He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Actually might be quicker if a public poll were used for conviction in our justice system. Round up a selection of suspects and vote on which one is most likely, put most voted in jail.
Never let facts get in the way of a good story. The is circumstantial evidence that the French looked at it for 10 years. Case closed haha.
Ah so you’re a conspiracy theorist - great now I know the cut of your jib- thanks for clarifying that 👍
Upset? The opposite. I find it quite funny that people still fall back on a DPP report that has been shown to be shambolic by the passage of time. But carry on. Some of the theorizing that goes on here reads like a bad episode of Murder She Wrote, where the obvious suspect is never the killer. I do like a bit of humour with my cornflakes and coffee.
There’s a lot of verbal diarrhoea in this thread that’s for sure 😀
"Overwhelming circumstantial evidence", "hundreds of pieces".
🤣
Seriously, there's SFA - a few haggard pieces which when looked at in a jaundiced light and given legs by lies, misrepresentations and manufactured evidence just about qualify him as consideration as a suspect - for about five minutes.
Only a few remaining Bailey fanboys continue to spout his rubbish.
Are Cork County Council fan boys?
Or would you think local politicians would have their finger on the pulse of local opinion?
Also I would be pretty sure your opinions would be in the minority of at least thread.
Not just the French court that found against Bailey. He's been laughed out of court in Ireland too. He spent millions on libel trials in Ireland and won a grand total of 8000..he lost on virtually every count. He said for example he didn't know Sophie Du Plantier, the judge said on the balance of probabilities he did. Just one of numerous examples where Baileys lies and spoofing were called out. His libel trials were an absolute shitshow for him.
You've made me laugh again Frank - god bless your innocence as my mum would say😂. They only ever wanted to pin it on Bailey.
They were completely biased - again I will tell you the French trial was a complete and utter joke with what was presented.
Both Sheridan and Clifford were at the trial, Sheridan couldn't actual believe what was going on and Clifford called it a show trial.
Even Foster who hounded Bailey, echoed the sentiment.
It's amazing how quick people are to throw human rights under a bus when it conforms with their narrative.
They concluded that Bailey wasn’t a psychopath right?
Yes they did, body exhumed, another autopsy done, interviewed witnesses again, psycholical profiles of Bailey, went over everything again and came to the conclusion Bailey did it.
And before some clown says yeh but Daniel Du Plantier influenced them, he was long dead by then.
So you take the word of a french kangaroo court over 2 dpp who reviewed the same evidence and decided there was no case..... Mick Clifford who was at every day of the french ready up says it was a joke so how you even reference it I don't know.
The trial in Paris at which he was convicted was shocking in its process and outcome. For this observer, who was present for the duration of the trial, it had all the hallmarks of a confirmatory hearing into the guilt of the defendant.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-41314735.html
The French looked at this case for 10 years and were convinced
Really, 10 solid years investigating this case?
They did in their hole.
Ah Frank are you for real - you think the french investigated this case for 10 years!! You really made me laugh with the statement! They opened up a file and looked at it for a few hours- that was it. The french show was a complete farce.
This turned out to be utter rubbish, most of the locals thought he did it
That's clearly your opinion you are trying to masquerade as fact. It's endemic in this thread.
One of the most telling ways to gauge local opinion after his death is that local politicians passed a vote of condolence with some extremely strong words.
“I also feel that it is very sad to think that this man has spent 30 years of his life under the shadow of being a criminal. It was never proven. I hope his life wasn’t cut short because of the corruption of our State.”
He had access to far more than was required. The French looked at this case for 10 years and were convinced.
There is no serious other suspect, none. Bailey incriminated himself again and again and again through lies and inconsistancies.
Mr Moonlight murder. Plenty of circumstantial evidence. But nothing to prove he actually did the murder.
He didn't have access to "all" the evidence though, did he?
He had access to all the evidence. As he said himself there are hundreds of pieces that point to Bailey so he's likely to have seen evidence not made public. There is overwhelming circumstantial evidence to point to Bailey.
The only defenders of Bailey who remain are those with little better to do than speculate about other theories about which they have been unable to offer a SINGLE piece of credible circumstantial evidence.
" most of the locals thought he did it, and most of the audience likely felt the same."
Is there a poll someplace, or did you just pull that out of your arse?
The guards did not tell Pierre that Bailey was the prime suspect, they told him that Bailey was definitely the killer. That is a big difference and I think inappropriate to tell people someone is definitely a killer when there is no trial.
They did that for a reason and I think that reason is deflection from their own lack of investigation progress.
Name me one, just one case, that you believe was based solely on “circumstantial evidence” where a murderer was convicted in an Irish court.
Even the Graham Dwyer murder, where there was no crime scene, very little remains evidence and no DNA evidence - there was a ton of solid evidence there linking Dwyer not only to the victim but to the place where ultimately she met her untimely end.
It was said after Bailey died that there sympathy among the locals for Bailey and many thought he was innocent. This turned out to be utter rubbish, most of the locals thought he did it, and most of the audience likely felt the same. The man was hated and despised and almost everyone is glad the cretin is dead. His family wouldn't even come to collect his ashes, had to be sent by post to them. Says it all.
I hope we won’t be hearing from him again and that this is now closure for him- while I don’t believe we have closure with the death of Bailey, if he does and as a victim in this crime, then I’m happy for him.
The interview was never going to be controversial - I saw it as a soft focus conversation as soon as I heard it was happening -PK did an ok job- sometimes you just have to let the words of the interviewee sit with people- it doesn’t always need probing or spelling out- the public can come to their own view on what he said, as I have.
The only question I would have liked to seen asked was his opinion on the DPP report (simply because if you read that, it’s incredibly hard not to see what a flimsy case it really is) - but I’m not even convinced that he read this in any detail - I think he’s happy to take the word of the Gardai when he meets them so I believe even his response to that would likely have been quite muted.
Like a lot of murderers convicted on circumstantial evidence in Ireland Bailey would have been convicted too, had it not been for amateur gardai, but yes part of the problem was they probably gave a committment to the family they'd secure a conviction.
I’ve no doubt that the gardai endlessly assured the family that not only Bailey was the killer but that he’d be convicted.
I think in a case like this it’s a bit callous to expect the victims family to always remain objective, they’re desperate for any kind of closure and peace. They were given a ton of false hope and really led down the garden path by the gardai.
Nope a significant amount of circumstantial evidence points squarely at Bailey as a prime suspect. Much of this circumstantial evidence was provided by Bailey himself through his proveable lies and inconsistancies.
The gardai messed up. There was more than enough to convict him on circumstantial evidence alone, but the gardai wanted a gotcha moment.
It wasn't you.
I thought Pierre done a good interview. He does appear though a bit misinformed on all the info relating to the investigation. It is clear his level of English is only ok and I do wonder if the language barrier has led to him not understanding everything. It is clear he relies on what the gardai tell him which as we all know isn't a reliable source.
It's sad that the gardai are still stringing him along that Bailey is definitely the man and will be found guilty postumably despite literally no evidence.
I hope for Pierre and his families sake that the true killer is revealed be it Bailey or someone else.