He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Stone cold killer... you can tell just by looking at him.
Oh wait - its the actor Patrick Bergin.
If Bailey did do it, here’s an artist impression of what he might have looked like after he returned from clambering back over muddy fields
LLS thread if interested in commenting on the appearance of Sophie’s son this evening - likely to be one of the later guests
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058297262/pk-rte-ie-again-the-all-new-patrick-kielty-late-late-show-thread/p148
If this had gone to trial the prosecution would have had to resort to this as evidence.
Sophie’s son:
With Baileys death it’s “game over”
Now we’ll have peace again in my health-
I have nothing but sympathy for him.
Q: How certain are you of Bailey ?
”I am 100% sure”
”French justice is one of the most famous in the world- it is very important that he’s convicted murder once “
”investigation still going on - he’s not convicted in Ireland yet “
Did you ever believe Ian Bailey was innocent?
He said 5 times to people he did it
He goes on to talk of Bailey burning his clothes - goes on to say there’s loads of evidence - (essentially the guff posted here and slated by DPP)
So he’s essentially soaked up the 27 years of Garda propaganda on Bailey whilst ignoring all of the sh1te they made of the investigation- but if he’s letting go this evening I’m delighted for him - in fact we probably all need to move on now
You can’t help but assume that there must be many innocent people imprisoned in France due to such a prescriptive law system.
I wouldn’t like to be at the wrong end of French justice
He seems like a lovely guy - I wish him peace in his life- lord knows he deserves it, even if he’s misinformed
He does alright, he comes across as a very well adjusted man despite the trauma he suffered.
The fact he now has a family and goes back there regularly speaks volumes about his upbringing and how well he was supported after the event.
I hope he’s a fan of Marti Pellow.
Its got nothing to do with Nick Foster and everything to do with statements from the absolute scumbag Ian Bailey who you have defended and supported.
The only credible suspect is dead, so yes we can all move on.
No doubt someone will try to point the finger at others. Its already been done today with zero credible evidence. They'd have to hope the persons they accused, some still living are not litigious.
Accusing a living person of murder without evidence could very easily lead to libel proceedings.
Great to hear you’re moving on- good luck now
Feeling is mutual.
I’ve never accused a living person of murder
Your frustration is trying to tell you something.
He hasn't a notion, he still believes Bailey will be convicted.
The interview was beyond cringe.
When he started on about how corrupt the Irish Justice System compared to the virtuous French system (no jury, no defence) that's the point an interviewer who is supposed to be someway impartial interjects. Even that nettle Tubs would have.
Paddy just nodded, he needs to stick to interviewing RTE staff.
I think Paddy did great, he just let him talk. It was interesting how the guards were telling him for years that they know Bailey did it and also it was the guards who blamed the Irish system for Bailey not being prosecuted.
Is it possible that there's some type of evidence that the Guards and Pierre have privy to that makes them so certain of Bailey's guilt, or would it be public knowledge by now?
Is this true though?
He obviously has access to more info like the pathology report, but he doesn't have access to secret evidence that implicated Bailey.
Indeed- those rotters, the DPP- always asking us to dot our i”s and cross our t”s- why can’t they just accept our fabrications and lies and take our word for it
I think Paddy did great, he just let him talk
Well that clearly isn't an interview then.
That is soap boxing.
So what was the point of it?
If I was to guess I think it was easier for the Guards to tell Pierre that Bailey is the killer, rather than the alternative that they have not got a clue. Blaming the 'system' for Bailey getting away with it also let's the guards of the hook.
Unless it is in all the evidence that disappeared, but the assumption is that would further point to Bailey being innocent.
So no there is no magic secret evidence that convicts Bailey.
If that were the case the guards would not have had to invent it.
There's no need to grill him. He's not a politician.
A soft interview is appropriate in context.
Where did I say he should grill him?
I was just thinking that maybe it was inadmissible for some reason, I doubt it though.
If there was any "smoking gun" evidence, we'd know by now.
One thing that I can't get past is that there was blood at the scene that wasn't Sophie's; the gardai have Bailey's DNA; surely that either links him or rules him out definitively