Feels like the right time to start a new thread for next year's gigs.
John Mayer playing the 3Arena on 29 March 2024.
Can we setup a second thread for overseas gigs, seems to be as many overseas gigs being spoken about here these days than Irish ones, it's getting too easy to miss good Irish gigs that people are posting about.
Aslan with new singer
The state of that. They really should have hung up their hats
Cant imagine the Aslan lads are millionaires by any stretch of the imagination. Just working musicians trying to earn a living. Best of luck to them
Why?
I think Aslan died with Christy. The Dignam family have disagreements with the guys continuing Aslan, some front men I feel you can’t replace, Christy was one. I know the guys need to earn a living at the same time, but it shouldn’t be on the back of Christy.
'On the back of Christy' seems a pretty unfair way of putting it. I doubt Christy saw it as a one man operation. Anyway, best of luck to them I say.
Why? Those three guys are gigging musicians trying to make a living and all the best to them. They’re making nothing from streams or record sales so it’s live performances and merch that will put food on the table.
And do you have an accredited source for the Dignam family being unhappy with them continuing? I very much doubt that the family take that view.
Best of luck to them but just won't be the same without Christy
Like how Bagatelle are still touring, just not the same
He's not bad
Christy said a rift had developed because he wasn't happy to just do the same show every night, and wanted to explore other musical ambitions, whereas the lads were happy to just be putting food on the table.
I’d guess the lads wanted to (understandably) make some money before Christ’s passing. As he himself would have wanted so he could leave some cash for his family.
But in terms of the family being unhappy about Aslan carrying on I reckon that’s nonsense.
all covered here, Christy and the band didn’t speak to each other for the last few months of his life. they are invited to the vicar st testimonial for Christy.
Daughter has now issues with them continuing with new singer as it’s their songs as much as Christy’s.
i suspected the new aslan will be diminishing returns for all involved. The general public connection to Aslan’s music was the emotion displayed by Christy and the weight of the lyrics and his own challenges in life.
someone else signing them won’t have same effect
Wasn't it a disaster the time they done it in the 90s
Very underrated act was 'Dignam & Gough'
Thanks @Fanirish . The exact quote from the daughter below sums it up. Christy may not have got on with the band in the final stages and the family may not get on with them now but that’s not relevant to them continuing.
"Firstly, Joe, Alan and Billy have announced that they will continue playing as Aslan which we fully support. The lads are musicians and music is their livelihood. They have to continue to work, and I fully support them going forward. The music is theirs as much as my Dad’s so they have every right to continue.”
Edit
E
i wouldnt go to an aslan gig again tbh
Absolutely. It’s basically a superior covers band á la Queen, Big Country, Buzzcocks, From the Jam, Ruts DC, Stranglers, etc. Some better than others, none near as good as the original but as nights out go they can be good ones.
I’d make an exception for The Undertones where McLoone is an exceptional frontman and they’re quite close to being as good as the originals.
Therapy? are playing the Ulster Hall in Belfast on 2nd November to mark the 30th anniversary of the release of the Troublegum album. Tickets go on sale next Friday (9th February).
I don’t listen much to Therapy?, nor ever been a big fan, but they’re a superb live act. Always have Joy Division and Buzzcocks covers. This almost-hometown gig will be special and hopefully they’ll do a few others on the island.
Dublin announcement will surely follow soon
Timing screams of Cyprus Avenue on Jazz weekend which is no bad thing, a classic
I reckon they’ll want to do bigger gigs this time. Last two Galway gigs have been the Róísín Dubh and those bookings usually link in with Cyprus Avenue, Dolans and Whelan’s. For a Troublegum anniversary they could do the Black Box in Galway (800 capacity) plus bigger venues in Limerick and Cork plus the Olympia/Vicar St. in Dublin. I’m happy wherever they play on the west coast.
Fairly sure first time I saw them was old Cyprus Avenue on a troublegum anniversary tour 10 years ago (as in, definitely saw them there10 years ago, just unsure if was specifically an anniversary show). Don't think Opera House would suit them, be too much to try sell.
You’re undoubtedly right. If they play CA, Dolans and the Róísín again I’d be delighted. You’re spot on about the Opera House but is there another venue in Cork that’d hold 500-800? I don’t know the places there well enough. They sold 300 tickets very quickly here in November and they could easily have done another night given the large waiting list for returns/extra tickets.
For Troublegum they’d sell out one of the larger venues (Black Box 750 or Leisureland 1,200) in Galway. The first one obviously easier to sell. Last two indoor Belast gigs were the Limelight (750 capacity) and this time it’s the Ulster Hall (1,850 capacity). Probably means they’ll do another big one in Dublin and no more. Hope I’m wrong.
Tommy Tiernan
Tickets for these shows will be €28 on sale next Tuesday, Feb 6th at 10am
Only other venue may be City Hall, although not sure on capacity of there but think itd be bit too big. CA ii roughly 650 now, so it is decent size already. They strike me as the sort of band where venue size isn't a determining factor over location. The Darkness I think have done olympia and then smaller rooms on same tour.
In staying all this, I may be living up that neck of the woods by tour time so should be OK if its only olympia show.
Saw Tommy Emmanuel tonight vicar st , Molly Tuttle was supposed to be there !! Rather pissed off that she wasn’t tbh !! Tommy himself was amazing for the first half the last half hour was utter shite though
Ah, I thought that CA was still circa 300. That’s great, very good chance they’ll do it then, and maybe Dolans (450) but the Róísín (280) is too small for this tour. Id travel for this one anyway. Enjoy it if you go.
I was at the last troublegum anniversary gig. Must have been the 25th. (christ time flies). It was in vicar street and was a sell out. Great gig.