He died earlier from a heart attack, very curious guy whatever you think of him. If he didn’t kill Sophie Toscan du Plantier he certainly didn’t help himself by his attention seeking behaviour.
Even if Bailey said double the nonsense you claim he said, it still wouldn’t have proved he had inside knowledge of the details of the murder that only the killer would know.
O’Reilly on the other hand thought he could deflect from what he did by continually gabbing - while the phone mast was crucial in securing a conviction it was O’Reillys own mouth that got him to be a suspect in the first place
You think not hearing the murder makes Alfie a suspect ?
And in fact, on multiple points Bailey wrote or said things about details of the murder that were in fact false, including in his own personal notes.
He was making deductions etc, trying to string stories as a journalist and got several points wrong.
O'Reilly was automatically connected to the murder by marriage and therefore a person of interest
Bailey wasnt until he made himself so
He turned up at the scene, as a journalist, and apparently a Guard thought he was suspicious because he wasn't wearing wellies... and didn't ask a lot of questions. If you can believe that...
It was the Guards that made him so.
And then destroyed the record in the evidence book detailing how he came to be a suspect.
If you want a flavour of Ian Bailey the compulsive liar who lies and inconsistancies undermined him, his Hunt Hill accounts sum it up perfectly. Worth reading.
https://www.reddit.com/r/MurderAtTheCottage/comments/ryks42/does_the_premonition_on_hunts_hill_prove_ian/
Told a court case it happened, emphatically denied at other times it didn't. Guy couldn't tell the truth to save his life.
I always believed it was him although not certain
2+2 =4 in my book
Only lately have I learned what a nasty horrible human and liar he was
A random Reddit poster quoting Nick Foster?
Most of the journos with an eye for a story believe it's him
Those are among the little clues that add up
Nice try.
All the quotes are directly from Bailey himself.
Swore under oath in 2014 he had a premonition at hunts hill.
Goes on to say on multiple radio shows he had no idea where the account came from.
You couldn' make it up!
Thomas not much better either when it came to multiple versions and accounts.
I find it noteworthy as a point about the case and about Alfie. Something that requires an explanation. The innocent explanation is quite likely the truth e.g. the acoustics meant you wouldn't hear, or they were in a deep sleep after a few drinks etc.
I'd be curious if someone was in the bedroom in Alfie's house, with wind blowing in same direction as the night of the murder, and shouts coming from the murder scene, would they be heard.
Great- so with that thinking, let’s all open a file on Sophie’s husband then …..
Was the car filled that morning? Or the previous evening?
If filled the previous evening, a car filled with garbage obviously on its way to the tip would be the perfect place for a third party to stash/get rid of a weapon. Who’s going to carefully go through rubbish, it’ll just be scooped out and dumped?? Even if it’s found, it’s found on someone else and not linked to you in any way if you were careful.
I think if it was filled the night previous it should have been gone through just for evidential purposes. If nothings found nothings found.
Oh dear- is that seriously being touted as “proof” on this thread? Nick Foster must be laughing his hole off everytime someone quotes him as gospel 😀
I think they found the block
Is there not still some conjecture about the initial item used to strike her, a missing poker, would be handy enough to stash amongst trash that’s being flung out
I don’t know what journalists you read but any respected journalists I’ve quoted over the last week, most now retired, are more than willing to keep an open mind and can’t possibly commit to thinking that Bailey definitely killed her. Any journalist who is saying Bailey is definitely a murderer is a complete and utter idiot and fraud.
No mention of this in Sophie's very detailed diaries.
This was something Guy Girard started mentioning years after the murder - which is a flag when it comes to memories.
There are a cluster of circumstantial issues which, individually and collectively represent a stronger case to suspect Alfie/Shirley than Bailey.
Firstly, There is nothing whatsoever linking Bailey to Sophie. Alfie and Shirley knew her well.
Secondly, There is no evidence linking Bailey to the crime scene. Alfie and Shirley were definitely present at the crime scene.
Thirdly, and linked to the above but meriting a seperate mention, if the attack happened in the morning, as evidenced by a number of factors, then the Guard's "Bailey theory" collapses. Alfie and shirley were both present at the time of the attack, regardless whether it was at night or morning.
Fourthly, Alfie was in dispute with Shirley over a number of "neighbour" type issues. Thus he had plausible motive. Bailey had no motive.
Fifthly ( is there such a word?) The claim that neither Alfie nor Shirley saw or heard anything, despite a lengthy and extremely violent attack happening a matter of yards away from their door, on an otherwise quiet frosy night is difficult to believe.
Furthermore, Alfie's injured hand is at least as questionable as the alledged scratches on Bailey's wrist/arm.
Lastly, the trip to the dump is, again, as open to question as Bailey's bonfire.
So, all the above, in my opinion, demonstrate that if conclusions are to be drawn from circumstantial evidence alone, Alfie/Shirley are worthy of at least the same degree of suspicion as IB.
Or he was using his columns to muddy the water and deflect attention from him which is just as likely, given his issues with the truth.
Definitely is your words not mine I didn't say definitely
Tallant and the other dude that does does the podcast. Neither said they're sure he killed her.
I don't know that bailey killed her but I suspect he "likely" did based on the info out there
There's no proof of anything to date that I'm aware of
Imagine the Guards were told under no circumstances is Joe O'Reilly to be investigated.
There would be only one question to that for a murder they would be under huge pressure to solve?
Where does the closest eccentric English bastard live?
There is nothing strong in any of that and most of it has been discounted, except by armchair detectives like yourself.
He is certainly not on record giving multiple different alibis and accounts of that night, unlike Bailey and Thomas.
9thly. Alfie or Sherly never laid eyes on this mystery bather that frequented Sophie's house.
You're exposing your bias here
Think your 4 th point needs a name edit- but that aside there’s another few people who died shortly after the murder who could be listed similarly too- George Pecout and Karl Heinz Wolney for example
If you asked someone not familiar with this case (is there anyone in the world left who hasn’t heard of it? 😀) , to choose between say 4-5 key names (including Bailey) in terms of who looks most likely base on profiles similar to what you’ve done there , I think many would choose someone other than Bailey
You'd think if they were dumping the poker, they would at least dump the block too!
Or the body
Definitely. No one around, no one heard anything. Very remote area. Clean up the scene, and bring away the body. And tell people she had to leave the area. There would be little to link them to the crime.
But nope instead rang the cops while on the way to dump the evidence.
You honestly couldn't make it up.
OK, but to be clear, I have no real idea who did this. And I'm not accusing Alfie and Shirley.
But I am convinced that Bailey didn't do it. And the purpose of the post was to illustrate how weak the circumstantial evidence against him actually is. Especially when compared to that which could be applied to AL and SF.
If the paltry and, to quote a Garda, "flimsy" evidence against Bailey is enough to make him chief suspect, then that which implicates Alfie and Shirley is even more compelling.