught ball watching.
Two games in a row we have been fucked over by bad refereeing and poor forward play.
Should of won both those games instead we have nothing.
Some seriously bad misses especially tonight. Mayo's goal out of nothing turned the game we where dirt from there on.
Incredibly frustrating start to the league.
Dublin deserve that for messing about at the end. What was Con doing at the end, that last free was soft but silly free to give away.
To lose that and get nothing is sickner Mayo blessed.
Similar to last week v Monaghan, fair bit of possession, but up front not taking their chances and some of the options have been poor, that low ball in from Fenton when he broke free for example. Defense better though. It does seem a couple of the new guys can make the grade...
I should have said nothing!
Dublin defending way better than against Monaghan. 20minutes gone only 2 scores conceded. Dublin dominating possession. Game going a lot handier than I thought it would be.
Commentators and analysis seem to imply that Mayo want to make sure they don’t win the league.
Same auld problems scoreline actually flattered Dublin, as Tipp were switched off for most of the second half. Really impressive crowd though. Lots of Tipp people there as well.
Dublin were spirited enough but Tipp able to up their game when Dublin mounted a bit of a fight back. Lack of goals still an issue for Dublin.
Getting an education in hurling from Tipp today, sadly.
Couple of freebies for the hurling tomorrow - PM if you want them. Name and email address required for the Ticketmaster transfer.
EDIT: One gone and one left.
Nothing like a night in Breaffy Hotel after the match. Eldest daughter reminded me too that it's our anniversary!
Hoping for an enjoyable weekend.
As a Mayo fan your visit is usually one of the best football nights of the year (every other year) down here.
You tend not to get the praise/notice of the likes of Armagh fans get with their bright orange showing up so obviously on the cameras but in terms of atmosphere, genuine support for their side, craic in the stand and ability to have a hell of a fun evening after I'd have to tip my cap to your travelling support the last decade or so. Genuinely top notch. Second to none.
Looking forward to Saturday evening. Hopefully we'll all get a great game to enjoy too.